Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28
  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Coast, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    1,104
    Philip,
    You have had me stumped with this one for a while.

    I just checked Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Default Programs\Set Associations to discover that .flac is associated with VLC Media Player.

    What I cannot understand is how MIP can update a mp3 file but not a flac file.

    The links in my earlier posts show how I make MIP run as administrator and then how I set security. MIP then just works. Maybe a picture will help ?
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    A camel is a racehorse designed by a committee.

    Seen sprayed on the outside wall of the local library -
    Three things I hate in life :
    1. Vandalism
    2. Irony
    3. Lists

  2. #12
    Senior Member Philip Meyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,596

    MusicIP Analysis in Windows 7 failing

    >What I cannot understand is how MIP can update a mp3 file but not a flac
    >file.
    >

    I assumed that it was something to do with calling out to a separate DLL to decode the tags or song data. However, studying the OS with Process Monitor didn't show up anything obviously wrong/missing.

    >The links in my earlier posts show how I make MIP run as administrator
    >and then how I set security. MIP then just works. Maybe a picture will
    >help ?

    I have tried running MIP as administrator, without UAC and no active firewall, etc (well, Comodo Defense+ was disabled rather than uninstalled, but again, there's no sign of errors with this).

    I have tried changing security settings for every folder in the path and files to allow full access, but this made no difference.


    I have Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit - do you use the same edition?
    Intel i7-3770K @3.5GHz, 8GB RAM.

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Coast, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    1,104
    Quote Originally Posted by Philip Meyer View Post
    >
    I have Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit - do you use the same edition?
    Intel i7-3770K @3.5GHz, 8GB RAM.
    Yes, Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit, Service Pack 1.
    A camel is a racehorse designed by a committee.

    Seen sprayed on the outside wall of the local library -
    Three things I hate in life :
    1. Vandalism
    2. Irony
    3. Lists

  4. #14
    Senior Member Philip Meyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,596

    MusicIP Analysis in Windows 7 failing

    >Yes, Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit, Service Pack 1.
    >

    Hmmm. So it should work, but doesn't :-(

    The other thing that I was worried about was that I had some virus/malware on this win7 box; some files got quarantined. I've done a full clean-up, and run a system command to check all OS files are valid, but it's still in the back of my mind that this may have caused some damage.

    Can you see if you have the following file:

    C:\Windows\SysWOW64\rpcss.dll.

    I can see that mipcore.exe tries to load this dll but fails.


  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Coast, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    1,104
    Not in WOW64 -
    The AMD reference is odd, this an Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 CPU on a Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3P motherboard.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    A camel is a racehorse designed by a committee.

    Seen sprayed on the outside wall of the local library -
    Three things I hate in life :
    1. Vandalism
    2. Irony
    3. Lists

  6. #16
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vństerňs Sweden
    Posts
    15,995
    My rpcss.dll is in not WOV64 either , I have the same as Wirruna and my MIP GUI is working fine ?

    Windows 7 Home premium 64 bit , I do have an intel i7 CPU
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  7. #17
    Senior Member cparker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Hampshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    583
    Find attached, also Win 7 SP1 - Home Premium - Intel Core i7-3610QM @ 2.30GHz.

    You could try an OS rebuild inside a VM to test, rather than trash your system.

    Name:  Image1.jpg
Views: 252
Size:  87.1 KB
    www.spicefly.com - ** Spicefly SugarCube ** - A hassle free acoustic journey through your music library using MusicIP. Plus the finest MusicIP installation guides, enhanced MIP Interface and SpyGlass MIP the Windows Automated MusicIP Headless Installer.

  8. #18
    Senior Member Philip Meyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,596

    MusicIP Analysis in Windows 7 failing

    >You could try an OS rebuild inside a VM to test, rather than trash your
    >system.
    >

    Home Premium doesn't include XP Mode VM. I guess I can install some other VM software and install XP in it.

    I'm thinking of swapping in a spare HDD and installing Win7 on it, but not sure what happens with licence keys.

    I may try backing up my Comodo Internet Security settings and uninstalling it first, just to confirm that it isn't causing a problem.

  9. #19
    Senior Member Philip Meyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,596

    MusicIP Analysis in Windows 7 failing

    >I may try backing up my Comodo Internet Security settings and uninstalling it first, just to confirm that it isn't causing a problem.
    Tried removing Comodo Internet Security tonight; no difference.

    I tried copying a .flac file to a USB stick - couldn't analyse from that device.

  10. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    158
    Did you ever find a fix to this? Ever since Smartmix has died, I got MusicIP up again but for some reasons I can only create a mix with mp3's. It seems like my flacs were never recognized. I'm using the same setup pretty much. Flacs are on my Synology nas. I have LMS and MusicIP installed on a Windows7 machine... Is it a permissions thing? I don't get it..

    EDIT: I thought I fixed my problem. All my flacs were read-only for some reason. After changing the file permissions I still can't get this going. mp3's scanned and analyzed fine. The flacs are being scanned but analyzing is failing. It's giving me the same error:

    [4] Fingerprinting Z:\Music\30 Seconds to Mars\2002 - 30 Seconds to Mars\04 - Oblivion.flac
    Wed Jun 15 16:29:03 2016

    [0:00] Fingerprint failed (mis-execution): Z:\Music\30 Seconds to Mars\2002 - 30 Seconds to Mars\04 - Oblivion.flac
    [4] Fingerprinting Z:\Music\30 Seconds to Mars\2002 - 30 Seconds to Mars\03 - Fallen.flac
    Wed Jun 15 16:29:04 2016
    Last edited by kllngtme; 2016-06-15 at 13:39. Reason: edit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •