Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 37
  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    It's the last menu item:

    Attachment 23651
    Ahh, thats in the myapps bit. Yes, I have never set it to MP3 only, but I have selected the FLAC/MP3 option to make sure that it was set that way, assuming that would be the only way to ensure I got FLAC.
    Hopefully that makes sense.

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    It's the last menu item:

    Attachment 23651
    I have been looking into this issue for a customer who uses an Antipodes Audio server running LMS 7.9.1 on Linux Fedora 24. The Tidal plugin on my Antipodes server played Tidal HiFi tracks as expected, showing as '1414kbps VBR, flc'. However I then clicked the 'My Apps/Tidal/Streaming Quality/MP3' option (as opposed to 'FLAC or MP3'). At that point Tidal FLAC tracks started to show as '256k CBR, MP3'.

    Now I cannot get back to FLAC! Clicking on the 'FLAC or MP3' option makes no difference,

    I have hunted around inside the server, in logs and config files, for a Setting flag for the 'Streaming Quality' property but without success. I have also run some logging options but none of those that I have selected give any useful information about why Tidal HiFi is now being streamed as MP3.

    I'm happy to carry out any tests you could suggest.

  3. #13
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,803

    TIDAL connection thru LMS onlystreams at MP3 quality

    > I have been looking into this issue for a customer who uses an Antipodes
    > Audio server running LMS 7.9.1 on Linux Fedora 24. The Tidal plugin on
    > my Antipodes server played Tidal HiFi tracks as expected, showing as
    > '1414kbps VBR, flc'. However I then clicked the 'My Apps/Tidal/Streaming
    > Quality/MP3' option (as opposed to 'FLAC or MP3'). At that point Tidal
    > FLAC tracks started to show as '256k CBR, MP3'.
    >
    > Now I cannot get back to FLAC! Clicking on the 'FLAC or MP3' option
    > makes no difference,


    Is this still an issue? There could be some caching be involved,
    delaying the change by a few minutes. But that should be ok now.

    --

    Michael

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > I have been looking into this issue for a customer who uses an Antipodes
    > Audio server running LMS 7.9.1 on Linux Fedora 24. The Tidal plugin on
    > my Antipodes server played Tidal HiFi tracks as expected, showing as
    > '1414kbps VBR, flc'. However I then clicked the 'My Apps/Tidal/Streaming
    > Quality/MP3' option (as opposed to 'FLAC or MP3'). At that point Tidal
    > FLAC tracks started to show as '256k CBR, MP3'.
    >
    > Now I cannot get back to FLAC! Clicking on the 'FLAC or MP3' option
    > makes no difference,


    Is this still an issue? There could be some caching be involved,
    delaying the change by a few minutes. But that should be ok now.

    --

    Michael
    Yes, this problem is persistent. Very odd. I have uninstalled/resinstalled LMS.7.9.1 (using a supplied app so am not sure if all config files are deleted), changed the msb login in LMS, and tested various LMS logging options while tailing the server log (but there are very few WiMP references in the log), but no clues so far. I have the Tidal plugin logging option set to 'Debug' but selecting Tidal albums, changing tracks etc does not generate any log entry. I have been unable to find out where the setting is stored that tells the Tidal plugin to stream MP3.

    Here is the only wimp reference I see in the server log"

    [17-09-19 09:22:28.4523] Slim::Control::Request::dump (2375) Result: [player_connected] = [1]
    [17-09-19 09:22:28.4529] Slim::Control::Request::dump (2375) Result: [seq_no] = [0]
    [17-09-19 09:22:28.4536] Slim::Control::Request::dump (2375) Result: [can_seek] = [1]
    [17-09-19 09:22:28.4542] Slim::Control::Request::dump (2352) Result: [playlist_loop] is loop with 1 elements:
    [17-09-19 09:22:28.4548] Slim::Control::Request::dump (2362) Result: 0. [id] = [-178479096]
    [17-09-19 09:22:28.4554] Slim::Control::Request::dump (2362) Result: 0. [playlist index] = [0]
    [17-09-19 09:22:28.4560] Slim::Control::Request::dump (2362) Result: 0. [url] = [wimp://76704225.mp3]
    [17-09-19 09:22:28.4566] Slim::Control::Request::dump (2362) Result: 0. [title] = [Iĺm A Steady Rollinĺ Man]
    [17-09-19 09:22:28.4572] Slim::Control::Request::dump (2375) Result: [rate] = [1]
    [17-09-19 09:22:28.4578] Slim::Control::Request::dump (2375) Result: [playlist_timestamp] = [1505769684.09326]
    [17-09-19 09:22:28.4585] Slim::Control::Request::dump (2375) Result: [playlist_cur_index] = [0]
    [17-09-19 09:22:28.4590] Slim::Control::Request::dump (2375) Result: [time] = [55.6258088665009]
    [17-09-19 09:22:28.4597] Slim::Control::Request::dump (2375) Result: [playlist_tracks] = [1]
    [17-09-19 09:22:28.4603] Slim::Control::Request::dump (2375) Result: [mixer volume] = [50]
    [17-09-19 09:22:28.4609] Slim::Control::Request::dump (2375) Result: [signalstrength] = [0]
    [17-09-19 09:22:28.4615] Slim::Control::Request::dump (2375) Result: [player_ip] = [127.0.0.1:40802]
    [17-09-19 09:22:28.4621] Slim::Control::Request::dump (2375) Result: [playlist mode] = [off]
    [17-09-19 09:22:28.4627] Slim::Control::Request::dump (2375) Result: [power] = [1]
    [17-09-19 09:22:28.4633] Slim::Control::Request::dump (2375) Result: [playlist repeat] = [0]

  5. #15
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,803
    Quote Originally Posted by tonyd View Post
    Yes, this problem is persistent. Very odd. I have uninstalled/resinstalled LMS.7.9.1 (using a supplied app so am not sure if all config files are deleted), changed the msb login in LMS, and tested various LMS logging options while tailing the server log (but there are very few WiMP references in the log), but no clues so far. I have the Tidal plugin logging option set to 'Debug' but selecting Tidal albums, changing tracks etc does not generate any log entry. I have been unable to find out where the setting is stored that tells the Tidal plugin to stream MP3.
    The format choosing logic is implemented on mysb.com. When you request an item with playable tracks it would look up your preference and your account information to see whether you were allowed/wanting to play losslessly. Then the track would be sent back with the .flac extension, telling LMS this was lossless, rather than lossy. Maybe you can PM me your mysb.com and TIDAL account names, and I can investigate further?

    Just one more thing: you don't try to play a playlist you've stored locally in your LMS? That would have been stored with whatever extension was correct at the time, eg. .mp3. And it would stay that way. Please only test with content coming from the servers directly (albums, playlists provided by the service etc.)
    Michael

    http://www.herger.net/slim-plugins - Spotty, MusicArtistInfo

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    The format choosing logic is implemented on mysb.com. When you request an item with playable tracks it would look up your preference and your account information to see whether you were allowed/wanting to play losslessly. Then the track would be sent back with the .flac extension, telling LMS this was lossless, rather than lossy. Maybe you can PM me your mysb.com and TIDAL account names, and I can investigate further?

    Just one more thing: you don't try to play a playlist you've stored locally in your LMS? That would have been stored with whatever extension was correct at the time, eg. .mp3. And it would stay that way. Please only test with content coming from the servers directly (albums, playlists provided by the service etc.)
    Thanks, PM sent.

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    19
    I am just confirming that I also still have exactly the same issue, all Tidal music for my HIFI subscription playing as MP3!

  8. #18
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,803

    TIDAL connection thru LMS onlystreams at MP3 quality

    > Thanks, PM sent.
    Thanks, saw it. You sent more information than I would have needed :-).
    I'll try to look into this issue asap.

    --

    Michael

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    10
    No problem, I trust you .

  10. #20
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,803
    Sailorboy, tonyd,

    can you tell me what you're running your LMS on? How did you upgrade? What version?

    You're not the same person, are you? There's an interesting level of similarities to your profiles...
    Michael

    http://www.herger.net/slim-plugins - Spotty, MusicArtistInfo

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •