Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

.m4a files not supported? QNAP and Duet

Thanks to the help of people on these forums (BoB in particular) I'm not delighted to be up and running with my new QNAP 109 II and Duet. However one rather strange thing has happened. I notice that I can no longer play .m4a files when streaming from the QNAP to my Duet. I'm not 100% sure if this has always been the case or if it only happened when I moved to the QNAP. I notice that the Duet page on the official site doesn't explicitly mention support for MPEG4, but I did a search on these forums and saw numerous threads that suggested others were playing those file types with no problems. Am I being daft here? Sorry - I'm really a novice about audio file types etc.

If there is a problem, I'm assuming I'll beed to re-encode all of these files as, say, mp3s? Any advice hugely appreciated.

Cripes, I just discovered the Ripping and Encoding section of these forums and found out that m4a isn't supported. Looks a bit over my head to get it sorted too. Think I'll just re-encode.
    Last edited by roaringlamb; 2008-11-15 at 02:16.

I had a few M4A (Apple lossless) files. I used an application called 'Easy CD-DA Extractor' to convert them to FLAC, all without problem. Should be no problem to convert to MP3 if that's what you want.

Despite its name, the app does a lot more than just ripping files and has a fairly comprehensive audio format converter. It comes with a free 30 day trial period, so you could use it to convert your files as necessary...

Here's a link: http://www.poikosoft.com/

Hope this helps
    Last edited by rperkin; 2008-11-15 at 21:10. Reason: Add link

Quote Originally Posted by roaringlamb View Post
    Cripes, I just discovered the Ripping and Encoding section of these forums and found out that m4a isn't supported. Looks a bit over my head to get it sorted too. Think I'll just re-encode.