Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

So, what exactly is the future of streaming audio going to be?

Hi All

I ask the question in this post as a slightly philosophical one and I'd really appreciate this forum's thoughts on the matter.

I have been using my Sueezeboxes for a hair under 6 years now and I love them. In addition, there still appear to be only two viable alternatives in this market (Sonos being the other).

I continue to hear about on-line winning this battle and I have dabbled with most of these services (Rhapsody / Pandora / Slacker / Spotify) and while each is interesting none of them solve the following problems:
    - My taste in music. Try to find "Change your mind" by Gary Numan or "Thunderbirds are Go" by MC Parker. (I'm not too sure what this says about me though.) My point is that no online library can be exhaustive.
    - Music quality. I use FLAC and, well, online isn't going to do that.
    - Ease of control. I just love iPeng and I've not seen something similar for on-line only options.
    - Whole home audio. It's so, so cool to add or remove devices at will as needed to distribute music.

So, what are the next pretenders to the throne? What's the hardware? What's the software?

Thanks

PS One thing that does intrigue me is the speed of online services. They're faster at searching and playing music than my home dedicated quad-core system. How the hell does that work?

With the instability of Logitech at the moment and the resulting uncertainty of the Squeezebox future, I've been wondering this myself. Take a look at my equipment list in my sig and you'll see that I've invested quite a bit in squeezeboxes.