Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 81
  1. #1

    Disable WLAN on Squeezebox Touch

    I want to use the Squeezebox with a CAT/RJ45 Ethernet cable and would like to completely switch off the WLAN radio of the Squeezebox Touch.

    Can anyone tell me if this is an option? If not, how could I best turn WLAN off, I wont use WLAN in the future, so it could be a one-time off and forever

    Thanks for your help.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    245
    Quote Originally Posted by mozart_puccini View Post
    I want to use the Squeezebox with a CAT/RJ45 Ethernet cable and would like to completely switch off the WLAN radio of the Squeezebox Touch.

    Can anyone tell me if this is an option? If not, how could I best turn WLAN off, I wont use WLAN in the future, so it could be a one-time off and forever

    Thanks for your help.
    I'm not challenging your desire...but I am curious about what motivates it. What's the benefit from having Wifi actually shut off on the unit?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,685
    There is nothing in the touch menus that will do that, but there is a way to do it. You ssh into the touch and type the command:

    iwconfig wlan0 txpower off

    This shuts the radio off completely. Unfortunately it goes away when you unplug the touch. To always have it turned off you need to edit one of the config files so the command gets run at every boot.

    To do this, ssh into the touch then do:

    cd /etc/init.d
    vi rc5.local
    (press the 'i' key and then type
    iwconfig wlan0 txpower off
    (press the escape key, type
    :wq (thats colon key, w key, q key)

    This creates the rc5.local file which will be run every time the touch boots, the iwconfig line turns off the transmitter.

    This will stay in place until you load new firmware.

    That should do it.

    John S.

  4. #4

    Thanks John

    Helo, John
    thanks for the valuable information and the solution to my idea. I will try this and I hope I succeed.

    Mozart_Puccini

  5. #5
    I know that many of you may ask why I would have the desire to switch off WLAN, what a st... request. Well it may be a unusual idea but it has some reason: my 5 year old wants to play the Sbax touch in her room and I (as a physisist) have seen studies on WLAN/GPRS/UMTS and I just feel that I DONT WANT to expose a child to unnecessary digial waves as long as a CAT5/6 is just in the room. Why poise the air if a cable can eliminate all the pulute.

    Yes, you may disagree with what I think, but thats ok and we should all use WLAN/UMTS in a way we want it. I use it, but only where I need it!!
    Thanks

  6. #6
    Senior Member NewBuyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    436
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnSwenson View Post
    There is nothing in the touch menus that will do that..
    So the Touch doesn't automatically disable the wifi when an ethernet cable is plugged into it, like the SB/Transporter units do? If so, that's disappointing...

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    10,944
    Quote Originally Posted by NewBuyer View Post
    So the Touch doesn't automatically disable the wifi when an ethernet cable is plugged into it, like the SB/Transporter units do? If so, that's disappointing...
    I would think that it does, just like all other Squeezeboxes have.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vństerňs Sweden
    Posts
    13,356
    Quote Originally Posted by JJZolx View Post
    I would think that it does, just like all other Squeezeboxes have.
    That would make sense small cpu why load drivers that are not needed.

    As linux noobish here is is easy to check if the wifi is running ?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (in storage SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  9. #9
    Senior Member usch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    786
    Quote Originally Posted by JJZolx View Post
    I would think that it does, just like all other Squeezeboxes have.
    Not all of them, the SB1 definitely doesn't. I had to remove the WiFi modules to shut them off. But yes, I would indeed expect that all newer SBs do that.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mnyb View Post
    As linux noobish here is is easy to check if the wifi is running ?
    Your router or access point should be able to tell you. That's how I found out that my SB1s were still trying to connect via WiFi even though they were already wired.

  10. #10
    Senior Member flattermann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Dortmund, Germany
    Posts
    774
    Quote Originally Posted by Mnyb View Post
    That would make sense small cpu why load drivers that are not needed.

    As linux noobish here is is easy to check if the wifi is running ?
    I've just checked it on the Radio:

    # ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:04:20:XX:XX:XX
    inet addr:192.168.178.50 Bcast:192.168.178.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:3809 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2764 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:412734 (403.0 KiB) TX bytes:393217 (384.0 KiB)
    Base address:0x8000

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:04:20:XX:XX:XX
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:27 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:12832 (12.5 KiB) TX bytes:93 (93.0 B)

    So the WLAN is really still activated.

    If you really want to deactivate WLAN, it's maybe the best to remove the kernel module.

    To remove the WLAN kernel module (Atheros) for the Radio:

    # rmmod ar6000

    (See "lsmod" for a list of loaded modules)
    Christian

    Home of SqueezeCommander - The SqueezeBox Remote Control App for Android

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •