Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19
  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    139
    Quote Originally Posted by ronwr View Post
    I was using SoftSqueeze, but after a computer upgrade at work, and now upgrading my SqueezeCenter, I appear to have lost the ability to 1) use SoftSqueeze and 2) listen to my music via an SSH tunnel.

    Please help!
    Can you get to your server from other internet clients, but just not from your work computer / network?

  2. #12
    Any updates on this? Still impossible to do?

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    4
    I managed to setup a tunnel to with putty. The local ports 9000 and 3483 are forwarded to the squeezecenter (current nightly) running on ubuntu. It is possible to control the squeezecenter through the web interface and also connect the softsqueeze (version 3.7).

    Trying to connect the squeezeplay to 127.0.0.1 (localhost) fails, but the squeezeplay is recognized by the squeezecenter. With the web interface it is possible to play music on squeezeplay, but without the ability to control the volume.

    Any hints how to fix this?

    Paul

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    11
    Bump.

  5. #15
    Are there any plans to make SqueezePlay (and players based on it, like the Touch) able to work over an SSH tunnel?

    Previous devices (Boom, SB3, etc.) are able to do this; it's really unfortunate that SqueezePlay breaks this functionality.

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2
    I too, would like to request that the need for UDP in SqueezePlay be removed.

  7. #17
    Senior Member ralphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,136
    Squeezeslave doesn't use/require UDP and with the port option (-P/--port) you can "punch" a hole through restrictive office firewalls and then use a port redirect on your home firewall to the SBS server port 3483. You don't even need to use ssh.
    Ralphy

    1-Touch, 4-Classics, 2-Booms, 1-Reverted UE Radio
    Squeezebox client builds donations always appreciated.

  8. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by ralphy View Post
    Squeezeslave doesn't use/require UDP and with the port option (-P/--port) you can "punch" a hole through restrictive office firewalls and then use a port redirect on your home firewall to the SBS server port 3483. You don't even need to use ssh.
    That doesn't help those of use who are trying to get physical players based on SqueezePlay working over SSH.

    Anyway, SoftSqueeze works over SSH (in fact has a built-in client).

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2
    I figured a workaround for this and posted a bunch of links at http://forums.slimdevices.com/showth...946#post696946. I hope people don't mind me posting this twice in the forums, but I hope this helps people struggling figure out their issues!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •