Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    LMS M4a Support ?

    Hey there,
    I use the SB for many ages now... due to streaming services i did Not stream too often from my own Library in the near past
    Yesterday...i was Again crawling thrue my albums
    I am actually Not able to Stream Any M4a file. In Former Versions i did Not have a Single Problem with that,

    Am i totally wrong? Or was there a change in the recent versions?

    Fans in advance

    Hans
    Version: 7.9.1-1503129892
    QNAP TurboStation TS-239PROII / 4.2.6 build 20170729
    3*SB3, firmware 137, IPENG9

  2. #2
    Senior Member Stig Nygaard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Posts
    255
    Quote Originally Posted by Adiomat View Post
    Hey there,
    I use the SB for many ages now... due to streaming services i did Not stream too often from my own Library in the near past
    Yesterday...i was Again crawling thrue my albums
    I am actually Not able to Stream Any M4a file. In Former Versions i did Not have a Single Problem with that,
    Am i totally wrong? Or was there a change in the recent versions?
    M4a plays fine for me using LMS 7.9.1 - 1503129892 @ Sat Aug 19 (LmsRepack version) on a Synology DS716+II. Tested on both SBTouch and a RPi3/Max2Play based player. I don't know if transcoding is needed for any of my devices. What player device are you using? Is it the same player device you used back when you remember it working?
    /Stig
    www.rockland.dk - www.last.fm/user/rockland - www.discogs.com/user/StigNygaard - plus.google.com/+StigNygaard
    Server: LMS 7.9.1 (LmsRepack) - 1503129892 @ Sat Aug 19 on Synology DS716+II. Clients: RPi3 (Max2Play, 7" touch, HiFiBerry Digi+ Pro), SB Touch, OrangeSqueeze/SqueezePlayer. Livingroom HiFi: Marantz PM6005 and F3/Lyd Audiovector 2.

    Try my Art Grabr for fetching big cover-art from various sites - And Album Linkr for a better last.fm desktop browser experience...

  3. #3
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vństerňs Sweden
    Posts
    16,121
    In his signature there are SB3's they need transcoding.

    M4a can be AAC or ALAC .
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Mnyb View Post
    In his signature there are SB3's they need transcoding.

    M4a can be AAC or ALAC .
    Right!
    Is it possible that transcoding was dropped in one of the recent updates?
    I checked the server preferences. There is nothing disabled.
    Any ideas?
    Hans

    Ps: and yes Qnap 239proII and 2*SB3. LMS 7.9.1
    Version: 7.9.1-1503129892
    QNAP TurboStation TS-239PROII / 4.2.6 build 20170729
    3*SB3, firmware 137, IPENG9

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    15,232
    Quote Originally Posted by Adiomat View Post
    Right!
    Is it possible that transcoding was dropped in one of the recent updates?
    I checked the server preferences. There is nothing disabled.
    Any ideas?
    Hans

    Ps: and yes Qnap 239proII and 2*SB3. LMS 7.9.1
    Transcodgin hasn't been dropped . Check WebUI Settings/Advanced/FileTypes to see of AAC and Apple Lossless and also MP4 or MPEG-4 entries.

    It is possible the transcoding executable is present doesn't run on your system.

    To see what is happening when you try to play - you can enable logging player.source to INFO.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vństerňs Sweden
    Posts
    16,121
    Quote Originally Posted by Adiomat View Post
    Right!
    Is it possible that transcoding was dropped in one of the recent updates?
    I checked the server preferences. There is nothing disabled.
    Any ideas?
    Hans

    Ps: and yes Qnap 239proII and 2*SB3. LMS 7.9.1
    No it's nit dropped . It migth not run properly on qnap for some reason .
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  7. #7

    still trouble with qnap an m4a ....

    Quote Originally Posted by Mnyb View Post
    No it's nit dropped . It migth not run properly on qnap for some reason .
    hi,
    good morning, and thanks for your effort. I found the time to look insinde the "normal" Server Logs
    found the following:
    /share/MD0_DATA/.qpkg/LogitechMediaServer/var/home/SqueezeboxServer/Bin/i386-linux/faad: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.7' not found (required by /share/MD0_DATA/.qpkg/LogitechMediaServer/var/home/SqueezeboxServer/Bin/i386-linux/faad)

    i just updated to the newest nightly release......--> no changes...same behaviour :-(

    is there somewhere a verbos-mode to see more details =?

    fanx in advance
    hans
    Version: 7.9.1-1503129892
    QNAP TurboStation TS-239PROII / 4.2.6 build 20170729
    3*SB3, firmware 137, IPENG9

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    15,232
    Quote Originally Posted by Adiomat View Post
    hi,
    good morning, and thanks for your effort. I found the time to look insinde the "normal" Server Logs
    found the following:
    /share/MD0_DATA/.qpkg/LogitechMediaServer/var/home/SqueezeboxServer/Bin/i386-linux/faad: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.7' not found (required by /share/MD0_DATA/.qpkg/LogitechMediaServer/var/home/SqueezeboxServer/Bin/i386-linux/faad)

    i just updated to the newest nightly release......--> no changes...same behaviour :-(

    is there somewhere a verbos-mode to see more details =?

    fanx in advance
    hans
    libc.so (GLIB_2.7) is a system provided library and so either an LMS update or a NAS update has broken faad - there is now a version mismatch. You need to either build a version of faad on your system or find the version of faad (and also flac) that used to work and replace the broekn ones.

    It mnay be best to ask how other users of the QNAP TurboStation TS-239PROII / LMS 7.9 got trasncoding to work.

  9. #9
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,757
    We did indeed update faad a few months ago:

    https://github.com/Logitech/slimserv...public/7.9/Bin

    From there you can grab an old copy and replace the one on your system.
    Michael

    http://www.herger.net/slim-plugins - Spotty, MusicArtistInfo

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •