Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member Philip Meyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,596

    LMS can't connect to internet resources

    For the last couple of days, I've had trouble with LMS not connecting to resources on the internet.

    I can't think that I've done much recently:
    I pulled latest LMS server code in the git repository (tried going back a couple of weeks as well, but no different).
    It seems LMS wants to do a scan at startup, but it doesn't complete.


    I see several things like the following (the url does return content in a web browser):
    [20:19:08.4327] Slim::Networking::SimpleAsyncHTTP:nError (229) Failed to connect to https://sourceforge.net/projects/lms...le/repo-sf.xml (404 Not Found)
    [20:19:08.4329] Slim::Plugin::Extensions::Plugin::_noResponse (404) error fetching http://sourceforge.net/projects/lms-...le/repo-sf.xml - 404 Not Found

    The LMS web UI seems to randomly report it is connecting to server and fail.


    I see in the log the following occuring every 17 seconds:
    [20:19:11.5811] main::init (387) Starting Logitech Media Server (v7.9.1, TRUNK, UNKNOWN) perl 5.014002 - MSWin32-x86-multi-thread


    I get a lot of the following warnings (hundreds a minute):

    [20:18:26.2804] Slim::Utils::Misc::msg (1250) Warning: [20:18:26.2802] Use of uninitialized value in subroutine entry at C:/Squeezebox/LMS/Beta/server/Slim/Music/VirtualLibraries.pm line 309.


    I'm at a bit of a loss. Probably firewall/router related I was guessing, but I've tried to disable the firewall, and web browers work fine.

    Any ideas?

    Is Perl 5.014002 still valid for LMS 7.9.1?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Philip Meyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,596

    LMS can't connect to internet resources

    Looks like perl is crashing because of a dodgy image I must have recently added to my library?

    Faulting application name: perl.exe, version: 5.14.2.1402, time stamp: 0x4e8f870c
    Faulting module name: Scale.dll, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x4e556b91
    Exception code: 0xc0000094
    Fault offset: 0x00049d4b
    Faulting process id: 0x2fb4
    Faulting application start time: 0x01d310847a314da5
    Faulting application path: C:\Programming\Perl-5.14.2\bin\perl.exe
    Faulting module path: C:\Squeezebox\LMS\Beta\server\CPAN\arch\5.14\MSWin 32-x86-multi-thread\auto\Image\Scale\Scale.dll
    Report Id: c14608c0-7c77-11e7-b638-902b34338174

    Would be good if it didn't crash!

    To resolve I just need to figure out what file it doesn't like?

  3. #3
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,779

    LMS can't connect to internet resources

    > Looks like perl is crashing because of a dodgy image I must have recently added to my library?

    You don't forward your LMS to the internet, do you?

    --

    Michael

  4. #4
    Senior Member Philip Meyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,596

    LMS can't connect to internet resources

    Hi Michael Herger <slim (AT) herger (DOT) net>,

    >> Looks like perl is crashing because of a dodgy image I must have recently added to my library?

    >
    >You don't forward your LMS to the internet, do you?


    I recently tried to open ports so I can access on internet.
    Is this a bad idea?

  5. #5
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vństerňs Sweden
    Posts
    16,158
    It's not good use VPN instead .

    http://forums.slimdevices.com/showth...o-the-internet!

    There is for example an image galleri plugin that can be abused .
    ( the reziser is bit sensitive it crashes quite easilly espiciallly on Windows ? )

    Check that your settings are as they should be , that LMS only scans the floders you intendent for it to Scan .
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  6. #6
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,779

    LMS can't connect to internet resources

    >>> Looks like perl is crashing because of a dodgy image I must have recently added to my library?
    >>
    >> You don't forward your LMS to the internet, do you?

    >
    > I recently tried to open ports so I can access on internet.
    > Is this a bad idea?


    You just described perfectly fine why it is a bad idea: you've had
    visitors on your system setting up a plugin which crashes your server.

    --

    Michael

  7. #7
    Senior Member Philip Meyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,596

    LMS can't connect to internet resources

    It seems unlikely, only a few days ago, and that someone would discover the port open and write a plugin to only partially muck up the server, rather than destroy everything!

    I did change my mysqueezebox email address recently, and thought problems connecting to internet could be due to that, but it's correct in lms settings now.

    Seems I have two problems:
    1) rescan failing, probably due to a dodgy image file, and the rescan keeps restarting in a constant loop, takes about 17 secs round each loop.
    2) LMS can't access repositories. Could this be due to (1) in some way, with the scanner kicking off frequently?

    What logging can I include to work out the dodgy image file that is crashing the scanner?

  8. #8
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,779

    LMS can't connect to internet resources

    > It seems unlikely, only a few days ago, and that someone would discover the port open and write a plugin to only partially muck up the server, rather than destroy everything!

    Unlikely, that's what we lived with for years. But it's happening. Now.
    Really. Just close that port again and uninstall the Picture Gallery plugin.

    Did you even read that thread linked in a previous posting? That's not
    made up, that's for real.

    --

    Michael

  9. #9
    Senior Member Philip Meyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,596

    LMS can't connect to internet resources

    Disabled port forwarding, removed a folder configured within Picture Gallery plugin (never used).

    Seems scale.dll is not crashing, scanner is not constantly restarting. First attempt at a full rescan aborted straight away, but second one completed.

    However, the log is still full with connection failures, in particular after just a minute or so of connection attempts every couple of seconds to www.mysqueezebox.com, the timeout has increased somewhat:

    [11:32:14.1719] Slim::Networking::SqueezeNetwork::Players::_player s_error (368) Unable to get players from SN: 503 Service Temporarily Unavailable, retrying in 777600 seconds
    [11:32:16.1812] Slim::Networking::SqueezeNetwork::Players::_player s_error (368) Unable to get players from SN: 503 Service Temporarily Unavailable, retrying in 864000 seconds

  10. #10
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,779

    LMS can't connect to internet resources

    > Disabled port forwarding, removed a folder configured within Picture Gallery plugin (never used).

    You didn't, but your visitor did.

    > [11:32:14.1719] Slim::Networking::SqueezeNetwork::Players::_player s_error (368) Unable to get players from SN: 503 Service Temporarily Unavailable, retrying in 777600 seconds


    That would happen if your server started hammering mysb.com. Remove
    mysb.com credentials, restart, wait for an hour or two, then add them
    back again.

    --

    Michael

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •