Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3

    Squeezebox 3 Classic Random Reboots

    Hi everyone,

    I own a SlimDevices (yes!) Squeezebox 3 (Classic) which was running fine for the past few years. Since 3 or 4 weeks it randomly reboots. Sometimes every 10 minutes, sometimes every two or three hours. Has anyone got similar problems? Does anyone know how to debug this? Are there any logs to check?

    Thanks for all help!

    Cheers,
    Tobias

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    595

    Squeezebox 3 Classic Random Reboots

    Hi,

    In article <tobru.5cx5in (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>,
    tobru<tobru.5cx5in (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
    > I own a SlimDevices (yes!) Squeezebox 3 (Classic) which was running fine
    > for the past few years. Since 3 or 4 weeks it randomly reboots.
    > Sometimes every 10 minutes, sometimes every two or three hours. Has
    > anyone got similar problems? Does anyone know how to debug this? Are
    > there any logs to check?


    Are you connected wirelessly?

    I had something very similar happen to my SB2 (I believe the internals of
    the two are virtually identical). I changed to a wired connection (via a
    HomePlug style device) and the problem went away.

    Not sure if it necessarily helps you.

    Andy


  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by adhawkins View Post
    Are you connected wirelessly?

    I had something very similar happen to my SB2 (I believe the internals of
    the two are virtually identical). I changed to a wired connection (via a
    HomePlug style device) and the problem went away.
    No it's connected via a wire connection. My model doesn't have the wireless module.

  4. #4
    Senior Member toby10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA (home of the bottomless credit card)
    Posts
    8,411
    Might be the power supply (wall wart). Or it could be simply a loose connection, try *jiggling* the cable end of the power input on the SB3, see if it loses power.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by toby10 View Post
    Might be the power supply (wall wart). Or it could be simply a loose connection, try *jiggling* the cable end of the power input on the SB3, see if it loses power.
    That's a good idea, will try this this evening! Maybe the power supply has reached it's end of life, it's still the original one!

  6. #6
    Senior Member Soulkeeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,220
    It can also be a simple mechanical failure in the plug, so don't toss it if it's that, then it's probably easily fixable with a soldering iron.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •