Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 37 of 38 FirstFirst ... 2735363738 LastLast
Results 361 to 370 of 375
  1. #361
    Now working pretty well. Oddly the iPhone and iPad need a long press on the Airplay selection bar before it locks onto the Squeezebox. Is this normal?

    Viv

  2. #362
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    St Albans, United Kingdom
    Posts
    210
    Quote Originally Posted by philippe_44 View Post
    Well, it will still be a hit and miss as, again, the LMS players play ... whenever they play. So it might swing +/- 300ms or more, but you will not have any certainty, LMS time cannot be controlled by an external source with the existing API. As long as one of the entities contains a random time element, there is nothing you can do for the whole system.

    My latest version of Shairtunes2W includes a "AirPlay latency" that you can play with, it's made for another purpose but it should affect the system the way you want.

    But again, understand that what you want to do cannot be achieve in a reliable way with the existing LMS interface. You'll get sometimes close, sometimes not.
    I'll have a play. Incidentally, there's no settings link for your ShairTunes2 (fork) line in the list when I click on the Plugins tab in the LMS web settings GUI. I have to click on settings for some other plugin, then select ShairTunes2 (fork) from the drop down list. Once I'm there I notice the info hint for 'Airplay latency (ms)' reads: "Set the duration of the AirPlay buffer. Low value means faster start but more shuttering". Can I use this value therefore to influence the delay before the iOS device starts its video playback?

    Edit: 600 ms seems bloody close in my eyes when outputting to my SB Radio, until that is the audio playback randomly pauses for a couple of seconds after a few minutes playback, throwing it all out. Oh well.
    Last edited by rickwookie; 2017-08-06 at 05:13.

  3. #363
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,294
    Quote Originally Posted by rickwookie View Post
    I'll have a play. Incidentally, there's no settings link for your ShairTunes2 (fork) line in the list when I click on the Plugins tab in the LMS web settings GUI. I have to click on settings for some other plugin, then select ShairTunes2 (fork) from the drop down list.
    The "normal" way to access to a plugin settings is rather to go to the "advanced" tab in LMS' settings and then choose the plugin in the dropdown list
    Once I'm there I notice the info hint for 'Airplay latency (ms)' reads: "Set the duration of the AirPlay buffer. Low value means faster start but more shuttering". Can I use this value therefore to influence the delay before the iOS device starts its video playback?

    Edit: 600 ms seems bloody close in my eyes when outputting to my SB Radio, until that is the audio playback randomly pauses for a couple of seconds after a few minutes playback, throwing it all out. Oh well.
    Yes, this is the right parameter and it's expected that below ~500ms shuttering happens. It's because the plugin has to build a buffer of the airplay frames. Such RTP frames are sent using UDP protocol, so no guaranteed delivery. There is a mechanism to ask again for missed frames, but it means that you must do buffering to give you a chance to ask for and received the missed ones because if you have a hole of 100 frames between say frame 900 and 1000 but you've already sent frame 1000 to LMS, then it's over because the interface with LMS is HTTP, so frame numbers do not exists, ordering is implicit by order of sending HTTP data.

    Anyway, you can also tweak the "buffer level" parameter which adjust buffering inside LMS this time. Normally it does not affect playback start in a deterministic way, but here it should because the source is hard realtime
    LMS 7.7, 7.8 and 7.9 - 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB2. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, JBL OnBeat, XBoxOne, XBMC, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, , Pi B3, B2, Pi B+, 2xPi A+, Odroid-C1, Odroid-C2, Cubie2, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5

  4. #364
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    21
    Hi guys. How do I install shairport2 onto LMS running on a pi3 with picoreplayer?

    I have installed the repo, and tried to install both the windows fork, and the regular one and it always says failed to load

  5. #365
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by dborod View Post
    I'm also getting the 'connection reset by host' error. I wonder if this is an iOS 10 thing.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    This thread is (very) old but was there ever a solution to this? I have installed v.0.72.10 on my Windows 7 PC and am having the same symptoms. No errors in the log and I can see my players (both Squeezebox Touch and Squeezebox Classic) from my devices. When I start playing to a SB Touch I see "Connection reset by local host airplay://<IP of LMS>:55596/<bunch of characters>_stream.flc" on the screen.

