Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    271

    Plex Server on Vortexbox

    Hi all,
    I am running LMS on a headless vortexbox at the moment just for music.
    I want to try the Plex server out for video .
    I have installed the plex server but I can't find a way to login to configure it.
    Ideally I'd like it to serve video from a network attached drive and not from the vorextbox storage if that's possible.
    But first I need to know how to get into it to set it up.
    Anyone any ideas?
    Any help greatly appreciated.
    Logitech Media Server Version: 7.8.0 - 1395395852 @ Fri Apr 18 13:29:51 EDT 2014
    Operating system: Vortexbox 2.3 (Fedora20 Heisenbug)
    Squeezebox Touch: Firmware: 7.7.1-r9561
    Squeezeplay 7.5.3 - r0
    Squeezeslave
    2 x RPI3 piCorePlayer 3.01

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    2,397
    Try

    http://127.0.0.1:32400/web

    replace 127.0.0.1 with your VB IP address
    Vortexbox LMS 7.9 music on QNAP TS419p via NFS iThingys/iPeng/Tablets
    Living Room - SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 - > Celestion Ditton F20s - Zone 2 -> Sony TA FE 320 -> Sennheiser RS 130 & B&W P7
    Office - RPi -> Sony TA FE320 -> Celestion F10s / SB3 -> Onkyo CRN 755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - SB Touch -> Topping TP21 -> AKG Headphones Bedroom (TV) - Amazon Fire TV (SB Player) -> Topping TP20 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes

  3. #3
    Senior Member wortgefecht's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    267
    It's a Long time since I meddled with Plex, and never on a Fedora setup (VB), but this is from the Plex forums:

    https://support.plex.tv/hc/en-us/art...6-Installation

    On a Different Network

    If you're on a different network than the Server computer, you'll first need to set up a SSH tunnel so that you can access things as if they were local. This is only necessary for the initial setup.

    OS X or Linux Open a Terminal window or your command prompt Enter the following command (substituting the IP address of your Server as appropriate): ssh ip.address.of.server -L 8888:localhost:32400 Open a browser window Type http://localhost:8888/web into the address bar The browser will connect to the Server as if it were local and load Plex Web App
    Maybe this helps.

    Gesendet von meinem Nexus 6 mit Tapatalk
    Current setup:
    • EEEBox, Xubuntu 14.04, LMS 7.9, FLAC
    • Duet > Pro-Ject DAC Box E > AKG Hearo 888 Titan (home office), Boom + Canton ASF 75 SC (master bedroom), Boom (master bathroom), 2 Radios (guest bathroom and garden deck), RPi3 + LibreELEC + XSqueeze > Samsung TV > NAD L53 > Mission 2.1 speakers (living room)
    • Transporter > vintage Wega Modul 42V amp (42E equalizer, 42T tape deck + Thorens TD 160 Mk II turntable) > Quadral Vulkan Mk II (music room)

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    271
    Thanks guys, much appreciated.
    I'll have a look and report back.
    Logitech Media Server Version: 7.8.0 - 1395395852 @ Fri Apr 18 13:29:51 EDT 2014
    Operating system: Vortexbox 2.3 (Fedora20 Heisenbug)
    Squeezebox Touch: Firmware: 7.7.1-r9561
    Squeezeplay 7.5.3 - r0
    Squeezeslave
    2 x RPI3 piCorePlayer 3.01

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    246
    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    Try

    http://127.0.0.1:32400/web

    replace 127.0.0.1 with your VB IP address
    You should now have a Plex icon on your VB browser home page. It will take you to this URL.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    271
    Got it going, thanks guys. I had to install it manually from the command line. Once done it appears in the vortexbox webui.
    Moving on, does anyone know how to mount an external network drive on the vortexbox? I have a 3Tb USB connected to my router with a samba share on it which I can see from all my network clients through their desktop gui's but dammed if I can get it to mount from the vortexbox. Either from the GUI or using fstab.
    Anyone know how to do it?

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
    Logitech Media Server Version: 7.8.0 - 1395395852 @ Fri Apr 18 13:29:51 EDT 2014
    Operating system: Vortexbox 2.3 (Fedora20 Heisenbug)
    Squeezebox Touch: Firmware: 7.7.1-r9561
    Squeezeplay 7.5.3 - r0
    Squeezeslave
    2 x RPI3 piCorePlayer 3.01

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •