Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1

    Another Bit Perfect question

    I have an older DAC with no USB and no volume option.

    SBT (NOT set max/100% volume) is connected via coaxial to my DAC, and my DAC's analog output is connected to my amp's input. Do I have bit perfect setup this way?

    If above is no, then I need a preamp to be able to get bit perfect.

    If I have a preamp;

    SBT (SET at max/100% volume) is connected via coaxial to my DAC, my DAC's analog output is connected to my preamp's analog input, and preamp's output is connected to my amp. Now, I have bit perfect set up?

    I am correct?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vństerňs Sweden
    Posts
    16,057
    "yes"

    it only at 100% volume you got a bitperfect output .

    But SBT's volume control is operating at 24 bits . As an SBT always outputs 24bit (even with a 16bit signal aka CD )

    You can get analogue attenuators to put on the poweramps input , if you use the SBT at reasonably high volume settings the loss of SQ in not using the DAC at max volume may very well offset the loss of connecting a preamp .
    Ie the digital volume controll could be better than the analougue one .

    There are many users who skipped the preamp , but good gain staging is important so that you dont max out at 2% volume
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  3. #3
    OK, I am going to ask a totally different question.

    If I have a separate DAC connected to SBT, why do I need the SBT? Shouldn't I just sell the SBT and get a Raspberry Pi/HifiBerry to stream from there instead?

    Does SBT still excel vs. other options even if used with a separate DAC?

    BTW, I am leaning towards getting a passive preamp. My DAC's output level is 3V.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Julf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,398
    Quote Originally Posted by celo View Post
    If I have a separate DAC connected to SBT, why do I need the SBT? Shouldn't I just sell the SBT and get a Raspberry Pi/HifiBerry to stream from there instead?
    Sure, but... If you already have a SBT, why get a Rpi? The result will be the same.
    "To try to judge the real from the false will always be hard. In this fast-growing art of 'high fidelity' the quackery will bear a solid gilt edge that will fool many people" - Paul W Klipsch, 1953

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Julf View Post
    Sure, but... If you already have a SBT, why get a Rpi? The result will be the same.
    OK got it. I actually meant does it really matter if using it only as a streamer. No, I have no plans to sell unless I want to put some change in my pocket. However, it is not worth the difference.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Julf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,398
    Quote Originally Posted by celo View Post
    OK got it. I actually meant does it really matter if using it only as a streamer. No, I have no plans to sell unless I want to put some change in my pocket. However, it is not worth the difference.
    If used purely as streamer, the SBT and a RPi will do the same job, just as well - but with the SBt you get a touch display and user interface (yes, you can add those to a RPi, but price difference to SBT becomes minimal).
    "To try to judge the real from the false will always be hard. In this fast-growing art of 'high fidelity' the quackery will bear a solid gilt edge that will fool many people" - Paul W Klipsch, 1953

  7. #7
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vństerňs Sweden
    Posts
    16,057
    On topic it can sometimes be a point to keep it bitperfect HDCD if your DAC handles that or DTS or AC3 coded WAV or FLAC inot a HT reciever or if your just prefer to do all processing later in the chain
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    907
    And in my experience genuine SB hardware is much better at achieving good sync than the software solutions.
    --
    Hardware: 3x Touch, 1x Radio, 2x Receivers, 1 HP Microserver NAS with Debian+LMS 7.9.0
    Music: ~1300 CDs, as 450 GB of 16/44k FLACs. No less than 3x 24/44k albums..

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    264
    I had heard that If you keep the sbt 's volume at >60% it will pass a full 16bit word. Is this correct?

  10. #10
    Senior Member Julf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    2,398
    Quote Originally Posted by doctor_big View Post
    I had heard that If you keep the sbt 's volume at >60% it will pass a full 16bit word. Is this correct?
    No. Any volume adjustment will affect the bits (as the data has to be scaled). Using primitive, non-dithered scaling, the upper bits only stay unchanged when the attenuation is an exact power of 2.
    "To try to judge the real from the false will always be hard. In this fast-growing art of 'high fidelity' the quackery will bear a solid gilt edge that will fool many people" - Paul W Klipsch, 1953

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •