Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Västerås Sweden
    Posts
    13,293

    Include "Server Power Off" function in SC

    I filed an Enhancement request with this regarding this

    Include "Server Power Off" function in SC http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=8643

    my fav plugin "Server Power Control" is not working with 7.1

    but i started to think about it, heres what i wrote in bug 8643:

    "Hi one of my favorite plugins "Server Power Control" is not working anymore
    with SC7.1
    I suggest thats this function should be standard in SC on the ir remote when
    using SB3 on the SBC and in SC web ui.
    Reason, when you get the WOL issues sorted out wouldn't it be really good if
    you also could turn off the server to !
    This two functions go hand in hand on/off you cant have one without the other
    ;-)
    This is an enhancement request, so anyone else that thinks this is a good idea
    ?"

    Anyone else finding this usefull please vote.

    good evening
    Mikael

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Buckinghamshire, England
    Posts
    9,983
    Noooooo!

    Please do NOT implement any method of turning off the server from the remote.

    Not everyone has a dedicated server that JUST runs SC.

    In the middle of a party I do not want some idiot to turn off the server.

    In the middle of Windows updates, anti-virus checking or whatever I do not want some idiot to turn off the server.

    What's wrong with using Windows (or whatever) built-in features to automatically power-down/standby the PC after x minutes of inactivity?


    Or at the very least - if this is implemented I need to be able to completely disable it in the settings!!!!!!
    You want to see the signal path BEFORE it gets onto a CD/vinyl...it ain't what you'd call minimal...
    Touch(wired/W7)+Teddy Pardo PSU - Audiolense 3.3/2.0+INGUZ DRC - MF M1 DAC - Linn 5103 - full Aktiv 5.1 system (6x LK140's, ESPEK/TRIKAN/KATAN/SEIZMIK 10.5), Pekin Tuner, Townsend Supertweeters,VdH Toslink,Kimber 8TC Speaker & Chord Signature Plus Interconnect cables
    Stax4070+SRM7/II phones
    Kitchen Boom, Outdoors: SB Radio, Harmony One remote for everything.

  3. #3
    Senior Member pfarrell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Wayne, PA
    Posts
    4,251

    Include "Server Power Off" function in SC

    Phil Leigh wrote:
    > Or at the very least - if this is implemented I need to be able to
    > completely disable it in the settings!!!!!!


    And this setting has to *not* be in the GUI.
    Or someone at Phil's party will find it and change it.

    --
    Pat Farrell
    http://www.pfarrell.com/


  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Buckinghamshire, England
    Posts
    9,983
    Quote Originally Posted by pfarrell View Post
    Phil Leigh wrote:
    > Or at the very least - if this is implemented I need to be able to
    > completely disable it in the settings!!!!!!


    And this setting has to *not* be in the GUI.
    Or someone at Phil's party will find it and change it.

    --
    Pat Farrell
    http://www.pfarrell.com/
    Hmmm..so you've met my propeller-head friends )
    You want to see the signal path BEFORE it gets onto a CD/vinyl...it ain't what you'd call minimal...
    Touch(wired/W7)+Teddy Pardo PSU - Audiolense 3.3/2.0+INGUZ DRC - MF M1 DAC - Linn 5103 - full Aktiv 5.1 system (6x LK140's, ESPEK/TRIKAN/KATAN/SEIZMIK 10.5), Pekin Tuner, Townsend Supertweeters,VdH Toslink,Kimber 8TC Speaker & Chord Signature Plus Interconnect cables
    Stax4070+SRM7/II phones
    Kitchen Boom, Outdoors: SB Radio, Harmony One remote for everything.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Västerås Sweden
    Posts
    13,293
    Yikes ! it was just an idea... ? thank you for your opinion.
    Maybe i should have done in the form of a poll ?

    Another solution would to resurect the plugin and make it work in 7.1-7.3
    and SBC. The existing plugin just works in SB3 menu you need ir or retrobrowser to use it, i use the ir emulator in SBC to turn my server of from the living room.

    I was just thinking about the poor sods that have their dedicated server in the garage the attic etc. My current situation is such that i can manage without it, I just like it.

    If it still was a plugin it could easily be disabled.
    Or if included as a plugin in the standard release, it could be made "disabled" per default ? Anyone who wants it have to turn it on.

    Any other opinion ?

  6. #6
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Västerås Sweden
    Posts
    13,293
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Leigh View Post
    Hmmm..so you've met my propeller-head friends )
    My friends would constantly hit the play button to see playlist go away.. ;-)
    And my audiophile friends would bring out the CD's and be very sceptical.

  7. #7
    Senior Member radish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Red Bank, NJ
    Posts
    5,052
    Quote Originally Posted by Mnyb View Post
    Maybe i should have done in the form of a poll ?
    No, you raised an enh request which is appropriate. Now we sit back and see if anyone (a) votes for it or (b) implements it. Discussion on the implementation can be done in bugzilla.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Buckinghamshire, England
    Posts
    9,983
    Quote Originally Posted by Mnyb View Post
    My friends would constantly hit the play button to see playlist go away.. ;-)
    And my audiophile friends would bring out the CD's and be very sceptical.
    yes - i know what you mean )
    You want to see the signal path BEFORE it gets onto a CD/vinyl...it ain't what you'd call minimal...
    Touch(wired/W7)+Teddy Pardo PSU - Audiolense 3.3/2.0+INGUZ DRC - MF M1 DAC - Linn 5103 - full Aktiv 5.1 system (6x LK140's, ESPEK/TRIKAN/KATAN/SEIZMIK 10.5), Pekin Tuner, Townsend Supertweeters,VdH Toslink,Kimber 8TC Speaker & Chord Signature Plus Interconnect cables
    Stax4070+SRM7/II phones
    Kitchen Boom, Outdoors: SB Radio, Harmony One remote for everything.

  9. #9
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,136

    Include "Server Power Off" function in SC

    > Another solution would to resurect the plugin and make it work in
    > 7.1-7.3


    Did you contact the plugin author?

    Michael

  10. #10
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Västerås Sweden
    Posts
    13,293
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > Another solution would to resurect the plugin and make it work in
    > 7.1-7.3


    Did you contact the plugin author?

    Michael
    Good idea, I think about it ?
    however my point was that this feature is the natural partner to WOL and should be standard, others disagree for various valid and good reasons, I raised a feature request and now i see how this goes.
    Maybe a updated plug will come when 7.1 gets official ?
    Maybe I write a nice sweet mail to the plugin author when 7.1 gets released.
    I can understand if one waits for the release version of 7.1 before finalizing a new plugin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •