Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.

Internet Music Library Viewer

I was wondering if anyone knows of a way to be able to allow others to browse your music library from an internet browser (on port 80 for example) without the same control as a local user connecting to localhost:9000.

Obviously I could open up port 9000 and allow users to connect via myserver.org:9000 but then a malicious user could gain control of the player, player settings, server settings, ect. when all I really want to expose is the left hand frame and allow them to search and view artists/albums.

I thought it would be easy enough to just find and copy the relevant HTML/JS and such to another location, hack on it (removing the ability to play tracks and create playlists) and enable that location in my apache conf. Once I got under the hood I realized that wasn't the case. I'm new to template-toolkit but not perl/mysql so I can see the basics of what is going on I just don't understand the voodoo that makes it work yet. Somehow the built in HTTP server is processing the templates on the fly with Template::Toolkit for example...or at least that's my guess. I think this could be possible using apache and a mod_perl handler where the slim server seems to be all in perl (probably making the developer's life much easier).

I really like the look and feel of the Default skin and I really do not like reinventing wheels. My second thought was to just try and use 'View Source' from the browser on home.html and steal the formatting since that's really what I'm after and then add in a cgi call to a perl script I'd create to send SELECT queries to the mysql socket via DBI to retrieve the info.