Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    327

    Problems with GUI for Linux LMS after latest Windows 10 update

    After succumbing to Microsoft's urging to let it update my Windows 10 software yesterday, I find that I am unable to access my LMS settings (including rescan) through the GUI linked to the Linux copy of LMS running on my Synology NAS - the basic settings page displays without any of the page tabs at the top & moreover it's completely disabled. The main LMS GUI which enables selection of albums, titles, search functions & the creation of playlists is still operating for my existing music database.

    I'm somewhat at a loss & might be incorrect in suspecting the Windows 10 revisions as the reason for this loss of functionality, although nothing else has been changed in my system. So I'm wondering if anyone else has experienced the same issue (& even found a solution to it already)? Being essentially lazy, I'm using the version 7.7.6-113 of LMS that Synology offer as a direct application download rather than the more recent versions that I'm aware exist for Linux & which I could be using instead if I went to the effort of loading one onto my NAS. Would such a later version of LMS be unaffected by the Windows update & therefore justify me going to the bother of implementing it?

    I do not think that any of the detailed LMS settings have changed (although I can no longer see them!) because my system is still working. I could carry out a rescan via my transporter if necessary but obviously there are settings that cannot be accessed this way.

    I shouldn't be surprised if Microsoft were to issue a plethora of bug-fixes to the update over the next few days: it wouldn't be the 1st time. So I'm keeping calm & carrying on in the British way, it may yet "all come out in the wash" as we say...

    In the meantime, any observations will be most welcome.

    Dave
    Last edited by Golden Earring; 2017-06-03 at 03:06. Reason: edit LMS version number in use

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Watford, UK
    Posts
    1,842
    Before you go doing anything drastic like changing your LMS...

    A Win 10 update could easily have amended the Microsoft browser, so the obvious thing to try first is to install a different browser such as Firefox or Chrome and see whether the LMS web interace works on that.
    Transporter -> ATC SCM100A

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    327

    Browser changes

    Quote Originally Posted by cliveb View Post
    Before you go doing anything drastic like changing your LMS...

    A Win 10 update could easily have amended the Microsoft browser, so the obvious thing to try first is to install a different browser such as Firefox or Chrome and see whether the LMS web interace works on that.
    Morning Clive!

    Roger that.

    Given that we're set for rain on Monday, I'll give it a go then...

    Thanks.

    Dave

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
    Posts
    769
    Quote Originally Posted by Golden Earring View Post
    After succumbing to Microsoft's urging to let it update my Windows 10 software yesterday, I find that I am unable to access my LMS settings (including rescan) through the GUI linked to the Linux copy of LMS running on my Synology NAS - the basic settings page displays without any of the page tabs at the top & moreover it's completely disabled. The main LMS GUI which enables selection of albums, titles, search functions & the creation of playlists is still operating for my existing music database.

    I'm somewhat at a loss & might be incorrect in suspecting the Windows 10 revisions as the reason for this loss of functionality, although nothing else has been changed in my system. So I'm wondering if anyone else has experienced the same issue (& even found a solution to it already)? Being essentially lazy, I'm using the version 7.7.6-113 of LMS that Synology offer as a direct application download rather than the more recent versions that I'm aware exist for Linux & which I could be using instead if I went to the effort of loading one onto my NAS. Would such a later version of LMS be unaffected by the Windows update & therefore justify me going to the bother of implementing it?

    I do not think that any of the detailed LMS settings have changed (although I can no longer see them!) because my system is still working. I could carry out a rescan via my transporter if necessary but obviously there are settings that cannot be accessed this way.

    I shouldn't be surprised if Microsoft were to issue a plethora of bug-fixes to the update over the next few days: it wouldn't be the 1st time. So I'm keeping calm & carrying on in the British way, it may yet "all come out in the wash" as we say...

    In the meantime, any observations will be most welcome.

    Dave
    If a system update breaks something, the usual first attempt at fixing it involves uninstalling it, rebooting, and reinstalling it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    327

    Windows 10 update

    Quote Originally Posted by arnyk View Post
    If a system update breaks something, the usual first attempt at fixing it involves uninstalling it, rebooting, and reinstalling it.
    Morning Arny!

    Do you use Windows 10 yourself?

    This was a big update that in itself involved several system restarts - I suspect that if I uninstalled, rebooted & re-installed I'd just end up in the same boat...

    Dave

    P.S. Just for a laff, I did try turning everything off, waiting a couple of minutes & then turning it all back on again
    Last edited by Golden Earring; 2017-06-03 at 05:26. Reason: postscript

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
    Posts
    769
    Quote Originally Posted by Golden Earring View Post
    Morning Arny!

    Do you use Windows 10 yourself?
    I have two machines that run 10, and others that run 7 and XP. Then there are the client machines that I repair... I've built over 2,000 new machines in my life.

    This was a big update that in itself involved several system restarts - I suspect that if I uninstalled, rebooted & re-installed I'd just end up in the same boat...
    Don't bet on it.

    I was specifically thinking of doing the uninstall/reinstall cycle for the LMS software, but I've improved systems by backing out an OS update or even an upgrade, and just running it through the process again. This is not necessarily the stupidity of doing the identical same thing and expecting a different result, as it is rare for an install/uninstall or uninstall/reinstall cycle to have the same identical results the first or second time. After the first two cycles, the results will converge to the same thing so if you still have the problem after that, move on to another solution.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    327

    LMS/Windows 10 update re-installs

    Quote Originally Posted by arnyk View Post
    Don't bet on it.

    I was specifically thinking of doing the uninstall/reinstall cycle for the LMS software, but I've improved systems by backing out an OS update or even an upgrade, and just running it through the process again. This is not necessarily the stupidity of doing the identical same thing and expecting a different result, as it is rare for an install/uninstall or uninstall/reinstall cycle to have the same identical results the first or second time. After the first two cycles, the results will converge to the same thing so if you still have the problem after that, move on to another solution.
    Hi Arny!

    I've got your drift - this looks like another rainy Monday exercise. I'll try it before switching browsers as per Clive's suggestion.

    I presume it's worth trying the LMS uninstall/reinstall first before the Windows 10 update uninstall/reinstall, even though it will obviously involve a full re-index of my 6,500+ albums? That takes me about 3 hours under LMS version 7.7.6 running on a 256GB SSD drive in my NAS - the music files are on 3 x 4TB Western Digital Red HD's running in RAID 0 for maximum read performance although you still have latency with non-SSD drives (don't worry, I have separate multiple backups of the music on USB Seagate 4TB HD's, although these take 24 hours to re-load, so fingers crossed on the RAID 0 array not falling over!). I'm sure that the indexing would be quicker if I installed Michael's latest LMS version but since I usually sleep more than 3 hours it's not really a bottleneck normally. I have some soldering to get on with anyway!

    Thanks for your insight.

    Dave

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Watford, UK
    Posts
    1,842
    Quote Originally Posted by Golden Earring View Post
    I've got your drift - this looks like another rainy Monday exercise. I'll try it before switching browsers as per Clive's suggestion.
    With respect, this doesn't make sense.

    1. You've changed nothing in LMS, and hence its web server will be delivering the same HTML to the client.
    2. You've updated your client PC, which almost certainly included a change to the client browser (assuming you're using the Microsoft browser).
    3. The logical conclusion is that it's the browser update that is responsible for the change in behaviour, and trying a different browser is the simplest way to confirm this.

    Uninstalling and reinstalling LMS on a NAS is going to be a heck of a lot more work than just trying a different browser, especially since logic suggests that there's unlikely to be anything wrong with LMS.

    I strongly urge you to try the alternative browser option first.
    Transporter -> ATC SCM100A

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    327

    Problem solving

    Quote Originally Posted by cliveb View Post
    With respect, this doesn't make sense.

    1. You've changed nothing in LMS, and hence its web server will be delivering the same HTML to the client.
    2. You've updated your client PC, which almost certainly included a change to the client browser (assuming you're using the Microsoft browser).
    3. The logical conclusion is that it's the browser update that is responsible for the change in behaviour, and trying a different browser is the simplest way to confirm this.

    Uninstalling and reinstalling LMS on a NAS is going to be a heck of a lot more work than just trying a different browser, especially since logic suggests that there's unlikely to be anything wrong with LMS.

    I strongly urge you to try the alternative browser option first.
    Hi Clive!

    While I've been grovelling about under the back of my aging sports car applying rust converter, which is a satisfying if slightly messy task but certainly one that doesn't require much in the way of cerebral input, I've been coming to the same conclusion as you: after all, Windows is just looking through a port at my Linux server, and moreover the main GUI page is working without any apparent problems, but when the secondary settings page is summoned it is not loading correctly.

    This is the reason why at age 62 I do not dive into trying to solve a problem before I think I've got at least some idea what the problem actually is - hence my earlier declared intention to defer trying to solve it until Monday.

    My only concern about your suggestion is that at no stage during the update was I asked to consent to a browser change & moreover my real-time anti-malware software is under orders to block such a change & alert me. So actually I'm still thinking about it...

    Perhaps Microsoft will issue some more mini-updates in the next 48 hours & the problem will solve itself although I'm not holding my breath .

    Dave

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Seattle, WA USA
    Posts
    787
    Quote Originally Posted by Golden Earring View Post
    After succumbing to Microsoft's urging to let it update my Windows 10 software yesterday, I find that I am unable to access my LMS settings (including rescan) through the GUI linked to the Linux copy of LMS running on my Synology NAS - the basic settings page displays without any of the page tabs at the top & moreover it's completely disabled. The main LMS GUI which enables selection of albums, titles, search functions & the creation of playlists is still operating for my existing music database.

    I'm somewhat at a loss & might be incorrect in suspecting the Windows 10 revisions as the reason for this loss of functionality, although nothing else has been changed in my system. So I'm wondering if anyone else has experienced the same issue (& even found a solution to it already)? Being essentially lazy, I'm using the version 7.7.6-113 of LMS that Synology offer as a direct application download rather than the more recent versions that I'm aware exist for Linux & which I could be using instead if I went to the effort of loading one onto my NAS. Would such a later version of LMS be unaffected by the Windows update & therefore justify me going to the bother of implementing it?

    I do not think that any of the detailed LMS settings have changed (although I can no longer see them!) because my system is still working. I could carry out a rescan via my transporter if necessary but obviously there are settings that cannot be accessed this way.

    I shouldn't be surprised if Microsoft were to issue a plethora of bug-fixes to the update over the next few days: it wouldn't be the 1st time. So I'm keeping calm & carrying on in the British way, it may yet "all come out in the wash" as we say...

    In the meantime, any observations will be most welcome.

    Dave
    G.E.....the "quick and dirty" workaround is to mouse over to the "settings and more" function of the Win10/Edge browser (the three little dots in the upper right corner) and use the "open with internet explorer" function. Once the page is opened with that older browser, then everything on the LMS pages will work fine. The permanent solution is to upgrade your LMS to 7.9.1 in which, according to Michael H., the problem with Edge/Win10 browser functionality with LMS has been solved.

    Cheers,

    rgro
    Rg

    System information
    ------------------------
    Main: Vortexbox/Squeezelite > USB> Benchmark DAC2 D > LFD LE IV Signature amp > Revel Performa F208 speakers.

    Home Theatre: Touch (Wired) > Pioneer VSX 919 > Energy Take 5 Classic 5.1, Touch FW 7.8.0-r16754.

    LMS 7.9.0 - 0.71.20150313git1426153261 on a 1TB Micro Vortexbox Appliance, V 2.3.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •