Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

WAV tag editor. Experts on Wave files only, please

After a long search and struggle I have been able to prove that Slimserver DOES read the ID3v1 tags from Wav files and find a tag editor that works with them. And that yes, WAV files do support these tags. Contrary to another post in this forum, which is untrue.

I am a professional audio mastering engineer and I use the Transporter to play back and demonstrate uncompressed 24 bit/96 kHz, 48, and 44.1 K files in the mastering studio, without having to access the computer, it's a great tool. AIFFs do not support ID tags to the best of my knowledge, so it has to be WAV. Converting to a lossless format is unnecessary and time consuming in my business, so I sought out to see if the original 24 bit WAVs could be tagged.

After googling and testing about 25-30 tag editors out of a gazillion, so far I've only found ONE that will read and write ID3 tags that Slimserver/Transporter will read and use. There are none I've found so far for the Mac that work with WAVs, only MP3s. So I've restricted my search to the PC.

A program from Samu Software (unlikely name) Professional MP3/WAV TAG Editor :

http://mural.uv.es/samecues/progs.htm

The site is in Spanish, but don't be afraid, the editor is in (mostly) English, and it works. Scroll down to "Professional MP3/Wav" editor and download.