    I have tried it on devices with iOS 5.1.1, 9.3.5, and 10.3.3 and get the same behaviour. My Windows Firewall is off for these tests. My SB Touch software is on 7.7.3 r16676 (latest).

    Any ideas? Any way to debug from the Touch as to why it is not able to connect?

  6. #366
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,294

    Announce: ShairTunes2 plugin - Airtunes on your LMS

    Quote Originally Posted by jkriese View Post
    This thread is (very) old but was there ever a solution to this? I have installed v.0.72.10 on my Windows 7 PC and am having the same symptoms. No errors in the log and I can see my players (both Squeezebox Touch and Squeezebox Classic) from my devices. When I start playing to a SB Touch I see "Connection reset by local host airplay://:55596/_stream.flc" on the screen.

    I have tried it on devices with iOS 5.1.1, 9.3.5, and 10.3.3 and get the same behaviour. My Windows Firewall is off for these tests. My SB Touch software is on 7.7.3 r16676 (latest).

    Any ideas? Any way to debug from the Touch as to why it is not able to connect?
    Please go to the active thread for responses. Your system should work without issue. Get a log of the server.log and one of the player that fails (see the settings of shairtunes2W for helper log). Give me LMS number as a well.

    See you on the other thread
    Last edited by philippe_44; 2017-09-03 at 14:06.
    LMS 7.7, 7.8 and 7.9 - 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB2. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, JBL OnBeat, XBoxOne, XBMC, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, , Pi B3, B2, Pi B+, 2xPi A+, Odroid-C1, Odroid-C2, Cubie2, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5

  7. #367
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,294

    Announce: ShairTunes2 plugin - Airtunes on your LMS

    N
    Last edited by philippe_44; 2017-09-03 at 14:03.
    LMS 7.7, 7.8 and 7.9 - 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB2. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, JBL OnBeat, XBoxOne, XBMC, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, , Pi B3, B2, Pi B+, 2xPi A+, Odroid-C1, Odroid-C2, Cubie2, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5

  8. #368
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    3

    Windows XP Woes

    Excellent plugin Phillippe! It works perfectly on OS X Sierra 10.12.6. However I have an old XP machine that I keep on my network as a LMS. I updated it to LMS 7.9.1 and enabled your Shairtunes2 plugin. My 2 Squeezebox Booms show up but I cannot connect to them. I tried this on the XP machine first and then when that didn't work did the same on my MacBook Pro. To avoid confusion only one machine was running LMS at the time and I switched the SBB's over to the active server.

    I also assured the helper file was listed as an exception in the Windows Firewall.

    Any suggestions?

  9. #369
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,294
    Quote Originally Posted by bobbygz View Post
    Excellent plugin Phillippe! It works perfectly on OS X Sierra 10.12.6. However I have an old XP machine that I keep on my network as a LMS. I updated it to LMS 7.9.1 and enabled your Shairtunes2 plugin. My 2 Squeezebox Booms show up but I cannot connect to them. I tried this on the XP machine first and then when that didn't work did the same on my MacBook Pro. To avoid confusion only one machine was running LMS at the time and I switched the SBB's over to the active server.

    I also assured the helper file was listed as an exception in the Windows Firewall.

    Any suggestions?
    I know you tested, but this usually still is a firewall problem. Have you tried with the firewall disabled for a quick test?
    LMS 7.7, 7.8 and 7.9 - 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB2. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, JBL OnBeat, XBoxOne, XBMC, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, , Pi B3, B2, Pi B+, 2xPi A+, Odroid-C1, Odroid-C2, Cubie2, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express, GGMM E5

  10. #370
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by philippe_44 View Post
    I know you tested, but this usually still is a firewall problem. Have you tried with the firewall disabled for a quick test?
    Thank you for replying. Yes Phillippe. I also tested with the firewall turned off. Same results

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •