Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Kingston, Ontario
    Posts
    773

    Saving playlists with remote

    Hi,
    Couldn't find this in bugzilla - running 6.5.0 SS:
    When I followed the directions for saving a playlist via the remote (press Now Playing, press & hold Play), nothing happened. Is this a known bug, or am I doing something wrong?
    I don't use playlists a lot, but I might go try the latest plugin......
    Thanks!
    Wireless SB3, Denon DRA-F101, Mission M31 loudspeakers
    WinXP SP2 Slimserver, SMC WBR14g router
    http://www.last.fm/user/nicketynick/

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,779

    Saving playlists with remote

    > When I followed the directions for saving a playlist via the remote
    > (press Now Playing, press & hold Play), nothing happened. Is this a
    > known bug, or am I doing something wrong?


    Isn't this rather the "add to zap list" feature?

    If you want to save a playlist then there's a plugin to do so (it's
    installed by default). Go to the plugins menu - if it isn't there, check
    in the web interface, server settings, plugins whether it is enabled.

    --

    Michael

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
    http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR


  3. #3
    NOT a Slim Devices Employee kdf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    9,493

    Saving playlists with remote

    Michael Herger wrote:
    >> When I followed the directions for saving a playlist via the remote
    >> (press Now Playing, press & hold Play), nothing happened. Is this a
    >> known bug, or am I doing something wrong?

    >
    > Isn't this rather the "add to zap list" feature?


    zap is press-and-hold ADD.
    However, the press-and-hold PLAY is handled by the SavePlaylist plugin,
    which also needs to be enabled.
    -kdf

  4. #4
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,779

    Saving playlists with remote

    > However, the press-and-hold PLAY is handled by the SavePlaylist plugin,
    > which also needs to be enabled.


    I never stop learning about SlimServer :-)

    --

    Michael

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
    http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR


  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Kingston, Ontario
    Posts
    773
    Quote Originally Posted by kdf View Post
    However, the press-and-hold PLAY is handled by the SavePlaylist plugin,
    which also needs to be enabled.
    -kdf
    I thought you had it nailed, kdf, but the SavePlaylist plugin is checked/enabled, so I continue to be stumped..... Any other ideas? Is there a particular debug that might help identify the problem? Maybe I should confirm that a particular file is present in the plugin directory? (or elsewhere?)
    Thanks!
    Wireless SB3, Denon DRA-F101, Mission M31 loudspeakers
    WinXP SP2 Slimserver, SMC WBR14g router
    http://www.last.fm/user/nicketynick/

  6. #6
    Senior Member Philip Meyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,596

    Re: Saving playlists with remote

    >I thought you had it nailed, kdf, but the SavePlaylist plugin is
    >checked/enabled, so I continue to be stumped..... Any other ideas? Is
    >there a particular debug that might help identify the problem? Maybe I
    >should confirm that a particular file is present in the plugin
    >directory? (or elsewhere?)
    >

    Have you got any other non-standard plugins enabled? I discovered recently that if more than one plugin tries to override buttons in the same mode (eg. "playlist" for now playing), one of them wins, and the other plugin button registrations don't work.

    Phil

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Kingston, Ontario
    Posts
    773
    I have an old version of Playlist Manager, and SuperDateTime - I think everything else is standard. It might be the PlaylistMan - I was thinking of updating to the latest anyway, so I'll do that and report back.
    Thanks for the tip!
    Wireless SB3, Denon DRA-F101, Mission M31 loudspeakers
    WinXP SP2 Slimserver, SMC WBR14g router
    http://www.last.fm/user/nicketynick/

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Kingston, Ontario
    Posts
    773
    Ah, Phil you sneaky ol' so-and-so! Went to have a look at the latest PlaylistMan plugin, and guess who the author is? And guess which plugin overides the original 'Save playlist' remote command with another one? Oh well, I'm all sorted out now - hope this helps somebody else in the same boat!
    Cheers!
    Wireless SB3, Denon DRA-F101, Mission M31 loudspeakers
    WinXP SP2 Slimserver, SMC WBR14g router
    http://www.last.fm/user/nicketynick/

  9. #9
    Senior Member Philip Meyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,596

    Re: Saving playlists with remote

    >Ah, Phil you sneaky ol' so-and-so! Went to have a look at the latest
    >PlaylistMan plugin, and guess who the author is? And guess which plugin
    >overides the original 'Save playlist' remote command with another one?
    >

    Well, yes I am the author of that plugin. I didn't realise you were using it.

    There's no need for the save playlist plugin if you are using PlaylistMan (there's an option to save the playlist within my plugin).

    For others reading this thread, Save Playlist uses press & hold play on the now playing screen. My plugin doesn't do anything with the play button in this mode; my plugin provides a menu option to save the playlist when the user presses & holds the add button.

    I believe the two used to work side by side without problems, although I disabled Save Playlist quite a long time ago (when I pinched the functionality for my plugin :-)).

    I recently found that my PlaylistMan plugin doesn't work if I have TrackStat plugin installed, because this overrides play.hold.

    It's an annoying feature of plugins that only one can register a custom map for any keys in a particular mode. The only way around this (to get many plugins to use different keys in the same mode) would seem to be to manually edit a IR keyboard map file to invoke the correct functions.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Kingston, Ontario
    Posts
    773
    My only problem with the add.hold button is that sometimes I get impatient (in a hurry) and let go prematurely (let the ribbing begin!) Then I have to go rescue the track that I've accidently removed from the playlist. Would it possible to reverse these? ie. press + for PlaylistMan, and +.hold for remove track from playlist? In my experience (albeit very limited) that would work more smoothly.
    Probably a silly idea......
    Thanks!
    Wireless SB3, Denon DRA-F101, Mission M31 loudspeakers
    WinXP SP2 Slimserver, SMC WBR14g router
    http://www.last.fm/user/nicketynick/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •