Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member jimzak's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Austin TX
    Posts
    640

    Scanning time for LMS varies widely

    I have noticed many, many times over the years that the Windows version of LMS re-scan times vary widely, from 5 minutes to 20 minutes for a rescan after new music is added.

    During the slower scan, the file number advances by about 2000 files for each increment. During the slower scan, the files increment by 10,000 files per increment or more.

    Why does it scan at different rates at different times?

    Just curious.

    Thanks.

    ----------

    Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.1 - 1508251793 @ Tue Oct 17 16:01:55 CUT 2017
    HTTP Port: 9000
    OS: Windows 10 - EN - cp1252
    Platform: 8664
    Perl Version: 5.14.1 - MSWin32-x86-multi-thread
    Audio::Scan: 0.95
    Database Version: DBD::SQLite 1.34_01 (sqlite 3.7.7.1)
    Total Players Recognized: 5
    http://zzzone.net
    http://have-a-nice-day.org
    http://www.last.fm/user/zzzoneDOTnet
    http://somethingsomethingsomething.net

    SBS 7.9 - i7 nuc - Win 10 64bit
    5 Booms, 2 Radio, 3 Touch, 1 Duet, 5 piCorePlayers including 3 touchscreen, 1 Avy
    2 controllers, various tablets/phones
    Apps including iPeng, Squeeze Ctrl etc.
    Library: 385,000+ FLAC/MP3 files - 12 TB HD

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,002
    Presumably because there's something else hitting the disk at the same time? Anti Virus or a Windows indexer or patching or god know what windows expends all my cash on all day paying for a hot CPU and a thrashed hard drive...


    Transcoded from Matt's brain by Tapatalk
    --
    Hardware: 3x Touch, 1x Radio, 2x Receivers, 1 HP Microserver NAS with Debian+LMS 7.9.0
    Music: ~1300 CDs, as 450 GB of 16/44k FLACs. No less than 3x 24/44k albums..

  3. #3
    Senior Member DJanGo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,371
    Quote Originally Posted by jimzak View Post
    Why does it scan at different rates at different times?
    if you using some plugins like artist information and you add only tracks from already known artists - that plugin didnt need to fetch and manage artist info for these Artists anymore. If you add fresh artist - it had to and needs time.

    If you using a "dedicated" LMS Server with free ram - (like me) you could expect always nearly the same amount of time for a scan.
    If you didnt - you cant expect that.

    If you reboot your lms Server System and do a rescan - it may be faster than a rescan with some ram usage of eg. firefox or similar.

    In my long time with lms i can tell you RAM & CPU and the way your library is attached to the lms system - that matters for scantime.

    Debian Strech 81.453 Tracks from 2.549 on a I7 3.8 Ghz System with 8GB Ram needs 31 minutes.
    Debian Strech 81.453 Tracks from 2.549 on a Pentium M 1.8 Ghz System with 4 GB Ram needs 51 minutes.

  4. #4
    Senior Member iPhone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    3,212
    .
    .
    One simple word, "Windows"!

    If one is running a dedicated LMS server (as I think everybody with a decent sized library should), Linux is the only way to go.
    iPhone
    Media Room:
    ModWright Platinum Signature Transporter, VTL TL-6.5 Signature Pre-Amp, Ayre MX-R Mono's, VeraStarr 6.4SE 6-channel Amp, Vandersteen Speakers: Quatro Wood Mains, VCC-5 Reference Center, four VSM-1 Signatures, Video: Runco RS 900 CineWide AutoScope 2.35:1, Vandersteen V2W Subwoofer

    Living Room:
    Transporter, ADCOM GTP-870HD, Cinepro 3K6SE III Gold, Vandersteen Model 3A Signature, Two 2Wq subs, VCC-2, Two VSM-1

    Office: Touch with Vandersteen VSM-1s
    Kitchen: Touch in-wall mount w/ Thiel Powerpoint 1.2s
    Bedroom: Squeezebox BOOM
    Bathroom: Squeezebox Radio
    Around the House: SliMP3, SB1, SB2, SB3
    Ford Thunderbird: SB Touch, USB drive
    Ford Expedition: SB Touch, USB drive

  5. #5
    Senior Member jimzak's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Austin TX
    Posts
    640
    I know this doesn't rule out the "Windows theory" but I see a pattern.

    The first rescan of the day is fast and subsequent scans are slower.

    Just observations. I don't have a good theory to explain them.
    http://zzzone.net
    http://have-a-nice-day.org
    http://www.last.fm/user/zzzoneDOTnet
    http://somethingsomethingsomething.net

    SBS 7.9 - i7 nuc - Win 10 64bit
    5 Booms, 2 Radio, 3 Touch, 1 Duet, 5 piCorePlayers including 3 touchscreen, 1 Avy
    2 controllers, various tablets/phones
    Apps including iPeng, Squeeze Ctrl etc.
    Library: 385,000+ FLAC/MP3 files - 12 TB HD

  6. #6
    Senior Member iPhone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    3,212
    Quote Originally Posted by jimzak View Post
    I know this doesn't rule out the "Windows theory" but I see a pattern.

    The first rescan of the day is fast and subsequent scans are slower.

    Just observations. I don't have a good theory to explain them.

    OK, so we know one thing for sure, "Windows" is involved. You have listed your OS and LMS version. In another thread, you said you were using a Ram Drive for your cache. So we have that info. Can you describe your server specs, CPU type, number of cores, total RAM, hard drives, size of your swap file and how much is being used IE how much room is left/free, and lastly how much space is free/remaining on each drive?

    Next question is, does this Windows 10 machine act as a stand alone LMS only server or is it acting as a main PC for Email, Surfing, Word Processing plus being an LMS Server?

    Lastly, do you have an older 64 bit PC that could be a donor machine to become a dedicated server to try Vortexbox 2.4 on? Of course if the Windows 10 machine is a standalone LMS only server, you could backup your data files (hope they already are), buy a small SSD Hard Drive, remove the Windows OS Drive, and give Vortexbox a shot on the current machine (note: installing Vortexbox 2.4 wipes all drives during installation as it is a completely new OS).
    iPhone
    Media Room:
    ModWright Platinum Signature Transporter, VTL TL-6.5 Signature Pre-Amp, Ayre MX-R Mono's, VeraStarr 6.4SE 6-channel Amp, Vandersteen Speakers: Quatro Wood Mains, VCC-5 Reference Center, four VSM-1 Signatures, Video: Runco RS 900 CineWide AutoScope 2.35:1, Vandersteen V2W Subwoofer

    Living Room:
    Transporter, ADCOM GTP-870HD, Cinepro 3K6SE III Gold, Vandersteen Model 3A Signature, Two 2Wq subs, VCC-2, Two VSM-1

    Office: Touch with Vandersteen VSM-1s
    Kitchen: Touch in-wall mount w/ Thiel Powerpoint 1.2s
    Bedroom: Squeezebox BOOM
    Bathroom: Squeezebox Radio
    Around the House: SliMP3, SB1, SB2, SB3
    Ford Thunderbird: SB Touch, USB drive
    Ford Expedition: SB Touch, USB drive

  7. #7
    Senior Member DJanGo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,371
    Quote Originally Posted by jimzak View Post
    I know this doesn't rule out the "Windows theory" but I see a pattern.

    The first rescan of the day is fast and subsequent scans are slower.

    Just observations. I don't have a good theory to explain them.
    ?
    Quote Originally Posted by jimzak View Post
    Thanks for your reply.

    My cache is on a RAM drive because it's so large.

    I don't notice any problems with performance after a full rescan.

    ???

    [/1/2 OT]
    I my younger Days i experimented a lot (more than now).
    Even when i found LMS 7.9 is really fast i'd tried to run my cache in a RAMDisk (in my older days i just run the db in a Ramdisk)

    I didnt found any difference - except the boot and reboot needs more time to save the RAMdisk to the Harddisk by shutdown and vice verse on a startup.
    [\1/2 OT]

    • DONT use a RAMDISK in Windows - Winblows cant handle a RAMdisk
    • DONT use a RAMDISK on LMS > 7.9 - The DB is already in the RAM

  8. #8
    Senior Member jimzak's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Austin TX
    Posts
    640
    Quote Originally Posted by DJanGo View Post
    ?



    ???

    [/1/2 OT]
    I my younger Days i experimented a lot (more than now).
    Even when i found LMS 7.9 is really fast i'd tried to run my cache in a RAMDisk (in my older days i just run the db in a Ramdisk)

    I didnt found any difference - except the boot and reboot needs more time to save the RAMdisk to the Harddisk by shutdown and vice verse on a startup.
    [\1/2 OT]

    • DONT use a RAMDISK in Windows - Winblows cant handle a RAMdisk
    • DONT use a RAMDISK on LMS > 7.9 - The DB is already in the RAM
    Actually the database was unusable before I started using the RAMDISK. When I clicked New Music, I would get a several minute stall in the software. Now the New Music link works perfectly and quickly. Thanks.
    http://zzzone.net
    http://have-a-nice-day.org
    http://www.last.fm/user/zzzoneDOTnet
    http://somethingsomethingsomething.net

    SBS 7.9 - i7 nuc - Win 10 64bit
    5 Booms, 2 Radio, 3 Touch, 1 Duet, 5 piCorePlayers including 3 touchscreen, 1 Avy
    2 controllers, various tablets/phones
    Apps including iPeng, Squeeze Ctrl etc.
    Library: 385,000+ FLAC/MP3 files - 12 TB HD

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •