Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: WAV files

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    21

    WAV files

    Should WAV files play OK on LMS?

    I've only one. I've copied it to my laptop and it plays fine in VLC si i know the file is good.

    It shows up fine in the Artist/Album browser, but when i select a track i just get noise, like white noise.

    LMS 7.9, Touch and Squeezeplay on laptop.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Västerås Sweden
    Posts
    15,995
    Yes they should , provided that they are normal 2 channel wav files .

    Is this a wav + cue file of some sort ?

    It's not one of those with embedded DTS or DD signals , you can do that with wav or flac to get souround but it only works against for example an AV receiver via digital out when the volume is set at 100%
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  3. #3
    Senior Member DJanGo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,272
    Quote Originally Posted by peterguk View Post
    I've copied it to my laptop and it plays fine in VLC si i know the file is good.
    Dont TEST any mediafiles with VLC!!!!!

    VLC is made to handle corrupt files - if a Files doesnt play with vlc than its rubbish but if its playin that doesnt say anything.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by Mnyb View Post
    Yes they should , provided that they are normal 2 channel wav files .

    Is this a wav + cue file of some sort ?

    It's not one of those with embedded DTS or DD signals , you can do that with wav or flac to get souround but it only works against for example an AV receiver via digital out when the volume is set at 100%
    Hi

    It is wha looks like an ordinary WAV plus CUE. Ripped by EAC according to the CUE file.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Västerås Sweden
    Posts
    15,995
    can you play any WAV file at all or is just this one ?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  6. #6
    Senior Member Greg Erskine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,143
    Quote Originally Posted by peterguk View Post
    Hi

    It is wha looks like an ordinary WAV plus CUE. Ripped by EAC according to the CUE file.
    Hi peterguk,

    I have been using EAC to rip WAV + CUE for many years. No problems.

    In earlier versions of LMS I had to set stream to WAV (default FLAC), but in LMS 7.9 I can stream FLAC.

    regards
    Greg

  7. #7
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Västerås Sweden
    Posts
    15,995
    Quote Originally Posted by Greg Erskine View Post
    Hi peterguk,

    I have been using EAC to rip WAV + CUE for many years. No problems.

    In earlier versions of LMS I had to set stream to WAV (default FLAC), but in LMS 7.9 I can stream FLAC.

    regards
    Greg
    Thats one aspect if no WAV files are playing one could suspect file types settings OR something is wrong with the transcoding apps like SoX and flac .

    So OP . What kind of server and operating system is this ?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    21
    Thanks for your replies guys.

    Right, OS is Windows 7 Ultimate, LMS version is 7.9. Album, tracks and album cover show in LMP web inteface and Squeezeplayer and Touch.

    Laptop on which i have a copy of the WAV file for testing is XP. It plays perfectly in VLC, but not Windows Media Player!

    File types in web inteface only offers flac/sox option.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Mnyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Västerås Sweden
    Posts
    15,995
    Quote Originally Posted by peterguk View Post
    Thanks for your replies guys.

    Right, OS is Windows 7 Ultimate, LMS version is 7.9. Album, tracks and album cover show in LMP web inteface and Squeezeplayer and Touch.

    Laptop on which i have a copy of the WAV file for testing is XP. It plays perfectly in VLC, but not Windows Media Player!

    File types in web inteface only offers flac/sox option.
    Okay then again do you have any other wav file to test with ? To see if you have a general problem or if it's only this file ?
    What is the resolution of the file 16 bit 24 bit ?

    What are your actual file types settings for WAV .

    If it's a cue + wav file . Do not browse through "music folder" try the artist or album menu ? Does it make a difference ?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Main hifi: Touch + CIA PS +MeridianG68J MeridianHD621 MeridianG98DH 2 x MeridianDSP5200 MeridianDSP5200HC 2 xMeridianDSP3100 +Rel Stadium 3 sub.
    Bedroom/Office: Boom
    Kitchen: Touch + powered Fostex PM0.4
    Misc use: Radio (with battery)
    iPad1 with iPengHD & SqueezePad
    (spares Touch, SB3, reciever ,controller )
    server HP proliant micro server N36L with ClearOS Linux

    http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by Mnyb View Post
    Okay then again do you have any other wav file to test with ? To see if you have a general problem or if it's only this file ??
    I've no other wav files. I'll get one ripped and test.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mnyb View Post
    What is the resolution of the file 16 bit 24 bit ?
    16/44


    Quote Originally Posted by Mnyb View Post
    What are your actual file types settings for WAV .?
    WAV: Stream Format: FLAC Decoder flac/sox


    Quote Originally Posted by Mnyb View Post
    If it's a cue + wav file . Do not browse through "music folder" try the artist or album menu ? Does it make a difference ?
    It is shown correctly in Artist and Album menus.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •