Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Västerås Sweden
    Posts
    13,385

    Plugin update notifaction , but which one ?

    A small feature enhancements , you get notified that a plugin have updated itself and the server wants to restart .

    Can LMS prompt which plugin that is updated , so that you can decide if you want to restart now or just let it wait until next reboot .
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (in storage SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles & London
    Posts
    697
    Just turn off auto-install. You'll still get notifications of new plugins and when you go to the Plugins page you'll see the ones to be updated at the top of the screen. Then just tick, apply and restart when you're ready.

    I can't see the point of automatic installation unless it does the reboot as well, or you're still not up-to-date anyway and have to manually intervene.
    Two track 1's and no track 2 after a scan for new and changed? Please vote for serious scanning bug 17782
    Receiver stuck at blue LED state after reboot? Please vote for bug 17462

  3. #3
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Västerås Sweden
    Posts
    13,385
    I do like the automatic update of plugins .

    You are saying that it don't really work anyway ?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (in storage SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles & London
    Posts
    697
    If it tells you that it's updated something and you need to reboot then that isn't really what I'd call automatic. Automatic to me would be quietly doing it when the server was idle or overnight, for instance.

    If you have it just checking for updates and not applying them then you'll still know that there are plugins to be updated and you simply tick the ones you want to update and then it reboots.

    So it's only a tiny bit more manual than how it works in automatic mode, and gives you the functionality you're looking for, i.e. letting you decide when to reboot based on which plugins need an update.
    Two track 1's and no track 2 after a scan for new and changed? Please vote for serious scanning bug 17782
    Receiver stuck at blue LED state after reboot? Please vote for bug 17462

  5. #5
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Västerås Sweden
    Posts
    13,385
    Quote Originally Posted by paulster View Post
    If it tells you that it's updated something and you need to reboot then that isn't really what I'd call automatic. Automatic to me would be quietly doing it when the server was idle or overnight, for instance.

    If you have it just checking for updates and not applying them then you'll still know that there are plugins to be updated and you simply tick the ones you want to update and then it reboots.

    So it's only a tiny bit more manual than how it works in automatic mode, and gives you the functionality you're looking for, i.e. letting you decide when to reboot based on which plugins need an update.
    it only wants to restart the LMS/SBS application the server itself is still running so it is semi automatic restart of the application is not the same as rebooting the whole server .

    In small steps id did not mention the obvius that some plugin upgrades should be done to a running server without restart. Some plugins are tangled in the dB and scanning and may need a restart to be "realigned" with whatever the server is up to.

    Worst case is that it is drawback of using perl and old versions cant be ofloaded on the fly.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (in storage SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles & London
    Posts
    697
    Sorry, I was using reboot is a general term. I did mean only the SBS/LMS application!
    Two track 1's and no track 2 after a scan for new and changed? Please vote for serious scanning bug 17782
    Receiver stuck at blue LED state after reboot? Please vote for bug 17462

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •