Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 230 of 230 FirstFirst ... 130180220228229230
Results 2,291 to 2,296 of 2296
  1. #2291

    Kernel #7

    Quote Originally Posted by ralphy View Post
    Unfortunately, no one has been able to provide the missing test kernel bin packages listed above.

    So, here are the steps to extract the current edo test kernel running on your touch.

    Login to the touch as root with ssh from a unix machine or putty on windows.

    You will need to enable ssh in the Settings->Advanced->Remote login->Enable SSH menu, if you have not already enabled it.

    ssh -l root touch.ip.add.ress
    default password is 1234

    Make sure touch is running edo kernel.

    # uname -a
    Linux SqueezeboxTouch 2.6.26.8-rt16-332-g5849bfa #1[usb] PREEMPT RT Sun Apr 1 23:12:00 BST 2012 armv6l GNU/Linux


    Provide the output from uname -a along with the kernel image file.

    # uname -a > /tmp/kernel-usb.uname

    Also, provide the kernel description you installed originally, if you remember, so I can use that for the description in the edo kernel menu.


    Extract the edo kernel from flash. File includes the entire 2MB mtd partition, not just the kernel zImage file.

    # dd if=/dev/mtdblock:kernel > /tmp/kernel-usb.img


    Use scp from the touch or winscp from another computer to copy both files /tmp/kernel-usb.uname and /tmp/kernel-usb.img from the touch.

    # scp -p /tmp/kernel-usb.uname user@hostname:/tmp
    # scp -p /tmp/kernel-usb.img user@hostname:/tmp

    Add both files to a zip and provide a download link to it.

    I should be able to recreate a kernel bin file from the zip and add it to the kernel updater menu. I have successfully recreated the default kernel bin, test #11 and #12 packages. Hopefully it's the same for the missing ones.


    I'll note these are untested until a brave user has tried them and confirms it worked. If it fails, you will likely need to factory reset your touch to recover from the failure.
    Hi Ralphy,
    i am using KERNEL #7.

    Here is the output of your commands:

    Code:
    # uname -a
    Linux SqueezeboxTouch 2.6.26.8-rt16-332-g5849bfa #999[usb] PREEMPT RT Wed May 2 20:14:28 BST 2012 armv6l GNU/Linux
    # uname -a > /tmp/kernel-usb.uname
    # dd if=/dev/mtdblock:kernel > /tmp/kernel-usb.img
    4032+0 records in
    4032+0 records out
    Here the link to download the files:
    https://ufile.io/298ce
    https://uploadfiles.io/e434b

    thanks

  2. #2292
    Senior Member ralphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,648
    Quote Originally Posted by elite1967 View Post
    Hi Ralphy,
    i am using KERNEL #7.

    Here is the output of your commands:

    Code:
    # uname -a
    Linux SqueezeboxTouch 2.6.26.8-rt16-332-g5849bfa #999[usb] PREEMPT RT Wed May 2 20:14:28 BST 2012 armv6l GNU/Linux
    # uname -a > /tmp/kernel-usb.uname
    # dd if=/dev/mtdblock:kernel > /tmp/kernel-usb.img
    4032+0 records in
    4032+0 records out
    Here the link to download the files:
    https://ufile.io/298ce
    https://uploadfiles.io/e434b

    thanks
    Test kernel #7 is now available from the Kernel Updater applet.

    Triode's original fab4-kernels.xml has the md5 checksums for each test kernel zImage file so there should be no need for "brave testers".

    The zImage file I extracted from your mtd image file matched the md5sum of the original.
    Ralphy

    1-Touch, 5-Classics, 3-Booms, 1-UE Radio
    Squeezebox client builds donations always appreciated.

  3. #2293
    Junior Member speedycat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    14

    I2S standard

    Quote Originally Posted by Julf View Post
    To pick some nits, there has been a comprehensive standard for I2S since 1986 (here).

    I guess you are talking about a standard for using I2S as an external interconnect instead of between individual circuits (I2S stands for "Inter-IC Sound" after all).
    You're not picking nits, it's valid information.
    Only you should pay special attention to chapter 5.0 about voltage levels: "Note: At present, TTL is considered a standard for logic levels. As other IC (LSI) technologies become popular, other levels will also be supported." And that's exactly the problem. There's no standard for voltage levels, some brands use 5v while others use 3.3v. Trust me, I've been down that road trying to connect a 3.3v I2S output signal to a 5v device. It didn't work.

  4. #2294
    Senior Member Julf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,263
    Quote Originally Posted by speedycat View Post
    You're not picking nits, it's valid information.
    Only you should pay special attention to chapter 5.0 about voltage levels: "Note: At present, TTL is considered a standard for logic levels. As other IC (LSI) technologies become popular, other levels will also be supported." And that's exactly the problem. There's no standard for voltage levels, some brands use 5v while others use 3.3v. Trust me, I've been down that road trying to connect a 3.3v I2S output signal to a 5v device. It didn't work.
    Yes, the 3.3V vs 5V issue is annoying (and not just related to I2S), but at least that is only two alternatives instead of many more. Remember, "the nice thing about standards is that there are so many of them to choose from".
    "To try to judge the real from the false will always be hard. In this fast-growing art of 'high fidelity' the quackery will bear a solid gilt edge that will fool many people" - Paul W Klipsch, 1953

  5. #2295
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by msommers View Post
    I can confirm that the Hegel H360 works perfectly with the SBT USB-out.

    I tried with the Schiit Gungir Multibit and couldn't get it working with USB, only digital outputs. I have a Regen Amber coming in the mail, which might help.

    The Regen was purchased as the SBT USB-Out was only showing 4.63V and wanted to get that up to 5V which the Regen should do. Being a powered USB hub, it may help the Schiit Gungir work as well.

    I wish there was something I could use to confirm the sample rates coming out of the SBT as none of the DACs I own have indicator lights or read-outs.
    I know this was an old post but I just got my Gumby this weekend and I can confirm it works perfectly with the Touch via USB. Most likely the usb cable is the problem, mine is only 30cm.

  6. #2296
    Junior Member speedycat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    14

    sample rates

    Quote Originally Posted by msommers View Post
    I wish there was something I could use to confirm the sample rates coming out of the SBT as none of the DACs I own have indicator lights or read-outs.
    If you go to Settings/Audio Settings/Digital Output/USB Audio - xxx [Info]/ you will see a Frequency reading.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •