Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 17 of 50 FirstFirst ... 7151617181927 ... LastLast
Results 161 to 170 of 493
  1. #161
    Senior Member Labarum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Southampton, UK & Nicosia, Cyprus
    Posts
    652
    Some help please.

    I have copied dsbridge and lame to the Spotify folder.

    When I run Spotfy I get the blue spot in the tray and it says localhost:8124

    Nothing from the SB

    I tried editing the ini file so its says http://ip.add.re.ss:8124/ (with my numbers of course).

    I cannot save the ini file where it is and I have admin rights. I have to make take a second copy from downloads and copy that into the Spotify folder.

    Even when I do that spotify will not read the ini file (I think) - it report localhost 0)

    What am I doing wrong?

    Do I need to take any action in SC, or will Spotify just take over the SB when I run it.

    A rather longer and more detailed readme would be a big help for dumbos like me.

    An example of exactly how the inifile should look would also be a help

    HTTPPort=8124

    HTTPPort=http://192.168.1.103:8124/

    HTTPPort=192.168.1.103:8124/

    HTTPPort=192.168.1.103:8124

    Which? Or doesn't it matter?
    Brian

    In Southampton: Quad 77 Integrated Amp - AVI Neutron 4
    In Nicosia: Quad 520f refreshed by Dada - Quart 980s German Tower Loudspeakers. Boom in conservatory.
    In both: Squeezebox Classic, Beresford Caiman DAC, Sony MDR-F1 Headphones

  2. #162
    Senior Member DrNic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Leaden Roding, UK
    Posts
    330
    Labarum,
    You really shouldn't need to edit the ini file. When you play something on Potify and the blue spot appears in the tray then you have to go to Squeezecenter and use "Tune in URL". Enter here the address of spotify machine: ie if spotify is running on 192.168.1.60:8124 enter "http://192.168.1.60:8124" in the URL and tune in to it.
    You should now be getting the music that you started playing on spotify.
    This works for me even bearing in mind that my spotify is running on a seperate XP box from the SC running on a Linux server.
    Nic



    Quote Originally Posted by Labarum View Post
    Some help please.

    I have copied dsbridge and lame to the Spotify folder.

    When I run Spotfy I get the blue spot in the tray and it says localhost:8124

    Nothing from the SB

    I tried editing the ini file so its says http://ip.add.re.ss:8124/ (with my numbers of course).

    I cannot save the ini file where it is and I have admin rights. I have to make take a second copy from downloads and copy that into the Spotify folder.

    Even when I do that spotify will not read the ini file (I think) - it report localhost 0)

    What am I doing wrong?

    Do I need to take any action in SC, or will Spotify just take over the SB when I run it.

    A rather longer and more detailed readme would be a big help for dumbos like me.

    An example of exactly how the inifile should look would also be a help

    HTTPPort=8124

    HTTPPort=http://192.168.1.103:8124/

    HTTPPort=192.168.1.103:8124/

    HTTPPort=192.168.1.103:8124

    Which? Or doesn't it matter?
    Logitech Media Server Version: 7.7.2 - r33908 - Red Hat - EN - utf8
    Platform Architecture: i686-linux
    Perl Version: 5.14.2 - i386-linux-thread-multi
    Database Version: DBD::SQLite 1.34_01 (sqlite 3.7.7.1)
    System: T2-WHS A3i (Intel Atom) Headless all wired Gigabit LAN, 3x SB Classic, 2x SB Touch

  3. #163
    Senior Member Labarum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Southampton, UK & Nicosia, Cyprus
    Posts
    652
    Quote Originally Posted by DrNic View Post
    Labarum,
    You really shouldn't need to edit the ini file. When you play something on Potify and the blue spot appears in the tray then you have to go to Squeezecenter and use "Tune in URL". Enter here the address of spotify machine: ie if spotify is running on 192.168.1.60:8124 enter "http://192.168.1.60:8124" in the URL and tune in to it.
    You should now be getting the music that you started playing on spotify.
    This works for me even bearing in mind that my spotify is running on a seperate XP box from the SC running on a Linux server.
    Nic

    Thanks. Got that working straight away.

    I am sure the instructions must be there somewhere, but the thread is now so long . . .

    As I said, some more explicit instructions in the Readme, or somewhere would be really useful for dumbos.

    If I pay Spotify 99p for a day subscription do I get to try out the 320Kb/s streams?
    Brian

    In Southampton: Quad 77 Integrated Amp - AVI Neutron 4
    In Nicosia: Quad 520f refreshed by Dada - Quart 980s German Tower Loudspeakers. Boom in conservatory.
    In both: Squeezebox Classic, Beresford Caiman DAC, Sony MDR-F1 Headphones

  4. #164
    Senior Member Labarum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Southampton, UK & Nicosia, Cyprus
    Posts
    652
    I have been dipping in to Spotify for a couple of days now.

    I do not think the Classical recordings I have listened to at 160 are as good as the best Classical Internet Radio Stations I listen to.

    I presently listening to

    Title: Venice Classic MP3 128
    URL: http://www.shoutcast.com/sbin/tunein...ename=playlist.

    which I believe to better Spotify via DSbridge, and I rate

    Title: Radio Swiss Classic MP3 128
    URL: http://opml.radiotime.com/Tune.ashx?...e&PartnerId=16

    Both of these are MP3 streams at 128. I listen to even better streams.

    I am guessing the transcoding is exacting a price, and with an official solution to Spotify on Squeezebox we may see an improvement at 160.

    I have not been able to assess quality at 320.

    Do folk agree with me that much as it is a valuable advance, Spotify via DSbridge at 160 lags behind the best internet radio?
    Brian

    In Southampton: Quad 77 Integrated Amp - AVI Neutron 4
    In Nicosia: Quad 520f refreshed by Dada - Quart 980s German Tower Loudspeakers. Boom in conservatory.
    In both: Squeezebox Classic, Beresford Caiman DAC, Sony MDR-F1 Headphones

  5. #165
    Senior Member Ryssen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    172
    Why not use Wav as output format?
    QNAP TS-219P+,Firmware v4.0.2(020130726),WD2002 X 2
    SqueezeBox Duett
    CS4398-->Lundahl DAC

  6. #166
    Senior Member Labarum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Southampton, UK & Nicosia, Cyprus
    Posts
    652
    Quote Originally Posted by Ryssen View Post
    Why not use Wav as output format?
    And how would I do that?
    Brian

    In Southampton: Quad 77 Integrated Amp - AVI Neutron 4
    In Nicosia: Quad 520f refreshed by Dada - Quart 980s German Tower Loudspeakers. Boom in conservatory.
    In both: Squeezebox Classic, Beresford Caiman DAC, Sony MDR-F1 Headphones

  7. #167
    Senior Member Ryssen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    172
    Well,I don┤t know..I thought you knew..
    So you need an encoder to make it work?
    Would Flac work?

    Edit:The "wavinput" pluggin,how does it work?It uses wav.
    Last edited by Ryssen; 2009-08-18 at 12:45.
    QNAP TS-219P+,Firmware v4.0.2(020130726),WD2002 X 2
    SqueezeBox Duett
    CS4398-->Lundahl DAC

  8. #168
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    7

    A Full Spotify Plugin

    Hi all - streaming spotify is great and all but I am looking into how we might have a full plugin with all the lists and controls etc. On linux I can run spotify under wine under xvfb and trace text output to scrape track names etc and inject x11 events to control it, eg:

    Code:
    $ WINEDEBUG=+text wine spotify.exe
    trace:text:DrawTextExW L"Home", 4, [(28,61)-(229,79)] 00008824
    trace:text:DrawTextExW Params: iTabLength=0, iLeftMargin=0, iRightMargin=0
    trace:text:DrawTextExW L"Radio", 5, [(28,80)-(229,98)] 00008824
    trace:text:DrawTextExW Params: iTabLength=0, iLeftMargin=0, iRightMargin=0
    trace:text:DrawTextExW L"Play queue", 10, [(28,99)-(229,117)] 00008824
    trace:text:DrawTextExW Params: iTabLength=0, iLeftMargin=0, iRightMargin=0
    trace:text:DrawTextExW L"Amy Macdonald", 13, [(28,128)-(229,146)] 00008824
    trace:text:DrawTextExW Params: iTabLength=0, iLeftMargin=0, iRightMargin=0
    trace:text:DrawTextExW L"amy mcdonald", 12, [(28,147)-(229,165)] 00008824
    trace:text:DrawTextExW Params: iTabLength=0, iLeftMargin=0, iRightMargin=0
    trace:text:DrawTextExW L"anis", 4, [(28,166)-(229,184)] 00008824
    trace:text:DrawTextExW Params: iTabLength=0, iLeftMargin=0, iRightMargin=0
    trace:text:DrawTextExW L"john mayer", 10, [(28,185)-(229,203)] 00008824
    ...etc...
    then with some perl filtering on magic numbers can give appropriate data:

    Code:
    LIST: [1] Amy Macdonald
    LIST: [2] amy mcdonald
    LIST: [3] anis
    LIST: [4] john mayer
    LIST: [5] amelie
    ITEM: [0] Who Did You Think I Was - Live at the Nokia Theatre / John Mayer / 4:23 / Where The Light Is: John Mayer Live In Los Angeles
    ITEM: [1] Bold As Love - Live at the Nokia Theatre / John Mayer / 8:38 / Where The Light Is: John Mayer Live In Los Angeles
    ITEM: [2] Good Love Is On The Way - Live at the Nokia Theatre / John Mayer / 4:19 / Where The Light Is: John Mayer Live In Los Angeles
    ITEM: [3] Vultures - Live at the Nokia Theatre / John Mayer / 5:20 / Where The Light Is: John Mayer Live In Los Angeles
    ITEM: [4] Belief - Live at the Nokia Theatre / John Mayer / 6:03 / Where The Light Is: John Mayer Live In Los Angeles
    ITEM: [5] Come When I Call - Live at the Nokia Theatre / John Mayer / 3:23 / Where The Light Is: John Mayer Live In Los Angeles
    ITEM: [6] Out Of My Mind - Live at the Nokia Theatre / John Mayer / 10:11 / Where The Light Is: John Mayer Live In Los Angeles
    ...etc...
    then injecting clicks and pops to select tracks and do searches etc is straightforward using xdotool, eg list select:

    Code:
    $ xdotool mousemove 64 190
    $ xdotool click 1
    so all that remains is to scoop up all this metadata and build it into some sort of SC plugin. Any helpers? this could also work on windows using one or more gdi hooks - using the same plugin for both would be great.

  9. #169
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    15,147

    Edit:The "wavinput" pluggin,how does it work?It uses wav.
    The wavinput plugin will work with Spotify although as SPotify meses with audio, I believe it is a bit picky about how you start WavINput and Spotify.

    WaveInput makes a copy of the PCM output from Windows audio subsystem using ther "What U hear" or similar feature of audio driver which means if the Windows mangles/enhances/upsamples the audio - you get a copy of the mangled/ehancmed/upsampled audio.

    DeSpotify should be able to deliver a PCM which could be handled by the wavin2cmd.exe app and so feed the PCM directly into SC without any encoding - the only drawback is Spotify will have to play on same PC as SC.

  10. #170
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    118
    I have a question, it's a little off topic. Does anyone know if the upcoming official Spotify plugin for SC wil be able to run on qnap?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •