Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    2

    Squeezebox 3 software update

    I have a Squeezebox 3 linked to a QNAPS NAS model TS-109 running Slimserver v6.5.4. I have used QPKG to get the QNAPS firmware version 3.3.1 Build 0823T.

    1. I have lost access to Squeezenetwork on my SB3 - it hangs and goes back to scroll through the set up sequence. For a couple of years I have did have good access to internet radio set up on squeezenetwork. Fortunately my music collection does play well from the NAS through the SB3.
    2. Internet radio is less accessible. Has AlienBBC been replaced ? I am being invited to sign up to iplayer but I don't know how to. Finding BBC radio is more difficult than it should be.
    3. Is is possible to update my software to one of 7.x.x versions or is my equipment to old for this to be possible.
    Hope you can help.

    RBG

  2. #2
    Senior Member toby10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    USA (home of the bottomless credit card)
    Posts
    8,459
    All SB players are compatible with the latest server version. Your several year old server version may not be looking for the correct MySB.com IP/DNS.

    How you update a QNAP I have no experience with.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vństerňs Sweden
    Posts
    13,478

    Question

    yea the squeezebox 3 is no problem however getting the server up to recent version may be another matter I think you should search the forum about that, people have upgraded similar NAS boxes but I'm like Toby not aware of the specifics involved
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (in storage SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    11,816
    Quote Originally Posted by RBG View Post
    2. Internet radio is less accessible. Has AlienBBC been replaced ? I am being invited to sign up to iplayer but I don't know how to. Finding BBC radio is more difficult than it should be.
    Logitech just prpovide basic support for live stream - Under App Gallery you can install the BBC App and then look for the BBC streams under My Apps.

    The better way would be to use Triode's BBCiPlayer plugin which provide access to "Listen Again" but also provide "Live Text" on live streams.

    About 2-3 yrs ago the BBC have changed all their formats and program layout and created iPlayer. So AlienBBC no longer worked and a newplugin BBCiPlayer plugin was written.

    Installing plugins are so much that 6.5.x days - it is just select and click approach. All plugin are managed from the WebUI Settings/Plugins page. On this page under the "Recommended 3rd party plugin" you'll find BBciPlayer - just check the box opposite the plugin and click Apply button (bottom right). LMS will restart and plugin should beinstalled. The BBc iPlayer plugin menu should appear under My App or Internet radio.

    The BBC iPlayer plugin has various settings for preferred formats - generally AAC has better quality but will require transcodingn by the server which can be a load for older NAS - I suggest selecting WMA as this format is played natively by SB3.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Denmark (Struer)
    Posts
    847
    Main: Receiver (Audiocom) -> Beresford Caiman+ (Gatorized) -> Carver A-500x -> B&W 704
    Office: Receiver -> Luxman L-210 -> Stax SR84 Pro
    -> Beresford Bushmaster -> Superlux HD668B
    Server: A8-5500, 4 GB, SSD+ 2*1 TB, Win8 w. SBS 7.9.0 (SQLite w. High Mem)
    Tied together by D-Link DIR-655 + DGS-1008D

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    2

    Problem using putty to uninstall slimserver 6.5.4

    Thanks for the advice page from Ripcaster. I bought my QNAPS and SB3 from them. As a newbie to use of command prompt etc. I am stuck on entering user name and password. I have downloaded Putty.exe and have entered the correct IP address for my QNAPS NAS. THe command prompt allows me to enter 'admin' for the user name but then 'hangs' and will not allow me to enter the password. A warning notice, incomprehensible to me, did flash through.
    1. What is going on ?
    2. Are the port no. ( 22 or 23 ) and the type of connection 'SSH' or 'Telenet' of significance or do I carry on with what appears there ?

    3. If I get past this stage I am ready to enter cd /share/HDA etc. Is that the end of the uninstall ?

    4. I have previously downloaded LMS 7.7.1 onto this PC. How will this new LMS get onto the QNAPS ?

    RBG

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by RBG View Post
    Thanks for the advice page from Ripcaster. I bought my QNAPS and SB3 from them. As a newbie to use of command prompt etc. I am stuck on entering user name and password. I have downloaded Putty.exe and have entered the correct IP address for my QNAPS NAS. THe command prompt allows me to enter 'admin' for the user name but then 'hangs' and will not allow me to enter the password. A warning notice, incomprehensible to me, did flash through.
    1. What is going on ?
    2. Are the port no. ( 22 or 23 ) and the type of connection 'SSH' or 'Telenet' of significance or do I carry on with what appears there ?

    3. If I get past this stage I am ready to enter cd /share/HDA etc. Is that the end of the uninstall ?

    4. I have previously downloaded LMS 7.7.1 onto this PC. How will this new LMS get onto the QNAPS ?

    RBG
    I have a QNAP TS-239, used as a server for my SB3. I recently updated from 7.5.x to 7.7.1.
    I downloaded the appropriate QPKG from the link provided by slate (the instructions there are quite clear). This contains both LMS 7.7.1 and the SSODS app that is required to run LMS. I installed that by logging in to the web interface for the QNAP (you'll need the admin password). I first uninstalled SBS 7.5.x and SSODS, and also updated the firmware.

    Everything went pretty smoothly, though I found the installation interface didn't work with the Chrome browser I favour - the app wouldn't enable. It was fine with Safari.

    I didn't need to use the command-line.

    Robert

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •