Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 35
  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    527
    You can check for CPU and I/O issues with perfmon.exe, for example.

    Quote Originally Posted by Fizbin View Post
    I suggest saving your pennies for an Intel i7...or at least an i5. And make sure it has a minimum 8GB Ram. You can barely run Windows on 4GB.
    Running Windows on 4GB is not a problem per se. Depends on the tasks you want to perform with it. For LMS or typical home office tasks you don't need an i5 or even an i7. I'm running Win10 on an old first-generation i3 without any issues (Edit: using 4GB).
    Last edited by reinholdk; 2016-10-13 at 14:58. Reason: added that the system has 4GB only

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    357
    I'm aware of that. I ran LMS on a super slow Dual Pentium just fine, but even that had 8GB. I can't imagine what that PC would have been like on 4. If the OP wants a faster LMS, I think a faster PC would be the first (and easiest) approach. LMS on my i5 is faster...not a by a mile but it's faster.

    One other suggestion I can make to the OP... Run Malwarebytes and then delete all the bloatware on your PC. (Go to add/remove and kill anything you're not using...don't touch anything that says Intel or Microsoft) Check your task manager and do a google search for each task that is running to see if it should be running. Also make sure you have lots of headroom on your HD. Oh yeah, and increase the RAM.
    Last edited by Fizbin; 2016-10-13 at 17:10.

  3. #13
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,781

    Make my system load the LMS faster please!

    > I'm aware of that. I ran LMS on a super slow Dual Pentium just fine, but
    > even that had 8GB. I can't imagine what that PC would have been like on
    > 4. If the OP wants a faster LMS, I think a faster PC would be the first
    > approach.


    Just for the records: I'm running my LMS on a 4 years old Atom based
    system with 4GB of memory. But using Linux. And that's running perfectly
    fine. Takes 5-10 seconds to start.

    Double digit minute numbers are wrong, no matter what the hardware or
    OS. But only some analysis of where it's stalling will tell us what it is.

    --

    Michael

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    357
    If the OP had Linux I wouldn't have recommended any upgrades.

  5. #15
    I have this processor and I can boot from cold to playing music in 30 seconds. Running Ubuntu though...
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Clients:
    1 Controller
    4 Receivers
    Preferred App: Squeezer for speed. Squeeze Ctrl for features


    Servers:
    Ubuntu on Gigabyte GA-E350N-USB3 with ITX Case
    Also trialing RaspberryPi 2 with Max2Play

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    115
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    > I want to change to my system to make it faster to load the LMS after a
    > restart. At the moment it can take as long as half an hour, sometimes
    > faster, rarely slower. What would be the most effective changes I could
    > make?


    Try to figure out what is slowing it down before taking any action :-).

    Did you check the server.log for obvious errors or the like? Did you
    check task manager to see what the process is doing all this time? Is it
    CPU bound? I/O?

    > The server runs on a Lenovo desktop running Windows 10. The processor is
    > an AMD E350, 2 core, 4Gb RAM.


    No race horse. But did you up the memory usage in
    Settings/Advanced/Performance. Go to the max.

    > The music is stored on a Samsung external hard drive, there are 88,000
    > tracks, mostly FLAC files, about 2.5TB.


    How is this disk connected? USB2? USB3? eSATA?

    Where does your cache live?

    --

    Michael

    The last time I restarted it took 15 minutes for the server to fire up.

    Here's the server log entries

    [16-10-15 19:40:41.0099] Plugins::Spotify::Spotifyd::_checkAlive (146) spotifyd has failed restarting
    [16-10-15 19:45:29.0807] main::init (384) Starting Logitech Media Server (v7.9.0, 1473501469, Sat Sep 17 04:05:47 CUT 2016) perl 5.014001 - MSWin32-x86-multi-thread
    [16-10-15 19:45:49.6300] Plugins::Qobuz::Plugin::__ANON__ (46) Success: using Text::LevenshteinXS to speed Qobuz up.
    [16-10-15 19:57:11.4402] Slim::Networking::SqueezeNetwork::Players::_player s_error (359) Unable to get players from SN: Connect timed out: Bad file descriptor, retrying in 60 seconds
    The task manager said that the server was using 0 and 3% CPU, 150 MB memory, 0.6 Mb disk; the control panel was using 50 Mb memory, between 0 and 1% of CPU

    The cache is stored on the internal hard drive (C:\ProgramData\Squeezebox\Cache)

    What should I set the memory usage to? It's set at 6000-6500 Mb

    Oh and by the way, thanks to everyone for all this help! It's heartening to read that the other people don't suffer from the same problem, so there should be a way of sorting it out.

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    527
    Quote Originally Posted by mandryka View Post
    What should I set the memory usage to? It's set at 6000-6500 Mb
    Michael spoke about LMS memory. Set "Database Memory Config" in LMS' WebUI->Settings->Advanced->Performance to Maximum.

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    527
    Quote Originally Posted by mandryka View Post
    The task manager said that the server was using 0 and 3% CPU, 150 MB memory, 0.6 Mb disk; the control panel was using 50 Mb memory, between 0 and 1% of CPU
    Nothing else that needs lot of CPU or I/O?

  9. #19
    Senior Member DJanGo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,374
    Quote Originally Posted by mandryka View Post
    The last time I restarted it took 15 minutes for the server to fire up.
    what is running in your autostart and services?
    dhcp or static ip? use static

    power off your lms server
    get another system and ping your lms with parameter -t
    get a smartphone with some timer app
    start the lms server and start the timer
    stop the timer when there is a answer
    tell us that time

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by Fizbin View Post
    I'm aware of that. I ran LMS on a super slow Dual Pentium just fine, but even that had 8GB. I can't imagine what that PC would have been like on 4. If the OP wants a faster LMS, I think a faster PC would be the first (and easiest) approach. LMS on my i5 is faster...not a by a mile but it's faster.

    One other suggestion I can make to the OP... Run Malwarebytes and then delete all the bloatware on your PC. (Go to add/remove and kill anything you're not using...don't touch anything that says Intel or Microsoft) Check your task manager and do a google search for each task that is running to see if it should be running. Also make sure you have lots of headroom on your HD. Oh yeah, and increase the RAM.
    I don't understand how people could write something like that. At the first point, one of the biggest advantages of win8 was the mach lesser RAM-consumtion. Win10 runs smoove on my Atom-tablet with just 2 GB RAM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •