Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 138 1231151101 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 1376
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,965

    Announce: UPnPBridge = integrate UPnP/DLNA players with LMS (squeeze2upnp)

    This is a re-announcement of the UPnP/DLNA to LMS bridge I've published under the name 'squeeze2upnp'. For ease of use, I've now added a proper LMS plugin, so it made sense to start a new thread, as suggest by users on the original one.

    This plugin/app integrates UPnP/DLNA players found on your network and let LMS use them as if they were regular Squeezeboxes (they appear as a modified squeezelite instance).

    To install, you need to add this repository to your "Plugins" page
    Code:
    development version: http://downloads.sourceforge.net/project/lms-to-upnp/dev/repo-sf.xml
    stable version http://downloads.sourceforge.net/project/lms-plugins-philippe44/repo-sf.xml
    It should provide pretty much all the features of squeezelite, except a few things
    - synchronization does not and will never work (all you can have is a 2-sec accurate sync start)
    - Sonos players, when grouped, will keep their synchro within the group
    - crossfade is not available
    - gapless only works if the UPnP player supports it

    Once installed, there is a "UPnP/DLNA Bridge" page added to your "Settings" and you'll have to tweak probably a few parameters there. A list of pre-existing profiles is available as well, but if your player is not included and you manage to have it working, please post here your successful configuration settings so that I can add them to the list of known devices
    There is a complete guide that explains all this in details and goes through all the parameters, including the advanced ones that are not available from the LMS webpage. It can be found in the plugin setting page or here
    Code:
    https://github.com/philippe44/LMS-to-uPnP/blob/master/doc/userguide.pdf
    If should work for Windows, OSX, PPC, Linux x86 and ARMv5 and v6+

    Key parameters are in blue in the LMS webpage and info-bubble do help understanding their respective usage

    "what codec to choose" ? is a frequent question, so here are few tips:

    - Remember that UPnPBridge is ... a bridge between LMS and your UPnP players, so it does not do transcoding, just a few format tweaking. So the "agreement" on supported codecs is between LMS and your player, UPnPBridge just helps the negotiation
    - mp3 will give you best mileage, but I understand most hate it
    - flc,mp3 are very likely to work in all cases - transcode the rest in LMS, do not try sample rate higher than 48kHz
    - pcm (and aiff) work very well starting with version 0.2.5.0 - there is on-the-fly header transcoding made for best compatibility
    - aac might work if your player supports what LMS sends (there is at least 6 variants) - there is no header adaptation - I strongy recommend to not use it

    - if your player does not support 24 bits samples (Sonos and many others) and you have such files, then you *must* use uncompressed codecs format like 'pcm' and/or 'aif'. There is an option in UPnPBridge to truncate down to 16 bits
    - You won't know if 24 bits works before you try as players won't say (they go silent) and LMS does not offer possibility for the player to feedback its sample size abilities
    - If you feel adventurous you have many options to play with uncompressed formats. Sample rate can go up 192kHz, you can use 32 bits and play with all parameters, including the advanced ones explained in the manual but if you go that route, I strongly suggest reading the manual

    I'd like to really thank PasTim for his numerous suggestions, tests and support and ralphy for patches and builds that allowed this to work on OSX, Windows XP and ARM

    !! CHECK YOUR FIREWALL STATUS !!

    NB: the port used for UPnP (49152 by default, but it might vary up to 49162) must be open. Under Windows, you might have a popup (only the very first time the application is started) asking to allow squeeze2upnp-win to access your network. If not and if players are detected and seem to play but you have only silence, go under c:\programdata\squeezebox\cache\Installedplugins\p lugins\upnpbridge and launch squeeze2upnp-win.exe, or edit your firewall parameters to allow this program to run - only need to do that once
    Last edited by philippe_44; 2016-12-18 at 21:57.
    LMS 7.7, 7.8 and 7.9 - 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB2. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, JBL OnBeat, XBoxOne, XBMC, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, , Pi B3, B2, Pi B+, 2xPi A+, Odroid-C1, Odroid-C2, Cubie2, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by philippe_44 View Post
    If should work for Windows, OSX, Linux x86 and ARMv5 and v6+
    Ahh, this means no love for powerpc-based WD MyBookLive NAS, right?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,468
    Quote Originally Posted by tgv View Post
    Ahh, this means no love for powerpc-based WD MyBookLive NAS, right?
    What Operating system does that run? A little googling says it runs linux, which should be fine.
    LMS 7.9.1 on VortexBox Midi box, Xubuntu 17.04, FLACs 16->24 bit, 44.1->192kbps. Touch & EDO. 2nd Touch standard.
    LMS plugin UPnP/DLNA Bridge to MF M1 CLiC (to A308CR amp & ESLs) & Marantz CR603 UPnP renderers.
    Alternatively Minimserver & Upplay to same & to upmpdcli/mpd PC renderers.
    Squeezelite to Meridian USB Explorer DAC to PC speakers/headphones.
    Wireless Xubuntu 17.04 laptop firefox/upplay or Android 'phone with Squeeze-Commander/BubbleUPnP controls LMS/Minimserver.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,965

