Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 102 of 155 FirstFirst ... 25292100101102103104112152 ... LastLast
Results 1,011 to 1,020 of 1545
  1. #1011
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    BBC is always updating IP address which it has found are being used to bypass geo-ip locking.

    Other things to try to see if BBC thinks you are not in UK.

    1. Web Based BBCiPlayer - can you play TV programs ? web based Radio will work for non UK (with BBC beta enabled it will use DASH) (except r5 live sport see next point but another test for non uk)

    2. On plugin - Play non UK R5 Live Sport - this has been recetnly blocked for all non UK even http AAC stream on an ordinary player
    http://open.live.bbc.co.uk/mediasele...orts_extra.pls

    3. R3 HTTP/AAC 320kbps - UK only. No need for plugins to play. Will also play on any PC media player that can play normal AAC radio streams.
    http://open.live.bbc.co.uk/mediasele...adio_three.pls
    Do you know how to see the destinations IPs or FQDN's for the hi bitrate streams? I want to ask one of our network guys to do a trace route? It might be some issue with our company set up. TV iPlayer works fine.

  2. #1012
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    15,325
    Quote Originally Posted by JPatten View Post
    Do you know how to see the destinations IPs or FQDN's for the hi bitrate streams? I want to ask one of our network guys to do a trace route? It might be some issue with our company set up. TV iPlayer works fine.
    Does DASH Radio on BBC iPlayer work OK ? (enable beta see http://www.bbc.co.uk/html5)

    If it does then somethign in your company network is messing up the HTTP Get - possihble redirection.

    For DASH the end address vary by time and regions as it uses a CDN which does load balancing. Audio is split into 6 secs segments. Addresses for lIve segments are only valid for 2 hours. Listen again segments are valid for up to 30 days from initial date of broadcast.

    The address of the segments being fetched can be shown by enabling logging plugin.bbciplayer.dash to INFO. In the log there will be lines like the following which has the URL
    Code:
    16-12-16 14:11:50.4403] Plugins::BBCiPlayer::DASH::_fetchChunk (688) fetching [231546472]: http ://as-dash-ww-live.akamaized.net/pool_6/live/bbc_radio_fourfm/bbc_radio_fourfm.isml/dash/bbc_radio_fourfm-audio=96000-231546472.m4s
    edit:

    DASH uses description files MPD which tell the player what servies (i.e. list all available bitrate and CDNS) are available - for UK R4 Akamai the MPD is (and never changes)
    http://a.files.bbci.co.uk/media/live...dio_fourfm.mpd

    For non UK it is
    http://a.files.bbci.co.uk/media/live...dio_fourfm.mpd
    What do you see when you fetch these MPds ?
    Last edited by bpa; 2016-12-16 at 07:19.

  3. #1013
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    BBC is always updating IP address which it has found are being used to bypass geo-ip locking.

    Other things to try to see if BBC thinks you are not in UK.

    1. Web Based BBCiPlayer - can you play TV programs ? web based Radio will work for non UK (with BBC beta enabled it will use DASH) (except r5 live sport see next point but another test for non uk)

    2. On plugin - Play non UK R5 Live Sport - this has been recetnly blocked for all non UK even http AAC stream on an ordinary player
    http://open.live.bbc.co.uk/mediasele...orts_extra.pls

    3. R3 HTTP/AAC 320kbps - UK only. No need for plugins to play. Will also play on any PC media player that can play normal AAC radio streams.
    http://open.live.bbc.co.uk/mediasele...adio_three.pls
    1.) Yes can play TV programs

    2.) Working perfectly

    2.) Working perfectly

    So maybe a Squeezebox issue. Please see my iPlayer settings page in case something is amiss here.

    Name:  Screen Shot 2016-12-16 at 19.01.40.jpg
Views: 191
Size:  103.2 KB

  4. #1014
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    15,325
    Quote Originally Posted by JPatten View Post
    So maybe a Squeezebox issue. Please see my iPlayer settings page in case something is amiss here.
    Setting will change nothing.

    You need to get a log plugin.bbciplayer.dash set to INFO of trying to play a station with explicit detail of what station menu you are trying to play and whether you made any changes to any files or menu.

  5. #1015
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    Setting will change nothing.

    You need to get a log plugin.bbciplayer.dash set to INFO of trying to play a station with explicit detail of what station menu you are trying to play and whether you made any changes to any files or menu.
    I haven't done used this procedure before. Can you give me any guidance or point me towards instructions please? I am better than most but not as technical than your good self. No changes to files have been made that I am aware of. Possibly an OSX update might have changed something somewhere.

  6. #1016
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    15,325
    Quote Originally Posted by JPatten View Post
    I haven't done used this procedure before. Can you give me any guidance or point me towards instructions please? I am better than most but not as technical than your good self. No changes to files have been made that I am aware of. Possibly an OSX update might have changed something somewhere.
    This problem has nothing to do with OSX or settings as long as use highest" is there. The list of possible rates is solely drive by what is in the MPD file.

    Since you are not familiar with logging, it is necessary to go backover questions I already asked but you didn't answer.

    Quote Originally Posted by JPatten View Post
    On high UK bit stream 32kbs,CBR, aac is being indicated but no sound coming through
    On lower outside UK bit stream 96kbs, CBR, aac is being indicated and sound is coming through.
    Is this really true the "Highest" setting is 32kbps and "lowest" setting is 96kbps ? There is NO BBC DASH 32kbps services - so if this is what you are seeing there is something very strange happening.

    DASH uses description files MPD which tell the player what services (i.e. list all available bitrate and CDNS) are available.
    Please download and zip and attach to a post the MPD file found at these locations
    http://a.files.bbci.co.uk/media/live/manifesto/audio/simulcast/dash/uk/dash_full/ak/bbc_radio_fourfm.mpd
    http://a.files.bbci.co.uk/media/live/manifesto/audio/simulcast/dash/nonuk/dash_low/ak/bbc_radio_fourfm.mpd

  7. #1017
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    849
    I suspect 32kbps is a typo for 320kbps ie. the '0' got missed. Just a guess.

  8. #1018
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    15,325
    Quote Originally Posted by Owen Smith View Post
    I suspect 32kbps is a typo for 320kbps ie. the '0' got missed. Just a guess.
    I had thought of taht but then why does the OP say stream no longer play highest rate (what does the OP base this on - text or hearing ?) - I need to confirm if it is a typo or a display issue in the plugin ?

  9. #1019
    Quote Originally Posted by bpa View Post
    This problem has nothing to do with OSX or settings as long as use highest" is there. The list of possible rates is solely drive by what is in the MPD file.

    Since you are not familiar with logging, it is necessary to go backover questions I already asked but you didn't answer.


    Is this really true the "Highest" setting is 32kbps and "lowest" setting is 96kbps ? There is NO BBC DASH 32kbps services - so if this is what you are seeing there is something very strange happening.

    DASH uses description files MPD which tell the player what services (i.e. list all available bitrate and CDNS) are available.
    Please download and zip and attach to a post the MPD file found at these locations
    http://a.files.bbci.co.uk/media/live/manifesto/audio/simulcast/dash/uk/dash_full/ak/bbc_radio_fourfm.mpd
    http://a.files.bbci.co.uk/media/live...dio_fourfm.mpd
    Sorry 32kbs was a typo. I meant 320kbs.

    Will do the downloads.

    Thanks

  10. #1020
    BPA

    Please find zipped .MPD files.

    Cheers

    R4.zip

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •