Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.

View Poll Results: Does Album Catalogue Creator (RC5+) create a trustworthy output?

Voters
57. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    18 31.58%
  • Yes but with minor issues

    27 47.37%
  • No

    3 5.26%
  • It does not work at all

    9 15.79%
Page 2 of 49 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 486
  1. #11
    Member alanj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    53

    Remote servers ....

    Hi Frank,
    Well been delving on my Linux server and found as already pointed out by Fletch that only local connections are enabled.

    This should be dead easy to change as it is only a setting in the my.cnf file to alter the bind address from the current 127.0.0.1 to whatever your servers ip is. lol However I have tried that but the my.cnf file gets overwritten and reset to the original every time I restart it! Very annoying.

    Don't suppose anyone knows what in Slimserver is resetting the /var/cache/slimserver/my.cnf file do they?
    I think it is being created from a /var/share/slimserver/my.tt file but not sure how to change that to set the correct ip as it isn't a straight copy but full of variables.
    Cheers
    Alan

    Koolu (Ubuntu 10.4) + SC 7.5.1 feeding ==>
    SB3 -> Cyrus 6vs -> KEF iQ7
    SB2 -> Super T amp -> Mission 771
    SBC ( unimpressed! )

  2. #12
    formerly known as Fletch
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    2,239
    Quote Originally Posted by alanj View Post
    Don't suppose anyone knows what in Slimserver is resetting the /var/cache/slimserver/my.cnf file do they?
    I think it is being created from a /var/share/slimserver/my.tt file but not sure how to change that to set the correct ip as it isn't a straight copy but full of variables.
    I assume you're using a recent SC7 nightly? If so, look for bindAddress in server.prefs. I'm not sure what the syntax is if you want to list multiple IPs.

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    298
    I get the same error as tamanaco but it still seems to work OK!

    The results are excellent.

    I do have a feature request: can it be made to ignore 'the' etc. (per Slimserver setting?) so artists are in a more sensible order?

  4. #14
    Senior Member SilverRS8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    670
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam Lowry View Post
    I will try this soon. Thanks for the effort, looks great. I wanted to strongly recommend for the sake of the trees of planet Earth, that everyone prints to a PDF version and not use paper whenever possible. Based on my current collection of music, I believe it would take many hundreds of double-sided pages. Hopefully there are font choices for headlines.
    The shortlist version is probably more useful if you have a very large collection. Less detail but a lot less paper wasted.

  5. #15

    Announce: Album Catalog Creator for SlimServer

    I too got the same results. Clicking OK revealed that a catalogue had been
    created but listing all albums as being by 'various artists', very few with
    cover art but nothing else.

    Apart from that - looks really good. I will investigate with more sort
    options.

    Thank you for the good work and have a great new year.

    Richard Scales

    SS 6.5.1 running on Windows 2003 SBS with 3,300 albums

    -----Original Message-----
    From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
    [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of MillmoorRon
    Sent: 31 December 2007 23:16
    To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
    Subject: Re: [slim] Announce: Album Catalog Creator for SlimServer


    I get the same error as tamanaco but it still seems to work OK!

    The results are excellent.

    I do have a feature request: can it be made to ignore 'the' etc. (per
    Slimserver setting?) so artists are in a more sensible order?


    --
    MillmoorRon
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    MillmoorRon's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=6413
    View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=41597


  6. #16
    Senior Member SilverRS8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    670
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard Scales View Post
    I too got the same results. Clicking OK revealed that a catalogue had been
    created but listing all albums as being by 'various artists', very few with
    cover art but nothing else.

    Apart from that - looks really good. I will investigate with more sort
    options.

    Thank you for the good work and have a great new year.

    Richard Scales
    Hi Richard,

    I did a minor update on the file creation error. Also the help screen, when windows is not installed in c:\windows should work now. Can you test this and let me know the results?

    Can you also let me know (for me to try to re-create the problem in order to fix it):
    - what paths you use as Starting folder and as Compilation folder?
    - What cover art file names do you use? Cover.jpg and folder.jpg should be supported if they are placed in the same directory the track file is located. Is you filesystem case-sensitive?

    NOTE: When starting folder is the same as compilation folder, all albums are treated as compilations and album artist is named 'various artists'

    Thx for the effort and nice to hear you (and others) find the script also very useful.

    If you have made any additions yourself please send them to me also. I like to maintain a single 'master' version for other forum users to use.

    Frank
    Last edited by SilverRS8; 2008-01-01 at 04:26.

  7. #17

    Announce: Album Catalog Creator for SlimServer

    I just ran the updated version and can confirm the following:

    No error message once catalogue is created.

    I must confess that I have not got a specific folder for compilations so I
    did not specify one. Neither had I specified a starting folder though for
    testing purposes I can see that it might help as running it against my
    entire collection takes a while!

    File system is not case sensitive (Windows) and I can confirm that cover art
    is named folder.jpg, cover.jpg and I seem to have a lot of dlimage.jpg
    (generated by a cover art generation script!) I assume that I could just
    rename these to cover.jpg etc.

    If I specify a starting folder in order to select a subset of my collection
    then the artists displays perfectly - so it seems that it only displays
    'various artists' for all albums if no starting folder is specified.

    I expect that if I specify the root as the starting folder - it might work
    just fine.

    Thanks again for this - nice work.

    Richard Scales



    -----Original Message-----
    From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
    [mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of SilverRS8
    Sent: 01 January 2008 10:35
    To: discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
    Subject: Re: [slim] Announce: Album Catalog Creator for SlimServer


    Richard Scales;253106 Wrote:
    > I too got the same results. Clicking OK revealed that a catalogue had
    > been
    > created but listing all albums as being by 'various artists', very few
    > with
    > cover art but nothing else.
    >
    > Apart from that - looks really good. I will investigate with more sort
    > options.
    >
    > Thank you for the good work and have a great new year.
    >
    > Richard Scales
    >


    Hi Richard,

    I did a minor update on the file creation error. Also the help screen,
    when windows is not installed in c:\windows should work now. Can you
    test this and let me know the results?
    Can you also let me know:
    - what paths you use as Starting folder and as Compilation folder?
    - What cover art file names do you use? Cover.jpg and folder.jpg should
    be supported if they are placed in the same directory the track file is
    located. Is you filesystem case-sensitive?

    Thx for the effort and nice to hear you (and others) find the script
    also very useful.

    If you have made any additions yourself please send them to also so I
    can include them for maintaining a single 'master' version for other
    forum users to use.

    Frank


    --
    SilverRS8
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    SilverRS8's Profile: http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=12818
    View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=41597


  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Toronto, On, Canada
    Posts
    369
    Looking good! Main problems I am having:

    - I have many albums with multiple genres and if I ask it to print genres it only prints one of the genres seemingly at random
    - I can't get it to exclude a genre - probably linked to issue above
    - I have multiple hard drives and it doesn't find a second folder inside my specified folder - i.e., it doesn't see the shoertcut to the F:\ from the D:\ folder - only the D:\ folder is created

    Thanks for what looks to be a great little app!

  9. #19
    Senior Member SilverRS8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    670
    Thx for your reaction and testing.

    Quote Originally Posted by Rick B. View Post
    I have many albums with multiple genres and if I ask it to print genres it only prints one of the genres seemingly at random
    So what you actually would like is an option to display the genre of each track instead of album based? Ordering multiple multi genre albums based on genre is not possible i think (how would you like to output to look?)but if you have a suggestion and more users want this I can see if I can code it into the script?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rick B. View Post
    - I can't get it to exclude a genre - probably linked to issue above
    Indeed linked to the previuous request.

    Quote Originally Posted by Rick B. View Post
    - I have multiple hard drives and it doesn't find a second folder inside my specified folder - i.e., it doesn't see the shoertcut to the F:\ from the D:\ folder
    The script doesn't actually traverse directories. It looks at the source location of a tracks as stored in the database. It does however expect that all album tracks are in the same folder. Having album tracks dispersed over several directories is not supported.

    Quote Originally Posted by Rick B. View Post
    - only the D:\ folder is created
    What do you actually mean? The script doesn't create folders, beside a 'AlbumCatalogs' folder in the script folder to write the generated files to. It only performs read actions (only for album covers).

    Frank
    Last edited by SilverRS8; 2008-01-01 at 08:19.

  10. #20
    Watcher of the Windows build
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,254
    Just downloaded beta 3 and I do not see the Start or Help buttons. The font of the GUI is bigger, but no where to click to start the process.

    Edit: Never mind... I was able to resize the window and see the missing buttons. But there's still something wrong with the layout of the GUI.

    Instead of the error I get a window with the number of tracks and albums. Once you click ok on this window is closes the GUI.
    Still missing album covers.
    Last edited by tamanaco; 2008-01-01 at 08:45.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •