Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    20

    Duet controller - no random mix option under 'Music Library'

    Hi, I'm hoping someone can tell me what I'm doing wrong or whether there's a problem with my Duet Controller. Basically, I got it yesterday and set it up. I didn't have a great deal of time to play with it, but made sure that it was working - able to play and it showed 'now playing' info, etc. This morning, I tried to use it start a Random mix on the receiver which I had just set up (I have a couple of other Squeezeboxen that I was using yesterday). Anyway, I was unable to do this as the 'Random Mix' option simply isn't there under "Music Library". It also mising for the other 3 players that I have. Is there something I need to set to get this to work? I've looked at the Duet user guide and from what it indicates it seems to me that it should just be there with no user intervention required.
    I've tried searching the forum, but it would seem that isn't a problem people are having regularly (or the search terms I was using were no good). I couldn't find any bugs listed that related to this.
    I'm running Squeezecenter 7.2 and the Duet says that its software is up-to-date (ver 7.2 r2873).
    If any one has any suggestions as to how I might find the Random Mix setting I'd be most appreciative as it's the way that I most often listen to music, and without it there's no easy way to just start playing random tracks. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,283

    Duet controller - no random mix option under 'MusicLibrary'

    jakes wrote:
    > Hi, I'm hoping someone can tell me what I'm doing wrong or whether
    > there's a problem with my Duet Controller. Basically, I got it
    > yesterday and set it up. I didn't have a great deal of time to play
    > with it, but made sure that it was working - able to play and it showed
    > 'now playing' info, etc. This morning, I tried to use it start a Random
    > mix on the receiver which I had just set up (I have a couple of other
    > Squeezeboxen that I was using yesterday). Anyway, I was unable to do
    > this as the 'Random Mix' option simply isn't there under "Music
    > Library". It also mising for the other 3 players that I have. Is there
    > something I need to set to get this to work? I've looked at the Duet
    > user guide and from what it indicates it seems to me that it should
    > just be there with no user intervention required.
    > I've tried searching the forum, but it would seem that isn't a problem
    > people are having regularly (or the search terms I was using were no
    > good). I couldn't find any bugs listed that related to this.
    > I'm running Squeezecenter 7.2 and the Duet says that its software is
    > up-to-date (ver 7.2 r2873).
    > If any one has any suggestions as to how I might find the Random Mix
    > setting I'd be most appreciative as it's the way that I most often
    > listen to music, and without it there's no easy way to just start
    > playing random tracks. Thanks.
    >

    I miss it too.

    Regards,
    Peter


  3. #3
    Senior Member MeSue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    3,068
    Is Random Mix enabled under Settings > Plugins tab?

    I have Random Mix on my Controller, but I am running 7.2.1.
    Sue
    "If you're happy and you know it turn the volume up and blow it out."

    1 Touch | 2 Booms | 2 Radios | 1 Duet | 1 SB2
    HP Proliant N54G | Logitech Media Server 7.8 | iPhone & iPad w/ iPeng
    Find me on Last.FM | Twitter | Rhapsody
    My Journey to Musical Bliss | Squeezebox is Dead. Long Live Squeezebox.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,283

    Duet controller - no random mix option under'Music Library'

    MeSue wrote:
    > Is Random Mix enabled under Settings > Plugins tab?
    >


    In teh SC web interface you mean? Yes.
    > I have Random Mix on my Controller, but I am running 7.2.1.
    >


    Weird. I'm running 7.2.1 as well, where is it supposed to be? Under
    Music Library?

    Regards,
    Peter

    SqueezeCenter Version: 7.2.1 - 23518 @ Mon Oct 13 02:00:11 PDT 2008 -
    Red Hat - EN - utf8
    Server IP address: 172.22.22.100
    Perl Version: 5.8.6 i386-linux-thread-multi
    MySQL Version: 4.1.14

    Platform Architecture: i686-linux



  5. #5
    Senior Member MeSue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    3,068
    Yes, it's under Music Library. I never use it, but there it is.
    Sue
    "If you're happy and you know it turn the volume up and blow it out."

    1 Touch | 2 Booms | 2 Radios | 1 Duet | 1 SB2
    HP Proliant N54G | Logitech Media Server 7.8 | iPhone & iPad w/ iPeng
    Find me on Last.FM | Twitter | Rhapsody
    My Journey to Musical Bliss | Squeezebox is Dead. Long Live Squeezebox.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    20
    Thanks for your replies MeSue and peter. peter, it's good to know that I'm not the only one experiencing this.

    I've just confirmed that it is just 7.2, not 7.2.1, that I'm running.

    The Random Mix plugin is enabled in Squeezecenter settings and Random mix shows up if you use the web interface to control the player. But it's still missing from the Music Library entry on the Duet Controller.

    Perhaps I'll wait for the official release of 7.2.1 and see if that fixes the problem (although there's no reference to fixing any random mix problems in the 7.2.1 release notes).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •