Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    115

    Make my system load the LMS faster please!

    Hello

    I want to change to my system to make it faster to load the LMS after a restart. At the moment it can take as long as half an hour, sometimes faster, rarely slower. What would be the most effective changes I could make?

    The server runs on a Lenovo desktop running Windows 10. The processor is an AMD E350, 2 core, 4Gb RAM.

    The music is stored on a Samsung external hard drive, there are 88,000 tracks, mostly FLAC files, about 2.5TB.

    Howard

  2. #2
    Senior Member DJanGo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,372
    youll need to add some more inforamtion about your system.
    eg. what needs that long to start the system?

  3. #3
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,781

    Make my system load the LMS faster please!

    > I want to change to my system to make it faster to load the LMS after a
    > restart. At the moment it can take as long as half an hour, sometimes
    > faster, rarely slower. What would be the most effective changes I could
    > make?


    Try to figure out what is slowing it down before taking any action :-).

    Did you check the server.log for obvious errors or the like? Did you
    check task manager to see what the process is doing all this time? Is it
    CPU bound? I/O?

    > The server runs on a Lenovo desktop running Windows 10. The processor is
    > an AMD E350, 2 core, 4Gb RAM.


    No race horse. But did you up the memory usage in
    Settings/Advanced/Performance. Go to the max.

    > The music is stored on a Samsung external hard drive, there are 88,000
    > tracks, mostly FLAC files, about 2.5TB.


    How is this disk connected? USB2? USB3? eSATA?

    Where does your cache live?

    --

    Michael

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    357
    Your PC is a dinosaur. Except for increasing RAM, there isn't much you can do to speed it up. I suggest saving your pennies for an Intel i7...or at least an i5. And make sure it has a minimum 8GB Ram. You can barely run Windows on 4GB.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    2,847
    Probably a perfectly good system for Vortexbox ! But I suspect the external HD is one of the issues. USB 1.0.
    Pi3 with piCoreplayer music on QNAP TS419p via NFS iThingys/iPeng/Tablets/Jogglers
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 - > Celestion Ditton F20s
    Office - Pi -> Sony TA FE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN 755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - SB Touch -> Topping TP21 -> AKG Headphones

  6. #6
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Vństerňs Sweden
    Posts
    16,163
    What kind of plugins ? Even dinosaur hardware runs in a couple of minutes IME ?

    But maybe not with some versions of Erlands plugins , they do some database stuff that takes time .
    Some of,his plugins are known to drag out startup .

    Run the server without plugins and then add them one at the time and make observations

    Why win10 on that kind of machine ? it would probably speed up considerably on some Linux distributions ?
    Linux can usually repurpose older hardware that's not fit for the lates win .
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    2,847
    Quote Originally Posted by Mnyb View Post
    What kind of plugins ? Even dinosaur hardware runs in a couple of minutes IME ?

    But maybe not with some versions of Erlands plugins , they do some database stuff that takes time .
    Some of,his plugins are known to drag out startup .

    Run the server without plugins and then add them one at the time and make observations

    Why win10 on that kind of machine ? it would probably speed up considerably on some Linux distributions ?
    Linux can usually repurpose older hardware that's not fit for the lates win .
    Vortexbox distro would be perfect for it.
    Pi3 with piCoreplayer music on QNAP TS419p via NFS iThingys/iPeng/Tablets/Jogglers
    Living Room - Joggler & SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 - > Celestion Ditton F20s
    Office - Pi -> Sony TA FE320 -> Celestion F10s / Pi & SB3 -> Onkyo CRN 755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - SB Touch -> Topping TP21 -> AKG Headphones

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    115
    Thanks for all these replies, it's going to have to wait till the weekend before I can experiment with some of the suggestions. I think it may be time to buy a new PC, but I'm not sure that will speed up startup. I want to stay with Windows.

    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    But I suspect the external HD is one of the issues. USB 1.0.
    Yes, I was thinking that too. What can I do about it apart from getting a PC with 3TB internal hard drive?
    Last edited by mandryka; 2016-10-13 at 11:45.

  9. #9
    Babelfish's Best Boy mherger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    19,781

    Make my system load the LMS faster please!

    >> Probably a perfectly good system for Vortexbox ! But I suspect the
    >> external HD is one of the issues. USB 1.0.

    >
    > What can I do about that apart from getting a PC with 3TB hard drive?


    Figure out what the real bottleneck is. USB _might_ be one. But if the
    cache is stored on the main disk, then I don't see why it would. So go
    back to my first response and go through all of the questions.

    --

    Michael

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    115
    Quote Originally Posted by mherger View Post
    >> Probably a perfectly good system for Vortexbox ! But I suspect the
    >> external HD is one of the issues. USB 1.0.

    >
    > What can I do about that apart from getting a PC with 3TB hard drive?


    Figure out what the real bottleneck is. USB _might_ be one. But if the
    cache is stored on the main disk, then I don't see why it would. So go
    back to my first response and go through all of the questions.

    --

    Michael
    Sunday!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •