Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    26

    picoreplayer 3.11 +waveshare 3.5 TFT + jivelite + Raspberry Pi 2B+

    I am so close to getting this fully working. I have created a TFT.tcz and modified the jivelite.tcz to use a custom 480x320 screen.

    In large part, I have used the guidance posted on the fbtft post in the tiny core forum.

    BUT I am failing at the last hurdle. In Jan Grulich's post half way down page 4 he suggests that

    Code:
    sudo SDL_VIDEODRIVER=fbcon SDL_FBDEV=/dev/fb1 /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite &
    will redirect the jivelite output to the screen - which indeed it does.

    Where I am failing is in trying to make it persistent. In short I can find no way to change the loaded jivelite.sh
    Code:
    /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite.sh
    while modifying this in the source merely generates an additional opt_1 folder, but seems to have no other effect.http://forums.slimdevices.com/images...s/confused.png

    Can anyone help, pretty please ...

    NWJ

    P.S. I will happily write this up and share it once it's all working.

  2. #2
    Quote Originally Posted by nowhinjing View Post
    I am so close to getting this fully working. I have created a TFT.tcz and modified the jivelite.tcz to use a custom 480x320 screen.

    In large part, I have used the guidance posted on the fbtft post in the tiny core forum.

    BUT I am failing at the last hurdle. In Jan Grulich's post half way down page 4 he suggests that

    Code:
    sudo SDL_VIDEODRIVER=fbcon SDL_FBDEV=/dev/fb1 /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite &
    will redirect the jivelite output to the screen - which indeed it does.

    Where I am failing is in trying to make it persistent. In short I can find no way to change the loaded jivelite.sh
    Code:
    /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite.sh
    while modifying this in the source merely generates an additional opt_1 folder, but seems to have no other effect.http://forums.slimdevices.com/images...s/confused.png

    Can anyone help, pretty please ...

    NWJ

    P.S. I will happily write this up and share it once it's all working.
    I have not edited the jivelite.sh on the raspberry pi. I unsquashed the jivelite.tcz in a virtual linux machine and edited the jivelite.sh like you said above. Then I run squashFS to get the modified jivelite.tcz an copied it back to the Pi.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    26

    Hum, strange !

    @piplayer, thanks for taking the time to reply.

    I have done exactly what you specified, unsquash - modify the source jivelite.sh, resquash and copy the resulting jivelite.tcz to the picoreplayer.

    Unfortunately with the same result, jivelite does not start. When I winSCP into the modified picoreplayer I see TWO opt folders, opt and opt_1. opt contains the original unchanged jivelite.sh and opt_1 the modified version.

    So I'm still confused. Would you be kind enough to post the contends of your modified jivelite.sh just in case I'm doing something wrong ...

    Thanks again,

    NWJ

  4. #4
    Senior Member ralphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,707
    Put your modified copy of jivelite.sh in /mnt/mmcblk0p2/tce

    Modify /home/tc/www/cgi-bin/do_rebootstuff.sh
    Code:
    --- /home/tc/www/cgi-bin/do_rebootstuff.sh.orig
    +++ /home/tc/www/cgi-bin/do_rebootstuff.sh
    @@ -679,7 +679,7 @@
            export HOME=/home/tc
            if [ -x /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite.sh ]; then
                    echo "${GREEN}Done.${NORMAL}"
    -               sudo -E -b /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite.sh >/dev/null 2>&1
    +               sudo -E -b /mnt/mmcblk0p2/tce/jivelite.sh >/dev/null 2>&1
            else
                    echo "${RED}There is a problem with the Jivelite installation. Please remove and reinstall jivelite.${NORMAL}"
            fi
    Backup the config to save the change to do_rebootstuff.sh
    Ralphy

    1-Touch, 5-Classics, 3-Booms, 1-UE Radio
    Squeezebox client builds donations always appreciated.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by nowhinjing View Post
    @piplayer, thanks for taking the time to reply.

    I have done exactly what you specified, unsquash - modify the source jivelite.sh, resquash and copy the resulting jivelite.tcz to the picoreplayer.

    Unfortunately with the same result, jivelite does not start. When I winSCP into the modified picoreplayer I see TWO opt folders, opt and opt_1. opt contains the original unchanged jivelite.sh and opt_1 the modified version.

    So I'm still confused. Would you be kind enough to post the contends of your modified jivelite.sh just in case I'm doing something wrong ...

    Thanks again,

    NWJ
    For me it sounds like there ist an failure in the filestrukture of the modified jivelite.tcz. Maybe there is a folder named /opt_1 instead of /opt or the folder /opt exists twice or something. Did the original jivelite.tcz properly working? Then I would check if the folderstrukture of your jivelite.tcz is 100% similar to the original one.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by nowhinjing View Post
    P.S. I will happily write this up and share it once it's all working.
    that would be nice, i have also one of these displays...

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    26

    Sorry, Ralphy - still not working

    @Ralphy, thanks for spending your valuable time on this - I know I must be thick but at nearly 70 the old brain doesn't work as well as it did.

    On the TFT I get
    Code:
    Starting Jivelite ... Done.
    but no jivelite display.

    /home/tc/www/cgi-bin/do_rebootstuff.sh - Jivelite section reads
    Code:
    if [ "$JIVELITE" = "yes" ]; then
    	echo -n "${BLUE}Starting Jivelite... ${NORMAL}"
    #	eventno=$( cat /proc/bus/input/devices | awk '/FT5406 memory based driver/{for(a=0;a>=0;a++){getline;{if(/mouse/==1){ print $NF;exit 0;}}}}')
    #	if [ x"" != x"$eventno" ];then
    		export JIVE_NOCURSOR=1
    #		export TSLIB_TSDEVICE=/dev/input/$eventno
    		export SDL_MOUSEDRV=TSLIB
    		export SDL_MOUSEDEV=$TSLIB_TSDEVICE
    #	fi
            export HOME=/home/tc
             if [ -x /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite.sh ]; then
                    echo "${GREEN}Done.${NORMAL}"
                    sudo -E -b /mnt/mmcblk0p2/tce/jivelite.sh >/dev/null 2>&1
            else
                    echo "${RED}There is a problem with the Jivelite installation. Please remove and reinstall jivelite.${NORMAL}"
            fi
    fi
    /mnt/mmcblk0p2/tce/jivelite.sh reads
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    if [ ! -z ${SDL_TOUCHSCREEN} ]; then
        export JIVE_NOCURSOR=1
    fi
    
    export HOME=/home/tc
    export JIVE_FRAMERATE=22
    
    SDL_VIDEODRIVER=fbcon SDL_FBDEV=/dev/fb1 /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite &
    
    /usr/sbin/fbset -depth 32
    
    while true; do
        sleep 3
        /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite > /dev/null 2>&1
    done
    running the command below through putty gives the desired result ..
    Code:
    sudo SDL_VIDEODRIVER=fbcon SDL_FBDEV=/dev/fb1 /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite &
    Any light you can shed would be most gratefully received....

    NWJ
    Last edited by nowhinjing; 2017-05-07 at 02:07. Reason: added putty result

  8. #8
    Hello NWJ,

    my well working jivelite.sh looks like this:
    #!/bin/sh

    lms=192.168.3.4

    while ! ping -c1 $lms >/dev/null 2>&1
    do
    sleep 2

    done

    if [ ! -z ${SDL_TOUCHSCREEN} ]; then
    export JIVE_NOCURSOR=1
    fi

    export HOME=/home/tc
    export JIVE_FRAMERATE=22

    /usr/sbin/fbset -depth 32

    while true; do
    sleep 3
    SDL_FBDEV=/dev/fb1 SDL_MOUSEDRV=TSLIB SDL_MOUSEDEV=/dev/input/event0 /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite > /dev/null 2>&1
    done
    There is something different to yours. Please try my version.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    26

    Still no luck..

    @PiPlayer - thanks for your reply.

    I guess from your setup you are not on a Raspberry Pi as the locations you specify look nothing like mine ..

    However I modified your script to fit my location, but with no good result.

    I guess I will need to crave Ralph's indulgence to get this fixed.

    I still owe you many thanks for your attempt to help - as my old granny used to say "an ounce (gramme) of help is worth a pound (kilo) of pity".

    NWJ

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by nowhinjing View Post
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    if [ ! -z ${SDL_TOUCHSCREEN} ]; then
        export JIVE_NOCURSOR=1
    fi
    
    export HOME=/home/tc
    export JIVE_FRAMERATE=22
    
    SDL_VIDEODRIVER=fbcon SDL_FBDEV=/dev/fb1 /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite &
    
    /usr/sbin/fbset -depth 32
    
    while true; do
        sleep 3
        /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite > /dev/null 2>&1
    done
    Hello NWJ,

    my script works well on a Raspberry Pi 2 and on a Raspberry Pi A+. Here you can see one of my Players with a
    4 inch Waveshare display: Link
    The ping command on top of my script is too check if LMS is available. The next lines are similar to your script.
    The red marked line in your script ist IMO on the wrong place. With this line you start Jivelite with the SDL driver and later you start jivelite again with HDMI output. Maybe this is the reason why you have two /opt folders.

    Pleace try this:
    (Pay attention to the blank spaces)
    #!/bin/sh
    if [ ! -z ${SDL_TOUCHSCREEN} ]; then
    export JIVE_NOCURSOR=1
    fi

    export HOME=/home/tc
    export JIVE_FRAMERATE=22

    /usr/sbin/fbset -depth 32

    while true; do
    sleep 3
    SDL_VIDEODRIVER=fbcon SDL_FBDEV=/dev/fb1 /opt/jivelite/bin/jivelite > /dev/null 2>&1
    done
    Last edited by piPlayer; 2017-05-08 at 06:37.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •