Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1

    LMS start\stop\restart

    whenever I boot my Rpi3 running pCP (with Jivelite and the touch screen), radios are almost never available.

    In order to get them, I have to restart the LMS from the web page of the pCP.
    After the above I can play radios from the WEB interface, but from the touch display the radio icon is not showing

    In order to play radios even from the touch LCD I have to QUIT the interface, then when it reload after some seconds, the radio icon appears.

    question 1)
    How and where put a command to delay the LMS autostart? or to restart it?
    Keep in mind that I am using the pCP + LCD touch and I want to avoid web interface

    question 2)
    same as 1) but for the LCD interface

    thanks.

  2. #2
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,836

    LMS start\stop\restart

    > whenever I boot my Rpi3 running pCP (with Jivelite and the touch
    > screen), radios are almost never available.


    Is LMS running on the same Pi? What kind of network connection are you
    using? The symptoms you're describing would likely happen if LMS was
    started before the network connection was up. Don't use wlan if you're
    running LMS on the device.

    --

    Michael

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > whenever I boot my Rpi3 running pCP (with Jivelite and the touch
    > screen), radios are almost never available.


    Is LMS running on the same Pi? What kind of network connection are you
    using? The symptoms you're describing would likely happen if LMS was
    started before the network connection was up. Don't use wlan if you're
    running LMS on the device.

    --

    Michael
    - YES, LMS is running side by side with all the other software on the very same Rpi3
    - Almost everyone is saying that this happens because LMS started before network was up, but keep in mind:
    the problem occurrs most of time, not always
    the problems occurrs with both embedded WiFi, WiFi provided by additional USB - WiFi dongle and wired Ethernert as well
    - Why do not use WiFi if LMS is running on the device? Why not?
    Keep in mind that with an additional USB WiFi dongle (Edimax 5 Ghz), without additional drivers, my Rpi3 is capable of streaming to the USB DAC 384 kHz PCM pulling FLAC from a NAS with WiFi without any pops or glitches... just perfect

    For all the above, I am asking how to delay the LMS start or restart it from the LCD touch etc.

  4. #4
    Senior Member DJanGo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,486
    Quote Originally Posted by steff View Post
    Why do not use WiFi if LMS is running on the device? Why not?

    quite simple

    LMS is owned by a service thats waiting for "the (a) Network"
    WLAN is a special Network thats starting very very late.

    I dont know PCP but i think there is a way to disable the squeezelite portion.
    Triode build a very very good Plugin called localplayer.
    That plugin ist started from lms and does nothing else than starting a squeezelite session.

    You can also change the binary from that plugin to a later one.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by DJanGo View Post
    quite simple

    LMS is owned by a service thats waiting for "the (a) Network"
    WLAN is a special Network thats starting very very late.

    I dont know PCP but i think there is a way to disable the squeezelite portion.
    Triode build a very very good Plugin called localplayer.
    That plugin ist started from lms and does nothing else than starting a squeezelite session.

    You can also change the binary from that plugin to a later one.
    If LMS depends on network, why then LMS starts even if the (very very slow to start) WLAN is not started?
    The problem in my setup is that LMS automatically starts at boot every time, but most of times radios are not available until I RESTART LMS

  6. #6
    Senior Member DJanGo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,486
    Quote Originally Posted by steff View Post
    If LMS depends on network, why then LMS starts even if the (very very slow to start) WLAN is not started?
    Did you ever add a passprase to use a Lan Network?

    Another question:

    Are you able to wake up your PC over Lan ?
    Why you re not able to wake it up over WLAN?

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by DJanGo View Post
    Did you ever add a passprase to use a Lan Network?

    Another question:

    Are you able to wake up your PC over Lan ?
    Why you re not able to wake it up over WLAN?
    Funny :-)

    Do you mean that LMS waits for the wired Ethernet to starts but starts even if WLAN is not connected?

    Trying to be again serious:
    1) when my Rpi3 boots, LMS automatically starts
    2) radios are (most of times) not avaialble
    3) stop and start again manually the LMS solves the problem

    what is and where is the "trigger" to let radios be enabled or not?

    P.S.:LMS does not wait for any network before to start. Even if I disable WiFi and do not plug any wired Ethernet and store my music on a USB local drive, LMS starts and I can play music.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    2,034
    Stef, have you tried this tweak?

    Name:  a stef tweak.png
Views: 102
Size:  12.5 KB

  9. #9
    Senior Member DJanGo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,486
    Quote Originally Posted by steff View Post
    Funny :-)
    Trying to be again serious:
    I am serious
    i am a multiple certificated Network & Server engineer

    LMS / its startupscript only waits for a Network Adapter to be up - that doesnt mean it got a ip or got a connection!

  10. #10
    Senior Member DJanGo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,486
    Quote Originally Posted by steff View Post
    Funny :-).
    Wasnt that funny if you just believe two guys who told you the same and would answer one of them.

    So what to do?

    1. You must trust us
    2. You could try what i already told you (using triodes plugin)
    3. You could wrote your own startupscript but that might get lost after a update

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •