Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27
  1. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    Hi celo, here's my 2 bits

    Install EDO on the SBTouch with Mojo connected by USB.

    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...YKQ/edit#gid=0


    Connect Mojo to amp.

    I'm guessing a bit now, but from my experience with an iFi Nano dac, set the volume on the Mojo to max.

    In LMS on the player page in Settings set the volume to Variable output as you will be controlling this with your iphone.

    Controlling the volume in this manner can be a bit risky, make sure you turn down the volume before switching off.

    Its safer to control the volume with a pre-amp and have both outputs on the Mojo and SBT set to 100%.

    Maybe/maybe not, switch off the charger when playing music.

    Make sure the volume in LMS is really low before playing any music for the first time.

    If you can adjust the digital amp volume I would suggest you set it to the max you are likely to use (use the variable control on your 'phone) and then back it off a bit and leave it at that setting. This will give you some headroom for when you start everything at full blast .

    Keep safe, it's dangerous out there

    Thank you! For more input, I opened a new thread. Hope it is OK

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    973
    As per my comment in the new thread, note that full output level is nearly 4.8V on the mojo, so this might totally blow your amp out the water. Do not default to 100% anything..

    Do you have any way of confirming that EDO is capable of driving the mojo in asynchronous mode? Plain old synch USB does not have the same sonic advantages as asynchronous and you may as well just use a perfectly working optical or coaxial spdif cable.
    --
    Hardware: 3x Touch, 1x Radio, 2x Receivers, 1 HP Microserver NAS with Debian+LMS 7.9.0
    Music: ~1300 CDs, as 450 GB of 16/44k FLACs. No less than 3x 24/44k albums..

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    1,973
    Quote Originally Posted by drmatt View Post
    As per my comment in the new thread, note that full output level is nearly 4.8V on the mojo, so this might totally blow your amp out the water. Do not default to 100% anything..

    Do you have any way of confirming that EDO is capable of driving the mojo in asynchronous mode? Plain old synch USB does not have the same sonic advantages as asynchronous and you may as well just use a perfectly working optical or coaxial spdif cable.

    I had a quick skim of the specs and line level output is given as

    Line Level Mode
    To set the output level to 3V ( line level ) for connection to a preamplifier press both volume buttons
    together when switching on the unit. Both volume balls will illuminate light blue. This mode is not
    remembered so when you switch off it will reset back to the previous volume stored for safety reasons.
    still above the normal 2v or so.

    The headphone outputs (which I assumed the OP wants to use) are given as

    output of 35mW into 600ohms, rising to 720mW into 8 ohms.
    I posted a link to someone using the dac with EDO on a SBTouch.

    I have not heard either the Mojo or the Hugo but have heard the 2Qute thingy and that sounded fine to my old ears.

  4. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    I had a quick skim of the specs and line level output is given as



    still above the normal 2v or so.

    The headphone outputs (which I assumed the OP wants to use) are given as



    I posted a link to someone using the dac with EDO on a SBTouch.

    I have not heard either the Mojo or the Hugo but have heard the 2Qute thingy and that sounded fine to my old ears.
    Since I have not used an amp/DAC before I am trying to figure it out how to connect. Currently, I connected the Mojo via USB to SBT (EDO).

    Yes, (@Man in a van), I connect the 3.5mm cable to the headphone output on the Mojo and connect the RCA ends to my amp (no volume on the amp). So, no need to use line out mode (I assume).

    What I want to know is that what amp is feeding my speakers? The Mojo or my amp? I do not think Mojo's amp can be bypassed. I am confused here as how it works.

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Staffordshire. UK
    Posts
    1,973
    Quote Originally Posted by celo View Post
    Since I have not used an amp/DAC before I am trying to figure it out how to connect. Currently, I connected the Mojo via USB to SBT (EDO).

    Yes, (@Man in a van), I connect the 3.5mm cable to the headphone output on the Mojo and connect the RCA ends to my amp (no volume on the amp). So, no need to use line out mode (I assume).

    What I want to know is that what amp is feeding my speakers? The Mojo or my amp? I do not think Mojo's amp can be bypassed. I am confused here as how it works.

    Well Celo, this is how it works when I use an iFi Nano dac.

    I use the headphone output to my PRE amplifier.

    The output is set to 100%, volume knob turned completely right (this is on the mfg's advice as it is essentially a passive pre-amp).

    Doing this effectively takes it out of the equation.

    I assume that the amplifier you are using (info would be nice) is a power amplifier.

    The headphone output on the Mojo could then be used as a a pre amplifier.

    You need to check your specs, as the volume output could be very low, depending o the sensitivity of the power amp you are feeding it into.

    Better still, contact Chord with full information of the equipment you are using and ask their advice. They should be able to advise you if the headphone output is sufficient or that you need to use the line ouput setting. (I'm guessing that if you choose the latter then a pre-amp would be required).

    When asking these type of questions it is important to give as much information and detail as possible.

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    973
    Quote Originally Posted by Man in a van View Post
    I had a quick skim of the specs and line level output is given as
    "3v"
    still above the normal 2v or so.
    Yep, but this is not 100% volume, in the stereophile review he measured it at getting on for 4.8V.
    --
    Hardware: 3x Touch, 1x Radio, 2x Receivers, 1 HP Microserver NAS with Debian+LMS 7.9.0
    Music: ~1300 CDs, as 450 GB of 16/44k FLACs. No less than 3x 24/44k albums..

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    973
    Quote Originally Posted by celo View Post
    I connect the 3.5mm cable to the headphone output on the Mojo and connect the RCA ends to my amp (no volume on the amp). So, no need to use line out mode (I assume).
    So you are basically relying on the mojo to behave as a pre-amp, because your "amp" has no volume control so is presumably a fixed gain power amp. Given that the volume control on the mojo has no remote control capability I would do the following:

    Turn SBT vol all the way down
    Set mojo to "line" level output via magic button sequence
    Use SBT volume control to control sound level.

    If you find you can't get to even 30% vol on SBT without it being too loud you may need to lower the mojo volume setting further. But note that both these devices use digital volume controls. The mojo has a higher resolution digital volume control than the SBT, but you still may lose resolution at low volumes on either, depending on the gain of your power amp.
    --
    Hardware: 3x Touch, 1x Radio, 2x Receivers, 1 HP Microserver NAS with Debian+LMS 7.9.0
    Music: ~1300 CDs, as 450 GB of 16/44k FLACs. No less than 3x 24/44k albums..

  8. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by drmatt View Post
    So you are basically relying on the mojo to behave as a pre-amp, because your "amp" has no volume control so is presumably a fixed gain power amp. Given that the volume control on the mojo has no remote control capability I would do the following:

    Turn SBT vol all the way down
    Set mojo to "line" level output via magic button sequence
    Use SBT volume control to control sound level.

    If you find you can't get to even 30% vol on SBT without it being too loud you may need to lower the mojo volume setting further. But note that both these devices use digital volume controls. The mojo has a higher resolution digital volume control than the SBT, but you still may lose resolution at low volumes on either, depending on the gain of your power amp.

    What I did was connect the Mojo to SBT via USB (EDO) and then connect the 3.5mm cable (headphone output) to Mojo and other RCA ends to my Sure Electronics Digital Amplifier (no volume).

    I will try yours tonight

  9. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    68
    Quote Originally Posted by BertdeJong View Post
    I have an Chord Mojo attached to my Touch using EDO and USB. It works (and sounds) wonderfull. However, if I switch both off and on again the Touch does not seem to rember the audio out setting. A can see the file playing but there is no sound through the DAC, so I am asuming it has switched back to analog. Can this be fixed?
    I had the same after upgrading my ClassÚ CP-800 with the v2 digital board. I had to reboot the Touch before every listening session. I then found out that putting a USB hub between the Touch and my CP-800 resolved the issue and I now enjoy this duo since several year trouble free.

  10. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    130

    DAC Confusion..

    Please accept my apologies for maybe not quite understanding. When I connected a new REGA DAC to my SBT to my ears there was no real Sound difference. Please note, there was NO EDO on SBT (I was pretty new to the SBT World then, so never knew such a thing existed at the time..) and used coax cable to my amp. When folk on here are saying there using USB on here is that the usb connection on the SBT..??

    again forgive me if Iam wrong, but I always thought the USB on the SBT was just for USB mem. Stick or H/drive upto a certain amount of GBs or MBs only.

    I just cant help thinking I should of kept the rega DAC (the lastest model) and maybe experimented a bit more !

    it sounded amazing with my CD player...But disappointing with my SBT and going back to CD was no option for me (having ripped so many CDs) and accessing ALL my music On my SBT.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •