Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.

SqueezeSlave: External USB audio interface (Mac OS X)

Hi,

first of all a praise for ralphy: SqueezeSlave is great work! I'm new to the Squeezebox system, own a Mac mini and a Cambridge Audio DAC connected via USB. The latter fact made me look beyond SqueezePlay as a client for the mini in the first place (SqueezePlay does only support standard audio).

Everything's perfect until the external USB audio is being switched off (I do not leave it on all the time). Then, squeezeslave falls back to standard audio and won't come back to USB audio unless I restart the squeezeslave process, which makes it impossible to use for the Mrs.

Investing a few hours, I fudged together a workaround which consists of

1. a small service (based on the USBPrivateDataSample on the Apple developers site; sorry, I'm not yet allowed to post links) listening to USB (dis)connects and spawning actions for connect and disconnect
    2. connect and disconnect actions which relaunch the squeezeslave service and bring USB audio back to life

I'm happy with the result (so is the Mrs), so I'd like to share the results and leave them to the community or the SqueezeSlave developer (ralphy) for further improvements.

But it's not packaged or anything, I don't have much time, and I'm a total noob when it comes to programming in C or Apple Core Foundation (although quite proficient in Python and Java), so I'd prefer to leave the code on a bilateral basis, to begin with. In particular, because I'm moving in the small niche "mac+usb dac". Anyone interested?

Jan

Yes, I'm interested.

If you're willing to share the code I'll add it to the squeezeslave source repository and include a compiled version in the mac release package.

We can also update the wiki with setup instructions.

Thanks for sharing your findings.
    Ralphy

1-Touch, 5-Classics, 3-Booms, 1-UE Radio
    Squeezebox client builds donations always appreciated.

Code