Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    283

    NFS mounts possible from SqueezeOS (Touch)

    Is it possible to mount an NFS share on the network from SqueezeOS?

    I tried for an hour and failed on the Touch. Wondering if it's possible before making any more effort.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    348
    no. (at least not officially)
    sent from a computer using a keyboard

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    283
    Quote Originally Posted by fragfutter View Post
    no. (at least not officially)
    Do you happen to know what it would take to unofficially enable NFS mounts from SqueezeOS?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    348
    Enable SSH, login and try to not blow it up

    i don't have a SB Touch, so i won't do anything there.
    sent from a computer using a keyboard

  5. #5
    Senior Member snarlydwarf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    3,674
    Quote Originally Posted by pounce View Post
    Is it possible to mount an NFS share on the network from SqueezeOS?

    I tried for an hour and failed on the Touch. Wondering if it's possible before making any more effort.
    Try adding '-o nolock,udp' to your mount command.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    283
    Quote Originally Posted by snarlydwarf View Post
    Try adding '-o nolock,udp' to your mount command.
    Thanks. I'll give it a try tonight. Can I assume you have done this and it worked or is this a guess?

    I tried the nolock and it didn't work. I'm pretty sure udp is the default, but I didn't try forcing tcp so I'll give that a go as well.

    I was getting an "Input/Output error" after a long delay after the mount statement.

  7. #7
    Senior Member snarlydwarf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    3,674
    Quote Originally Posted by pounce View Post
    Thanks. I'll give it a try tonight. Can I assume you have done this and it worked or is this a guess?
    It worked fine.

    Code:
    # mount gimli:/home/mserv /test -o nolock,udp
    # ls /test
    browsetemplates   cb-templates      contexttemplates  lost+found        mp3               playlists         sqltemplates
    I tried the nolock and it didn't work. I'm pretty sure udp is the default, but I didn't try forcing tcp so I'll give that a go as well.
    TCP is the default these days.

    I was getting an "Input/Output error" after a long delay after the mount statement.
    Yes, and the above works.

    Haven't tried doing anything like a scan over NFS, but, it lets me look at things anyway.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    283
    Thanks.

    For whatever reason I had to use - o tcp on the Touch. UDP didn't work for me.

    I'm going to try using nsf instead of attached storage and see how it works.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    283
    While I could get NFS mounts working on the Touch I was unable to figure out how to trick it into using the mount instead of the usb or sd card. It balked at the format.

  10. #10
    Senior Member snarlydwarf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    3,674
    Quote Originally Posted by pounce View Post
    While I could get NFS mounts working on the Touch I was unable to figure out how to trick it into using the mount instead of the usb or sd card. It balked at the format.
    Hrrm, wonder if tinysc runs as root.

    (At work at the moment, so can't check.)

    Maybe you need to make sure that 'squash root' doesn't mess with your permissions or export it with no squashing?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •