Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    29

    is there a way to make plugins auto-reload while developing?

    I'm getting sick of restarting slimserver every time I make a code change, is there a way to make slimserver auto-reload plugins on file changes (like many web development frameworks do win debug/devel mode)?

    thanks,
    --dave

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    8,144

    is there a way to make plugins auto-reloadwhiledeveloping?

    No

    -----Original Message-----
    From: whizziwig
    Sent: Monday, January 02, 2012 3:55 PM
    To: developers (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
    Subject: [Developers] is there a way to make plugins auto-reload
    whiledeveloping?


    I'm getting sick of restarting slimserver every time I make a code
    change, is there a way to make slimserver auto-reload plugins on file
    changes (like many web development frameworks do win debug/devel
    mode)?


  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    11,799
    No, but you can set up a test LMS setup on a proper PC (not as a service) with minimal plugins, no photo or video and as little music as possible so that LMS starts up in seconds.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    29
    thanks. Already have a minimal local LMS and am stopping/starting it from the command line so it's pretty fast

    perl "/Volumes/LogitechMediaServer 7.7.1/Install Files/Squeezebox.prefPane/Contents/server/slimserver.pl"

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    10,944
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    No, but you can set up a test LMS setup on a proper PC (not as a service) with minimal plugins, no photo or video and as little music as possible so that LMS starts up in seconds.
    Minimizing plugins is good, but I've never noticed a difference in startup times with SBS run as a Windows service vs. run as user process. I'm not sure that library size affects startup time very much, since no scan is done when starting (except for TinyLMS on Touch). Using a smaller music library is a good setup, though, if you want to run full scans for testing purposes.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    11,799
    Quote Originally Posted by JJZolx View Post
    I've never noticed a difference in startup times with SBS run as a Windows service vs. run as user process. .
    No but you can get more debug info especially startup stuff or transcoding processes that die or libraries that crash from a command line which will disappear when run as a service.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •