Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Portland, OR, USA
    Posts
    236

    Advice on disconnected server with Boom?

    I assumed this was going to be easy, since I’ve done it all locally for years at home, but so far I’m very frustrated.

    I’m trying to create a standalone squeezeserver installation for my remote cabin. I have spotty internet there (1 bar LTE on my cell that I use as a hotspot). I have a boom I bring up there, but because of the connectivity it’s really really frustrating to use as it disconnects all the time, has lag, etc.

    Basically, I want a small thing running SBS, connected via an ethernet cable, no router if possible, serving up local content. As a bonus, when I have reliable internet, I’d like it to connect. I don’t want to use a router unless I absolutely have to (More boxes to maintain)

    I picked up a license from Max2Play, and put it on a Pi with touchscreen, but I’ve corrupted the SD card a few times, and don’t find it reliable at this point. Also, it’s really flakey without an internet connection. Power goes out, and it can’t find my Boom, or the Boom can’t find it, etc. Battery-backing up the Pi would probably go a ways to making it more reliable, so that’s an option.

    I also have a Laptop/Desktop “thing” running Windows 10. It has a battery, 7” touchscreen, and 128GB local storage. I put Desktop SBS on there, but without a router, the Boom and the SBS can’t see each other (SBS binds either to localhost or the Wifi IP, and the Boom gets an Auto IP and can’t find the SBS. I haven’t figured out how to force the Desktop SBS to bind to the Ethernet AutoIP).

    I’ve tried running DHCPD on Windows, but it’s not working either. The Boom doesn’t get an IP address for some reason. Not sure I have a decent DHCP server for Windows.

    Does anyone have any advice here? Surviving power loss is a huge issue, as I’m still on Fuse box up there (!!) and constantly dropping power running power tools. :-)

    Thanks!
    -Dan

  2. #2
    Senior Member kidstypike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brindle
    Posts
    2,355
    Quote Originally Posted by plympton View Post
    I assumed this was going to be easy, since I’ve done it all locally for years at home, but so far I’m very frustrated.

    I’m trying to create a standalone squeezeserver installation for my remote cabin. I have spotty internet there (1 bar LTE on my cell that I use as a hotspot). I have a boom I bring up there, but because of the connectivity it’s really really frustrating to use as it disconnects all the time, has lag, etc.

    Basically, I want a small thing running SBS, connected via an ethernet cable, no router if possible, serving up local content. As a bonus, when I have reliable internet, I’d like it to connect. I don’t want to use a router unless I absolutely have to (More boxes to maintain)

    I picked up a license from Max2Play, and put it on a Pi with touchscreen, but I’ve corrupted the SD card a few times, and don’t find it reliable at this point. Also, it’s really flakey without an internet connection. Power goes out, and it can’t find my Boom, or the Boom can’t find it, etc. Battery-backing up the Pi would probably go a ways to making it more reliable, so that’s an option.

    I also have a Laptop/Desktop “thing” running Windows 10. It has a battery, 7” touchscreen, and 128GB local storage. I put Desktop SBS on there, but without a router, the Boom and the SBS can’t see each other (SBS binds either to localhost or the Wifi IP, and the Boom gets an Auto IP and can’t find the SBS. I haven’t figured out how to force the Desktop SBS to bind to the Ethernet AutoIP).

    I’ve tried running DHCPD on Windows, but it’s not working either. The Boom doesn’t get an IP address for some reason. Not sure I have a decent DHCP server for Windows.


    Does anyone have any advice here? Surviving power loss is a huge issue, as I’m still on Fuse box up there (!!) and constantly dropping power running power tools. :-)

    Thanks!
    -Dan
    By far the easiest is a Bluetooth speaker, load some music files on your phone, and away you go, no power problems (except for re-charging batteries). If you get internet you can use the music service providers apps to Bluetooth to your BT speaker.

    If you really must use your Boom - I've just brought my in-car setup into the house and set it up, it works beautifully with my Boom (or any other SB player).

    Photo below shows my Boom and, on the left from top down - Raspberry pi3 running Max2Play/LMS 7.9.1/AccessPoint plugin > 2TB WD Elements HDD > AUKEY Power Bank 20000mAh battery pack. Controlled using an old Motorola Defy phone/OrangeSqueeze (or a Squeezebox IR remote). The battery pack solves your flakey power supply problem for the Pi & HDD, but I've no suggestions for a battery for your Boom.

    Name:  car pi.jpg
Views: 81
Size:  86.5 KB
    Last edited by kidstypike; 2017-11-09 at 07:28.
    Study/Server - LMS 7.9.1 - Raspberry Pi3/Pi screen/HiFiBerry DAC+/piCorePlayer 3.22/jivelite, 25K library on WDMyCloud, cache and playlists on a USB stick (formatted ntfs).
    Lounge - RPi 2/Max2Play > HiFiBerry DIGI+ > AudioEngine DAC1 > AVI DM5
    Dining Room - Boom
    Garage - Radio
    In car - LMS 7.9.1 > RPi3/Max2Play/Access Point plugin > HiFiBerry DAC+ > car's hifi (files on a 2TB portable USB drive)
    Spares - 1xTouch, 1xSB3

  3. #3
    Senior Member iPhone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    3,213
    .
    .
    Possible solution:
    At the Cabin, I use a NUC with 4GB of RAM and 2TB Hard Drive running Vortexbox as my server, an old WiFi Router that still works that I replaced via upgrade at home, a Boom, a Baby w/ battery, and a Touch. The nice thing about having the old WiFi Router is I can carry the Baby around anywhere around the cabin without Ethernet cables (only the Touch is on Ethernet). Bonus with this set-up is that the NUC can be used in your vehicle with an inverter or a permanent 12VDC connection for the NUC and DC/DC converter for the Touch wired to your vehicle's battery!

    As for power problems there are simple solutions to that also. The first one is to actually fix the problem which has to be one of two things, either a weak/worn out breaker or too many items plugged into that breaker's circuit that are turned on which are overloading the circuit. On circuits that I have issues with that I know I am not exceeding the maximum amperage, I replace the breaker with a magnetic breaker as these breakers only trip with an actual short or loads that actually exceed their ratings (they are not affected by heat, do not become weak). Magnetic Breakers also do not trip during a momentary quick slight exceeding of their rating because magnetic breakers can deal with momentary slight surges such as power supply startup current inrush or turning on an amplifier. Now if we are talking about an old time actual fuse circuit, the circuit has too many items being used that exceed the fuse rating and one needs to stop overloading the circuit (do NOT increase the fuse size as the circuit fuse size is based on the wire size of that circuit). So if using fuses, one usually has to run an additional new circuit to deal with additional current demand so that devices can be moved off one circuit and some onto the new circuit to balance out the demand over two circuits.

    We have spotty power in the mountains with a drop almost everyday, I have my NUC, Router, and Touch on a UPS (Uninterruptible Power Supply) so they stay up during quick or short power outages.
    iPhone
    Media Room:
    ModWright Platinum Signature Transporter, VTL TL-6.5 Signature Pre-Amp, Ayre MX-R Mono's, VeraStarr 6.4SE 6-channel Amp, Vandersteen Speakers: Quatro Wood Mains, VCC-5 Reference Center, four VSM-1 Signatures, Video: Runco RS 900 CineWide AutoScope 2.35:1, Vandersteen V2W Subwoofer

    Living Room:
    Transporter, ADCOM GTP-870HD, Cinepro 3K6SE III Gold, Vandersteen Model 3A Signature, Two 2Wq subs, VCC-2, Two VSM-1

    Office: Touch with Vandersteen VSM-1s
    Kitchen: Touch in-wall mount w/ Thiel Powerpoint 1.2s
    Bedroom: Squeezebox BOOM
    Bathroom: Squeezebox Radio
    Around the House: SliMP3, SB1, SB2, SB3
    Ford Thunderbird: SB Touch, USB drive
    Ford Expedition: SB Touch, USB drive

  4. #4
    I followed these instructions to set up a portable LMS on a 2 Tb drive with a battery (so should cope with flaky power). It has two wifi cards - I play to a raspberry pi running picoreplayer. It was a little fiddly to set up, but not difficult with a little Linux background.

    Periodically I back up my main music collection to the portable drive. It's the system I use in my office at work.

    Robert
    Home: Raspberry Pi 3/piCoreplayer/LMS7.9 with files on QNAP TS-239
    Touch > DacMagic 100 > Naim Audio Nait 3 > Mission 752 (plus Rega Planar 3 and Naim CD3)
    PiCorePlayer(Pi2) with touchscreen and IQAudIO DAC+>Sennheisers
    2 x Squeezebox Radios, 1 X Squeezebox 3 (retired)
    Office: LMS7.9 running on WiFi MyPassport drive > piCorePlayer(PiB)/HiFiBerryDAC > Amptastic Amplifier
    SqueezePad, iPeng as controllers

    last.fm/user/GrumpyBob

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by plympton View Post
    I’ve tried running DHCPD on Windows, but it’s not working either. The Boom doesn’t get an IP address for some reason. Not sure I have a decent DHCP server for Windows.
    I think you need some old router or a network cross-cable instead of a normal one.
    Apart from that I favour the BT box only solution made before..

    Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk
    Server: LMS 7.9.1-166 Synology @ Sept 04 2017 on DS216Play. SOX mansr ARMv7 & C-3PO. Players: SB Radio, Freecom MusicPal. Multiroom HiFi: Denon AVR-X4000, AVM M30, Nubert NuLine/NuVero 5.1+2

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    2,109
    Quote Originally Posted by Ge Ba View Post
    I think you need some old router or a network cross-cable instead of a normal one.
    Apart from that I favour the BT box only solution made before..

    Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk
    http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.ph...are_comparison
    The boom has auto MDIX according to that page, so a straight cable should work.

    For a quick test you can try using "Internet Sharing" on a PC/Mac. This feature starts routing, DHCP, NAT all in one go.
    Last edited by epoch1970; 2017-11-10 at 11:57.
    3 SB 3 Libratone Loop, Zipp Mini iPeng (iPhone + iPad) LMS 7.9 (linux) with plugins: CD Player, WaveInput, Triode's BBC iPlayer by bpa IRBlaster by Gwendesign (Felix) Server Power Control by Gordon Harris Smart Mix, Music Walk With Me, What Was That Tune? by Michael Herger PowerSave by Jason Holtzapple Song Info, Song Lyrics by Erland Isaksson AirPlay Bridge by philippe_44 WeatherTime by Martin Rehfeld Auto Dim Display, SaverSwitcher, ContextMenu by Peter Watkins.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Portland, OR, USA
    Posts
    236

    Thanks for the tips!

    I was able to pull a travel wifi router from storage, and that should do the trick.

    I have both the Pi & Screen configured and a Windows/LMS machine to use for testing. The Pi is better from a power/JiveLite perspective (Max2Play providing the config interface), but the Windows machine is nice since it has an internal battery built int, as well as a 4-Core Atom processor - it's a tad faster than the Pi.

    I also have a Netgear LTE -> Ethernet bridge that might have 1-2 bars for connectivity up there, and picked up a Yagi antenna to see if I can get some extra signal that way (seems like not).

    Anyhoo, looks like I'm on my way. The Cabbage (Cabin/Garage) never felt so homey. :-)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •