Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    141
    Anyone know what additional rules/programs/ports/etc. are needed if using outbound blocking in the Win 7 firewall?
    I want NBC's Ed on DVD/Blu-ray!

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    10,846
    So, does the Windows installer not create the correct firewall rules on Windows 7? Or was there a recent Windows Update that caused the existing rules to stop working?

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    141
    I don't know, I guess not (not for using outbound blocking anyway). I'm completely new to Win 7 and its firewall, been on XP SP3 w/ Zonealarm 'till recently.

    I think the installer added an inbound rule (I don't remember creating it) allowing squeezesvr.exe on all ports and protocols. With outbound blocking turned off, I think things work OK (only tried connecting).

    With outbound blocking on, my SBT doesn't see the server until I add an outgoing rule for squeezesvr.exe. I also added outgoing rules for squeezeboxcp.exe, scanner.exe, and squeezetray.exe because I think I remember Zonealarm asking about them... I allowed them on all ports and protcols.

    Just wondering if all that's necessary and if I could maybe restrict some of those rules down to certain ports/protocols...
    I want NBC's Ed on DVD/Blu-ray!

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    10,846
    Quote Originally Posted by 808htfan View Post
    I don't know, I guess not (not for using outbound blocking anyway). I'm completely new to Win 7 and its firewall, been on XP SP3 w/ Zonealarm 'till recently.

    I think the installer added an inbound rule (I don't remember creating it) allowing squeezesvr.exe on all ports and protocols. With outbound blocking turned off, I think things work OK (only tried connecting).
    Did it fail immediately upon installing on Windows 7, or did it work for a while and then fail?

    Just wondering if all that's necessary and if I could maybe restrict some of those rules down to certain ports/protocols...
    You could try restricting it to the known ports that SBS uses and then see what still works and what doesn't.

    Squeezebox Server Discovery 3483 UDP
    Squeezebox Server Control 3483 TCP
    Squeezebox Server Web 9000 TCP
    Squeezebox Server CLI 9090 TCP

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    812
    For me I think it's a combination of things, but I think Win7 SP1 is the real culprit. It actually quit working not directly following a product upgrade, but it happened like out of the blue a week or so after Win7 SP1 which went pretty much the same time as Avast 6.0 and I think Squeezebox went 7.5.3 maybe a couple of weeks before these so there was a update frenzy going on. Some folks on this board said they took Avast off and it fixed the problem, others said they backed off Win7 SP1 and it fixed the problem and still others said they went back to Squeezebox 7.5.2 and it fixed the problem.

    When my Duet quit it was on the 7.5.3 server and firmware and I couldn't even get it back to getting a IP from DHCP from the router (blue light on SBR). Ended up having to go ethernet cable just to get the SBR to connect to my network. Then I fell back to 7.5.2 on the server and was able to get the Duet to go back to 7.5.2 firmware (I think the 7.5.2 firmware was actually 7.5.1) over ethernet connection and also connect to my Squeezebox server. Then I tried going back to wireless and I could get a IP from the router (blue light on SBR), but couldn't get it to connect to my Squeezebox server.

    That's when I started messing with the inbound firewall rules and found that for whatever reason if the TCP rule was restricted to squeezesvr.exe it wouldn't connect to my Duet. I changed the TCP rule to allow "All programs" and my Duet immediately connected, I didn't even have to restart Squeezebox server on the PC.

    Since I'd spent the better part of a week messing with my system to get my music playing again I just stayed at 7.5.2, but as soon as 7.5.4 went RTM I upgraded and all still works. From the noise on the boards around all this my best guess is there's some small change in the Win7 firewall that went in with Win7 SP1 that's the root cause of this grief. I'm just glad I was able to get my system back working and from other folks that have had this happen seemingly from out of they blue, I've shared what I did and it seems to have fixed the problem for all of them too.

    And I have no clue on the question about Outbound rules since I haven't needed them.
    2 Duets - 1 for upstairs and 1 for downstairs
    Rock Solid with LMS 7.8.0 and WHS 2011

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by JJZolx View Post
    Did it fail immediately upon installing on Windows 7, or did it work for a while and then fail?
    Haven't had the new system long at all, but it has behaved as described above since install time. Outbound blocking on = no workie, outbound blocking off = workie. That's without those additional outbound rules I mentioned. With them = workie.

    You could try restricting it to the known ports that SBS uses and then see what still works and what doesn't.

    Squeezebox Server Discovery 3483 UDP
    Squeezebox Server Control 3483 TCP
    Squeezebox Server Web 9000 TCP
    Squeezebox Server CLI 9090 TCP
    Thanks, I'll give those a shot.
    I want NBC's Ed on DVD/Blu-ray!

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    123
    I added the Squeezebox Control Panel and Scanner entries manually after reading the response from a Logitech support specialist on the following thread :

    http://forums.logitech.com/t5/MySque...ror/m-p/525123

    I have now deleted both the control panel and scanner entries plus the ones that are disabled and everything still works perfectly.
    Last edited by technojunkie; 2011-05-15 at 02:00.

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    10,846
    Quote Originally Posted by technojunkie View Post
    I added the Squeezebox Control Panel and Scanner entrie manually after reading the response from a Logitech support specialist on the following thread :

    http://forums.logitech.com/t5/MySque...ror/m-p/525123

    I now deleted both entires (including the ones that are disabled) and everything still works perfectly.
    You added them to the firewall rules? They may need anti-virus exceptions, but neither requires any kind of network access, so no need for firewall rules.

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    123
    Quote Originally Posted by JJZolx View Post
    You added them to the firewall rules? They may need anti-virus exceptions, but neither requires any kind of network access, so no need for firewall rules.
    I know you're right but I was just following the advice given by the Logitech support specialist.

  10. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    206
    I had SP1 installed weeks before the problem occurred. Blocking started just after avast upgrade. Disabling avast did NOT help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •