Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 3 of 16 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 154
  1. #21
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by paul- View Post
    The Allo boss was heavily tested. I'm running it right now. No issues. What else is in your setup? Which kernel, what type of audio files?
    Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.0 - 1488878280 @ Wed Mar 8 14:37:44 CUT 2017
    Hostname: SERVERBIFF
    Server IP Address: 192.168.70.7
    Server HTTP Port Number: 9000
    Operating system: Windows 2012 Server - EN - cp1252
    Platform Architecture: 8664
    Perl Version: 5.14.1 - MSWin32-x86-multi-thread
    Audio::Scan: 0.95
    Database Version: DBD::SQLite 1.34_01 (sqlite 3.7.7.1)
    Total Players Recognized: 2

    Player Model: SqueezeLite
    Player Type: squeezelite
    Firmware: v1.8.6-945
    Player IP Address: 192.168.70.74
    Player MAC Address: b8:27:eb:1e:a8:eb

    Running latest versions that I am aware of...it is definitely only happening when switching sample rates; file type does not matter (WAV, FLAC, AIFF tested). No issue switching tracks with same sample rate but different files types. This was not an issue with the 3.10 release with KALI / Piano DAC combo therefore I am suspecting it is related to the BOSS card / driver.
    Any settings related to output muting on sample rate changes?

  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by bb3ii View Post
    Logitech Media Server Version: 7.9.0 - 1488878280 @ Wed Mar 8 14:37:44 CUT 2017
    Hostname: SERVERBIFF
    Server IP Address: 192.168.70.7
    Server HTTP Port Number: 9000
    Operating system: Windows 2012 Server - EN - cp1252
    Platform Architecture: 8664
    Perl Version: 5.14.1 - MSWin32-x86-multi-thread
    Audio::Scan: 0.95
    Database Version: DBD::SQLite 1.34_01 (sqlite 3.7.7.1)
    Total Players Recognized: 2

    Player Model: SqueezeLite
    Player Type: squeezelite
    Firmware: v1.8.6-945
    Player IP Address: 192.168.70.74
    Player MAC Address: b8:27:eb:1e:a8:eb

    Running latest versions that I am aware of...it is definitely only happening when switching sample rates; file type does not matter (WAV, FLAC, AIFF tested). No issue switching tracks with same sample rate but different files types. This was not an issue with the 3.10 release with KALI / Piano DAC combo therefore I am suspecting it is related to the BOSS card / driver.
    Any settings related to output muting on sample rate changes?
    I also get a click when switching sample rates, but only going back in sample rate from 88/96/192 to 44 khz. (From 192 to 96 there is no click). It is not very loud, nothing serious imo, but it is there. I have a RPI 2/Boss/3.20 Audio combination.

    Thanks for this very good musicplayer! I tried all of them but Picoreplayer is my favorite.

  3. #23
    Senior Member ralphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,778
    Quote Originally Posted by bb3ii View Post
    Running latest versions that I am aware of...it is definitely only happening when switching sample rates; file type does not matter (WAV, FLAC, AIFF tested). No issue switching tracks with same sample rate but different files types. This was not an issue with the 3.10 release with KALI / Piano DAC combo therefore I am suspecting it is related to the BOSS card / driver.
    Any settings related to output muting on sample rate changes?
    Quote Originally Posted by DJDR View Post
    I also get a click when switching sample rates, but only going back in sample rate from 88/96/192 to 44 khz. (From 192 to 96 there is no click). It is not very loud, nothing serious imo, but it is there. I have a RPI 2/Boss/3.20 Audio combination.

    Thanks for this very good musicplayer! I tried all of them but Picoreplayer is my favorite.
    In the webgui squeezelite settings, could you both try setting the "undocumented" 5th ALSA settings parameter to 1 to force squeezelite to reopen alsa on sample rate change. Save and restart squeezelite.

    Name:  undoc.jpg
Views: 594
Size:  36.4 KB
    Ralphy

    1-Touch, 5-Classics, 3-Booms, 1-UE Radio
    Squeezebox client builds donations always appreciated.

  4. #24
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    855
    Allo is aware of the clicking issue, and verified it is a DAC and Driver problem. They are working out a correction.

    Yes we are aware of clicks noise when changing tracks . Seems to come courtesy of TI that removed the "click/pop " reference from pcm51xx datasheet about a year ago.Our IC batch is new and so it seems there is no antipop on the IC. Some ICs have louder clicks than others..
    In any case we have modified (again) the driver and increase some muting..it works well.

  5. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by nowhinjing View Post
    Hi,

    this new release seems to break my RaLink Wi-Fi USB. Looking at the diagnostics all the right drivers are loaded and the USB key is recognised - it just will not connect.

    I have gone back to 3.11 - this works.

    keep up the good work - and thank-you all.

    best regards,

    Richard
    Same for me. Both normal beta and beta "audio".
    Going back to 3.11 "audio". Works like a charm.

    Diagnostics:
    Generated by diag_wifi.cgi on Thu Jan 1 01:09:28 CET 1970
    _ _____ ___ __
    ___ (_) ___/__ _______ / _ \/ /__ ___ _____ ____
    / _ \/ / /__/ _ \/ __/ -_) ___/ / _ `/ // / -_) __/
    / .__/_/\___/\___/_/ \__/_/ /_/\_,_/\_, /\__/_/
    /_/ /___/

    piCorePlayer = piCore + Squeezelite + Raspberry Pi

    The software is provided "as is" without warranty of any kind,
    either express or implied, including without limitation any implied
    warranties of condition, uninterrupted use, merchantability,
    fitness for a particular purpose, or non-infringement.

    ================================================== =======================================
    Wifi: on
    SSID: *****
    Password: *********
    Security: WPA
    MAC address: 00:e1:b0:10:6b:f1
    Uptime: 0 days 0 hours 9 minutes 29 seconds
    ================================================== =======================================

    dmesg
    ================================================== =======================================
    [ 2.570104] usb 1-1.5: New USB device found, idVendor=148f, idProduct=7601
    [ 2.570120] usb 1-1.5: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
    [ 2.570133] usb 1-1.5: Product: 802.11 n WLAN
    [ 2.570144] usb 1-1.5: Manufacturer: MediaTek
    [ 2.570156] usb 1-1.5: SerialNumber: 1.0
    .

    lsmod
    ================================================== =======================================
    Module Size Used by Not tainted
    mt7601u 90060 0
    mac80211 674442 1 mt7601u
    cfg80211 526650 2 mt7601u,mac80211
    rfkill 20571 1 cfg80211
    fixed 3285 2

    wifi usb report (lsusb)
    ================================================== =======================================
    Bus 001 Device 004: ID 148f:7601 Ralink Technology, Corp. MT7601U Wireless Adapter

    Wifi wpa driver (wifi-wpadrv)
    ================================================== =======================================
    nl80211,wext

    iwconfig
    ================================================== =======================================

    ifconfig
    ================================================== =======================================
    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:E1:B0:10:6B:F1
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


    iwlist
    ================================================== =======================================

  6. #26
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    855
    Thanks for the info, something in 4.9 broke ralink based chips. We were able to confirm this on our end. Quick testing show they work in raspbian, so its a configuration issue that we never had to worry about before.

  7. #27
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by ralphy View Post
    In the webgui squeezelite settings, could you both try setting the "undocumented" 5th ALSA settings parameter to 1 to force squeezelite to reopen alsa on sample rate change. Save and restart squeezelite.

    Name:  undoc.jpg
Views: 594
Size:  36.4 KB
    No joy on this suggestion. Does anyone know how to get in touch with Allo.com for support? My previous requests via email have gone unanswered to date.

    Thanks.

  8. #28
    Senior Member paul-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    855
    Quote Originally Posted by bb3ii View Post
    No joy on this suggestion. Does anyone know how to get in touch with Allo.com for support? My previous requests via email have gone unanswered to date.
    As a temporary fix. Setup squeezelite to upsample everything to 192k (or 384k if you are running the Audio Kernel) Put 192000 in the Max Sample Rate field, then put vLX in the upsample recipe. The X option will upsample everything to the max rate.

    As I mentioned, Allo is aware of the problem and is working on a driver fix. It has not been released yet, once they do it will require a kernel recompile, which I will do, but will take a little time.

    The Allo rep monitors the boss thread over at DIY audio

  9. #29
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    7
    I did the temporary fix:
    /usr/local/bin/squeezelite -n Studeerkamer -o hw:CARD=BossDAC -a 80 4 1 -b 20000 600000 -r 384000 -R vLX
    And, it is working.

    Do I understand correctly that it is best to upsample
    -44,1 khz + 88,2 khz + 176,4 khz files to 352,8 khz
    -48 khz + 96 khz + 192 khz files to 384 khz?

    If yes what it is the commandline for it? So, how to create two upsample sets? I tried but I didn’t succeed. I hope someone can help me!
    Last edited by DJDR; 2017-04-07 at 12:09.

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Coast, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    1,135

    Ratlink USB WiFi dongle

    Quote Originally Posted by paul- View Post
    Thanks for the info, something in 4.9 broke ralink based chips. We were able to confirm this on our end. Quick testing show they work in raspbian, so its a configuration issue that we never had to worry about before.
    All of my pCps use Ratlink Wi-Pi dongles -
    [ 2.746733] usb 1-1.2: New USB device found, idVendor=148f, idProduct=5370
    [ 2.746748] usb 1-1.2: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
    [ 2.746758] usb 1-1.2: Product: 802.11 n WLAN
    [ 2.746767] usb 1-1.2: Manufacturer: Ralink
    and I also confirm they don't work on 3.20 Beta.
    Looking forward to the fix.
    A camel is a racehorse designed by a committee.

    Seen sprayed on the outside wall of the local library -
    Three things I hate in life :
    1. Vandalism
    2. Irony
    3. Lists

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •