Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Senior Member Amauta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    137

    How to lower output level DAC the audiophile way.

    Recently I bought a Lite DAC-AH. I like it a lot more than the internal DAC of my SB2. My problem is that the output level of the Lite DAC is so high that I have difficulties using the volume button on my amplifier. What is the best audiophile way to lower the output level of my DAC?
    SqueezeboxServer 7.5.1 on Qnap TS-119.
    3x Squeezebox2, 1 Squeezebox Classic, 2x BOOM - excellent sound!, One little RED Radio


    Last.FM

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,454
    Is it possible that you at least partly prefer the sound of your external DAC precisely because it has a higher volume output compared to the SB DAC ? It wouldn't be the first time increased volume was perceived as increased audio quality.
    Yes, it will. Yes, all of them. Yes, SoftSqueeze as well. What ?
    I SAID ALL OF THEM !

  3. #3
    Senior Member adamslim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    St Albans, UK
    Posts
    1,205
    Use an attenuator - you can get RCA plugs that knock off 10dB, say. Use the SB volume to suss out the right amount of attenuation, then buy that value, or close.
    SB3, Dac-in-the-Box, Sony VFET, Snell Type Cs
    Boom x 2, Radio

  4. #4
    Senior Member Amauta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    137
    I was more thinking of putting in some resistors in the line out. But do these affect the sound quality?
    SqueezeboxServer 7.5.1 on Qnap TS-119.
    3x Squeezebox2, 1 Squeezebox Classic, 2x BOOM - excellent sound!, One little RED Radio


    Last.FM

  5. #5
    Senior Member pfarrell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Wayne, PA
    Posts
    4,251

    How to lower output level DAC theaudiophile way.

    Amauta wrote:
    > I was more thinking of putting in some resistors in the line out. But do
    > these affect the sound quality?


    An attenuator is just a voltage divider circuit made of resistors. If
    they are well matched, they just reduce the voltage output.

    Since humans always think that louder music is better, at some level, it
    will impact sound quality.

    --
    Pat Farrell
    http://www.pfarrell.com/


  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,454
    Quote Originally Posted by Amauta View Post
    I was more thinking of putting in some resistors in the line out. But do these affect the sound quality?
    You'd better hope not, your DAC has got lots of them in it, not to mention your amp
    Last edited by andynormancx; 2008-06-24 at 11:53.
    Yes, it will. Yes, all of them. Yes, SoftSqueeze as well. What ?
    I SAID ALL OF THEM !

  7. #7
    Senior Member Themis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Montpellier, France
    Posts
    920
    Quote Originally Posted by Amauta View Post
    Recently I bought a Lite DAC-AH. I like it a lot more than the internal DAC of my SB2. My problem is that the output level of the Lite DAC is so high that I have difficulties using the volume button on my amplifier. What is the best audiophile way to lower the output level of my DAC?
    May I ask what is your amplifier ?
    SBT - North Star dac 192 - Croft 25Pre and Series 7 power - Sonus Faber Grand Piano Domus

  8. #8
    Senior Member Amauta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    137
    Harman/Kardon HK6650R, not that it can't handle the input. I prefer to have more angle to graduate the volume. Now when it is 1/4 open, the volume is already too high for me.
    Last edited by Amauta; 2008-06-24 at 12:08.
    SqueezeboxServer 7.5.1 on Qnap TS-119.
    3x Squeezebox2, 1 Squeezebox Classic, 2x BOOM - excellent sound!, One little RED Radio


    Last.FM

  9. #9
    Senior Member Themis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Montpellier, France
    Posts
    920
    (I've been using AV amplifiers for soo long, i almost forgot that you can't change input sensitivity on HiFi amps^^)

    I agree with the previous : you need an attenuator, although I'm not sure it won't affect signal quality. Well, at least they're not expensive.
    SBT - North Star dac 192 - Croft 25Pre and Series 7 power - Sonus Faber Grand Piano Domus

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Buckinghamshire, England
    Posts
    9,983
    Quote Originally Posted by Themis View Post
    (I've been using AV amplifiers for soo long, i almost forgot that you can't change input sensitivity on HiFi amps^^)

    I agree with the previous : you need an attenuator, although I'm not sure it won't affect signal quality. Well, at least they're not expensive.
    Look - at line level, a simple resistor network to reduce volume will NOT impact audio quality.
    You can use the Rothwell attenuators or make your own if you can solder(it's really simple).
    Even if you use the worlds most expensive resistors - vishay for example - (no point at this this signal level) making your own is cheaper and more satisfying.

    However even the cheapest carbon resistors will sound fine.
    You want to see the signal path BEFORE it gets onto a CD/vinyl...it ain't what you'd call minimal...
    Touch(wired/W7)+Teddy Pardo PSU - Audiolense 3.3/2.0+INGUZ DRC - MF M1 DAC - Linn 5103 - full Aktiv 5.1 system (6x LK140's, ESPEK/TRIKAN/KATAN/SEIZMIK 10.5), Pekin Tuner, Townsend Supertweeters,VdH Toslink,Kimber 8TC Speaker & Chord Signature Plus Interconnect cables
    Stax4070+SRM7/II phones
    Kitchen Boom, Outdoors: SB Radio, Harmony One remote for everything.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •