Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35
  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    115
    Quote Originally Posted by reinholdk View Post
    Michael spoke about LMS memory. Set "Database Memory Config" in LMS' WebUI->Settings->Advanced->Performance to Maximum.
    Ah thanks, on the basis of one restart that's got it down a bit -- it took 5 minutes.

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    2,843
    Quote Originally Posted by alverus View Post
    I don't understand how people could write something like that. At the first point, one of the biggest advantages of win8 was the mach lesser RAM-consumtion. Win10 runs smoove on my Atom-tablet with just 2 GB RAM.
    The Atom tablet has an SSD HD I suspect. Makes a big difference.
    Pi3 with piCoreplayer music on QNAP TS419p via NFS iThingys/iPeng/Tablets/Jogglers
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 - > Celestion Ditton F20s
    Office - Pi -> Sony TA FE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN 755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - SB Touch -> Topping TP21 -> AKG Headphones

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    115
    Quote Originally Posted by reinholdk View Post
    Nothing else that needs lot of CPU or I/O?

    No, I don't think so.

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    115
    Quote Originally Posted by DJanGo View Post
    what is running in your autostart and services?
    dhcp or static ip? use static

    power off your lms server
    get another system and ping your lms with parameter -t
    get a smartphone with some timer app
    start the lms server and start the timer
    stop the timer when there is a answer
    tell us that time
    The problem I have is I don't have another system, I only have tablets and phones.

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    115
    I forgot to mention that if I wake it from sleep, the server loads up in seconds. The problem only happens with a restart.

  6. #26
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vństerňs Sweden
    Posts
    16,159
    Quote Originally Posted by mandryka View Post
    I forgot to mention that if I wake it from sleep, the server loads up in seconds. The problem only happens with a restart.
    Did you try without most of the plugins ?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    357
    Quote Originally Posted by alverus View Post
    I don't understand how people could write something like that. At the first point, one of the biggest advantages of win8 was the mach lesser RAM-consumtion. Win10 runs smoove on my Atom-tablet with just 2 GB RAM.
    Everyone has their own preferences in terms of usability and stability. I was chatting with a group of guys in IT not long ago who were shocked that I was running "only" 8GB RAM.

  8. #28
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,779

    Make my system load the LMS faster please!

    > The last time I restarted it took 15 minutes for the server to fire up.

    Ok, now you probably have to define what you consider "fire up". When
    does this process start, and when do you consider it done?

    >> [16-10-15 19:40:41.0099] Plugins::Spotify::Spotifyd::_checkAlive (146)
    >> spotifyd has failed restarting


    19:40 - last entry of the previous run.

    >> [16-10-15 19:45:29.0807] main::init (384) Starting Logitech Media Server
    >> (v7.9.0, 1473501469, Sat Sep 17 04:05:47 CUT 2016) perl 5.014001 -
    >> MSWin32-x86-multi-thread


    19:45 - five minutes later it seems to be back up and running.

    >> [16-10-15 19:45:49.6300] Plugins::Qobuz::Plugin::__ANON__ (46) Success:
    >> using Text::LevenshteinXS to speed Qobuz up.
    >> [16-10-15 19:57:11.4402]
    >> Slim::Networking::SqueezeNetwork::Players::_player s_error (359) Unable
    >> to get players from SN: Connect timed out: Bad file descriptor, retrying
    >> in 60 seconds


    19:57 - another 12 minutes later there are networking related issues
    reported. But between the previous event and this is nothing. What
    exactly did you time?

    > The cache is stored on the internal hard drive
    > (C:\ProgramData\Squeezebox\Cache)


    How much is left on that drive?

    --

    Michael

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    115
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > The last time I restarted it took 15 minutes for the server to fire up.

    Ok, now you probably have to define what you consider "fire up". When
    does this process start, and when do you consider it done?

    >> [16-10-15 19:40:41.0099] Plugins::Spotify::Spotifyd::_checkAlive (146)
    >> spotifyd has failed restarting


    19:40 - last entry of the previous run.

    >> [16-10-15 19:45:29.0807] main::init (384) Starting Logitech Media Server
    >> (v7.9.0, 1473501469, Sat Sep 17 04:05:47 CUT 2016) perl 5.014001 -
    >> MSWin32-x86-multi-thread


    19:45 - five minutes later it seems to be back up and running.

    >> [16-10-15 19:45:49.6300] Plugins::Qobuz::Plugin::__ANON__ (46) Success:
    >> using Text::LevenshteinXS to speed Qobuz up.
    >> [16-10-15 19:57:11.4402]
    >> Slim::Networking::SqueezeNetwork::Players::_player s_error (359) Unable
    >> to get players from SN: Connect timed out: Bad file descriptor, retrying
    >> in 60 seconds


    19:57 - another 12 minutes later there are networking related issues
    reported. But between the previous event and this is nothing. What
    exactly did you time?

    > The cache is stored on the internal hard drive
    > (C:\ProgramData\Squeezebox\Cache)


    How much is left on that drive?

    --

    Michael
    298 Gb

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    115
    Quote Originally Posted by Mnyb View Post
    Did you try without most of the plugins ?
    I have done now, and it's now down to about 30 seconds. Thank you gentlemen!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •