Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    10

    Post Squeezeplay desktop over SSH tunnel - possible?

    I'm trying to use Squeezeplay to access a player on my network at home. Rather than open ports to the web, I'd like to use SSH tunneling. I've previously been able to use Softsqueeze's SSH tunneling to do this, then I set up my own SSH tunnel wrapper in the hopes of using Squeezeplay over the SSH tunnel.

    The ports I'm forwarding are tcp/3483, tcp/9000, and tcp/9090. I've verified they're tunneled properly, but Squeezeplay still doesn't find my Squeezecenter at home the way Softsqueeze does. Is there something special I have to do to get this to work? Is forwarding of a UDP port required, perhaps? SSH can't tunnel UDP connections directly, but there are probably ways I could do it if I knew which ones were needed.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,475

    [SlimDevices: Jive] Squeezeplay desktop over SSH tunnel -possible?

    > The ports I'm forwarding are tcp/3483, tcp/9000, and tcp/9090. I've
    > verified they're tunneled properly, but Squeezeplay still doesn't find
    > my Squeezecenter at home the way Softsqueeze does.


    Have SqueezePlay connect to localhost manually (don't know whether this is
    possible at all).

    Michael

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    10
    I'm not sure what you mean by "manually." There's no squeezecenter server running on my local host. What I want to do is forward the ports over to my remote server. When I do this with 3483, 9000, and 9090 tunneled, it doesn't find the server. Softsqueeze connects fine, though, so I was wondering what other stuff Squeezeplay does that might require me to set up the tunnel differently.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,823
    I'm currently investigating a very similar problem - I'm afraid forwarding UDP 3483 is needed, according to what I see in the ethernet packet sniffer I'm using

  5. #5
    Senior Software Engineer - Logitech/Slim Devices
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Ipswich, UK
    Posts
    1,394
    If you go to "Settings > Music Source > Other Server", you should be able to enter 127.0.0.1 and SqueezePlay will use the ssh tunnel. Normally it used udp 3843 to discover SqueezeCenters running on the local LAN.

    Richard

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,823
    Hi Richard - this was my understanding, but (see me other post) I've not been able to do so. I have always entered the IP address of the squeezecenter manually in the "Music Sources" menu, but it never worked until I opened UDP3483. And, strangely enough, UDP3483 was only needed ONCE. After the "SSH tunneled" squeezecenter has been "registered", I coudl close it, and it would still work after everything has been reset (controler, receiver & PC hoisting the squeezecenter) - Softsqueeze never showed this problem. I really think there is a "small bug" over here

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    627
    Quote Originally Posted by philippe_44 View Post
    Hi Richard - this was my understanding, but (see me other post) I've not been able to do so. I have always entered the IP address of the squeezecenter manually in the "Music Sources" menu, but it never worked until I opened UDP3483. And, strangely enough, UDP3483 was only needed ONCE. After the "SSH tunneled" squeezecenter has been "registered", I coudl close it, and it would still work after everything has been reset (controler, receiver & PC hoisting the squeezecenter) - Softsqueeze never showed this problem. I really think there is a "small bug" over here
    For the sake of completeness - and to confirm you findings: Last week i took my Controller to another location which is connected to my SC using a VPN. The SBC couldn't connect until i allowed udp/3483 to pass the tunnel. Entering SC's IP address as additional music source didn't work.

    So to access the Webinterface, use my SB3 and the SBC i need these protocols/ports:

    tcp/3483 + tcp/9000
    udp/3483

    To get on-topic at last: As SSH can't forward udp but tcp only through it's common tunnel feature SqueezePlay/Controller will not work (unless this has changed very recently)

    kind regards,
    Markus

    P.S. It was _no_ problem SC was hidden behind a NAT-address and therefore was not accessible through its real IP address.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Cologne, Germany
    Posts
    27
    Hi,

    I'm interested into using SqueezePlay via SSH tunnel too...

    As SSH can't forward udp but tcp only through it's common tunnel feature SqueezePlay/Controller will not work (unless this has changed very recently)
    has there been any change to SqueezePlay so far - or is there any workaround?

    Cheers
    Punga
    SB Classic on Sony HT-IS100 controlled by Philips Pronto 9400 + SB Boom + SB Radio served by SqueezeCenter from an QNAP TS-439 Pro

  9. #9
    I'm interested in using SqueezePlay over an SSH tunnel too. Has there been any progress on this issue? Or is there any workaround? I'm using WinSSHD on my Windows server at home, and I'm using Tunnelier as the SSH client. I don't think there's any way of tunneling the UDP port 3483 with this setup, but maybe I'm missing something.

    Thanks

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1

    Interested in Squeezeplay + SSH Tunnel

    I was using SoftSqueeze, but after a computer upgrade at work, and now upgrading my SqueezeCenter, I appear to have lost the ability to 1) use SoftSqueeze and 2) listen to my music via an SSH tunnel.

    Please help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •