Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    747

    Boom does not wakeup server via WOL

    My boom does not wakeup the server, the wakingup message appears on the screen when selecting connect to Squeezenetwork, but nothing happens with the server.
    My SB3, which is on the same (wireless) network, has no problems with waking up the server.


    edit: I made a mistake here, it says squeezenetwork, but i meant squeezecenter
    Last edited by raven22; 2008-10-04 at 09:09.

  2. #2
    Member powaq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    50

    WOL with wireless network ?

    I always thought that the waking-up feature was not possible with a wireless networks because magic packets were filtered by the wireless router...
    Am I wrong ?
    Yamaha RXV4600-SB3 digital out-Focal JMLab Chorus 826V-SB boom in the bedroom

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    747
    I guess you are because in my setup it works, well with the SB3 it does. Not with the Boom.

  4. #4
    Member powaq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    50
    Then I'll do some tests with the SB3... and the boom !
    Yamaha RXV4600-SB3 digital out-Focal JMLab Chorus 826V-SB boom in the bedroom

  5. #5
    Slim Devices Developer fcm4711's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    872
    Hi there

    raven22: Only if a player tries to connect to SC a WOL packet is sent, but not if it tries to connect to SN. Also you need to connect once to SC successfully (so the player can learn the PC's MAC address running SC) before it works.

    powaq: Only the PC running SC needs to be wired, the device sending the WOL packet can be wired or wireless.

    Felix
    Programming is the art of cleverly arranging bits and bytes. - (c) Felix Mueller

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    747
    You're right, but i put it wrong in the first post. I has to be Squeezecenter.
    Boom will not wakeup the squeezecenter-server, while my SB3 does.

  7. #7
    Slim Devices Developer fcm4711's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    872
    Hi there

    SB3 and Boom use the same code in firmware to issue a WOL packet so I assume it must have something to do with how your Boom is connected to your network.

    You could also try to factory reset your Boom, maybe something got confused. This should actually not be necessary as a player learns the MAC address of the PC running SC automatically when it connects to SC, but it might be worth trying.

    Felix
    Programming is the art of cleverly arranging bits and bytes. - (c) Felix Mueller

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    747
    resetting did the trick, thanks

  9. #9
    Senior Member Paul_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    345
    I remember seeing a bug somewhere whereby if you change the Squeezecenter server nad use a new Ip address the MAC address does not get updated. Could this have been the problem as I assume a reset would mean a re-learning of MAC address?
    Paul

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Squeeze Server 7.6 on Windows 2008 R2
    SB3 x1, SBB (Squeezebox Boom) x1, SBR (Squeezebox Radio with battery) x1, SBT (Squeezebox Touch) x1
    RIP - dBpowerAMP R13 to FLAC
    ID3 Tags - MP3Tag v2.41 and Discogs
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •