Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    115

    Reducing the Sample Rates of FLAC files (DAC related question)

    Hello everyone

    First, I want to say I'm sorry if this isn't the right forum for this type of question.

    I have just bought a new DAC, a Museatec IDAT 44. I'm planning to use it to play files streamed through a Squeezebox Classic 2. But I've hit a problem.

    The DAC can deal with files ripped with a sample rate of 44.1KHz, but there's is very bad distortion if the sample rate is 48KHz. Most of my files seem to be at the smaller sample rate, but worryingly I've found quite a few at 48KHz.

    My question is, is there any way I can search my file system by the sample rate of the files? And then convert then to a lower rate?

    I'm using Windows 10.

    Howard

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,012
    Easiest is to tell LMS to resample for you on the fly. Very unusual DAC that can't do 48k these days though, even a Chromecast can do anything up to 24b/96k..


    Transcoded from Matt's brain by Tapatalk
    --
    Hardware: 3x Touch, 1x Radio, 2x Receivers, 1 HP Microserver NAS with Debian+LMS 7.9.0
    Music: ~1300 CDs, as 450 GB of 16/44k FLACs. No less than 3x 24/44k albums..

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    115
    That's fabulous if there's a simple way, but what do I do? Do I need to install a plugin or change a setting?

    The DAC is outstandingly good, that's why I'm so keen to find a way. I was really surprised at how big a difference it made.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Apesbrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,105
    Create a text file with the contents below and save it as "custom-convert.conf" (note no .TXT at end). Replace "00.00.00.00.00.00" with the MAC address of the Squeezebox connected to your new DAC; you can get this on the "Settings" > "Information" page of LMS web GUI. Put the file in the same folder on your server where "convert.conf" is located. Restart server and test one of your 48kHz files.

    Code:
    flc flc * 00.00.00.00.00.00
    	# FT:{START=--skip=%t}U:{END=--until=%v}
    	[flac] -dcs $START$ $END$ -- $FILE$ | [sox] -q -t wav - -t flac -C 0 -r 44100 -

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    115
    Thank you for these clear instructions. It has worked. I can now play 48 KHz

    However as soon as one problem gets solved another surfaces. I now find there are files which are sampled at 96 kHz and 24 bits, and they won't play!

    Is there some code for them?
    Last edited by mandryka; 2017-09-09 at 12:49.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    115
    In this discussion

    http://forums.slimdevices.com/archiv...p/t-81252.html

    I found this code

    Code:
    flc flc * 00:00:00:00:00:1f
    # FT:{START=--skip=%t}U:{END=--until=%v}
    [flac] -dcs $START$ $END$ -- $FILE$ | [sox] -q -t wav - -t flac -C 0 -b 16 -r 44.1k -
    -- before I make the change it would be nice if someone would confirm, and should I make a separate conf file?
    Last edited by mandryka; 2017-09-09 at 13:13.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Apesbrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,105
    Quote Originally Posted by mandryka View Post
    Is there some code for them?
    Should convert all FLAC sent to that Squeezebox to 16/44:
    Code:
    flc flc * 00.00.00.00.00.00
    	# FT:{START=--skip=%t}U:{END=--until=%v}
    	[flac] -dcs $START$ $END$ -- $FILE$ | [sox] -q -t wav - -t flac -C 0 -b 16 -r 44100 -
    Just edit the custom-convert.conf file you already have working to add the extra "-b 16". Remember to restart your server.

    For security sake, I'd suggest editing your post above to remove the MAC address.
    Last edited by Apesbrain; 2017-09-09 at 13:04.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    115
    Thanks so much, but as before a new problem has come up. I still can't play some files because the bit rate is 4608 kbps. The ones that play are at 1411 kbps.

    I'm keeping my fingers crossed that there's another parameter I can change!

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,012
    Do they contain more than two channels?


    Transcoded from Matt's brain by Tapatalk
    --
    Hardware: 3x Touch, 1x Radio, 2x Receivers, 1 HP Microserver NAS with Debian+LMS 7.9.0
    Music: ~1300 CDs, as 450 GB of 16/44k FLACs. No less than 3x 24/44k albums..

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    115
    Quote Originally Posted by drmatt View Post
    Do they contain more than two channels?


    Transcoded from Matt's brain by Tapatalk
    No

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •