Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.

View Poll Results: How do you rate 7.6?

Voters
159. You may not vote on this poll
  • It's great. Smooth install, works well.

51 32.08%
  • It's okay. A few issues but nothing serious.

40 25.16%
  • Not too good. Several problems. It mostly works though.

24 15.09%
  • It's bad. I had to downgrade. Avoid it.

44 27.67%
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

7.6 - A Step too Far?

So 7.6 is finally released and the boards light up..with complaints. After the recent angst resulting from W7.1 and later versions of 7.5 I was hoping 7.6 was a new dawn that would sweep away the foibles of 7.5. So what's the verdict? Based on what I'm seeing here there's no way I'm going to risk an upgrade and that's sad. After all the years I've been using the SB product line I'm now afraid to upgrade.

What's the deal with all the scanning bugs? I write computer software for a living and I've had to write DB population stuff. Just why the <*censored*> is this causing so many problems? It's meat-and-potatoes stuff. An application like SB server and it can't even reliably build a list of music?

Anyway maybe it's just a bad impression that the forum is giving. So I've created a poll. For now I'm holding off upgrading.

I voted for "great".
    Reading from the beta forums I braced for the worse. I did a complete backup of the linux VM that runs the server and jumped from 7.4.2 to 7.6.0.
    Upgrade went perfect (the original install on this machine was SC 7.3.4), and 7.6.0 runs perfectly fine. My DB is all there, and I've been playing/synching 4 units for hours without a glitch. All interfaces (old players, web, iPeng) seem more lively..

I got rid of mysql, I can play .m4a's (no need to convert to Flac anymore it is transcoded to for the "old" clients). And, this seems improbable but I've had someone confirm it, text scrolling on the SB3 looks smoother…