    [rfu]

    Just one message reserved for future use
    LMS 7.7, 7.8 and 7.9 - 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB2. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, JBL OnBeat, XBoxOne, XBMC, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, , Pi B3, B2, Pi B+, 2xPi A+, Odroid-C1, Odroid-C2, Cubie2, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,965
    Quote Originally Posted by tgv View Post
    Ahh, this means no love for powerpc-based WD MyBookLive NAS, right?
    I would need support of ralphy to build on powerPC. I don' thave a cross-compiler chain for that. Having said that, squeeze2upnp does not need to run on the same machine as LMS, it can be on any computer on your network

    1/ For easy configuration:
    - install LMS on any Windows/Linux machine, or even a Raspberry pi
    - add UPnPBridge plugin

    2/ Find the configuration that works for your UPnP player
    - use the LMS UI for easy changes of squeeze2upnp parameters

    3/ Stop the LMS server

    3/ Launch squeeze2upnp standalone on the machine/raspberry pi
    - it is in the LMS sub directory cache/InstalledPlugins/plugins/UPnPBridge/Bin, choose the apps that maches your platform (squeeze2upnp-win.exe for Windows ...)
    - configuration file is in LMS subdirectory prefs/upnpbridge.xml
    - either copy these 2 somewhere else of let them where they are
    - launch the app (eg for Windows) with 'squeeze2upnp-win.exe -x <path to upnpbridge.xml>'
    LMS 7.7, 7.8 and 7.9 - 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB2. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, JBL OnBeat, XBoxOne, XBMC, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, , Pi B3, B2, Pi B+, 2xPi A+, Odroid-C1, Odroid-C2, Cubie2, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express

  6. #6
    Great job! Thanks for the plugin.
    I mainly tested streaming from tidal (flac) and it works well with an Atoll st200 streamer. however i have got an issue with the pause and resume. It will play the track from the begining again. I use the pioneer n30 settings. Any idea ?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,965
    Quote Originally Posted by herve View Post
    Great job! Thanks for the plugin.
    I mainly tested streaming from tidal (flac) and it works well with an Atoll st200 streamer. however i have got an issue with the pause and resume. It will play the track from the begining again. I use the pioneer n30 settings. Any idea ?
    If I remember well, I already had a hard time with such a problem. Just to confirm, can you tell me if it does the same thing with a local file vs tidal ? You can also try to check "LMS seeks on resume" option. I have to look back earlier in this thread for the details, but if I remember this is due to the fact that, some players, when they pause a stream, they close the connection and when un-pausing, they re-open the connection but do no ask to "seek" to the paused position. They treat it as if it was a live, non-seekable stream (although I've set the parameters to say that it is a seekable stream). If you can also take a log, that would help me confirm. I'll dig into the "archives", but I think one of the solution was to force flac transcoding in LMS. PasTim might also remember all that better than I do

    [edit]: if you use the "HTTP streaming option" at "chuncked", try "no size" or "fixed large size". If it still does not work, then go back to 'chunked' and tryp "LMS seeks on resume"
    Last edited by philippe_44; 2015-06-05 at 23:21.
    LMS 7.7, 7.8 and 7.9 - 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB2. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, JBL OnBeat, XBoxOne, XBMC, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, , Pi B3, B2, Pi B+, 2xPi A+, Odroid-C1, Odroid-C2, Cubie2, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    60
    I just tried to use the stable OSX plugin and had 16/44.1 playing at half speed. TIDAL worked just fine. Would not play hirez files. I had the codecs set initially for a slew and reduced them to flc, mp3 still with no luck. I am going back to the executable for awhile until this is more sorted. There are a lot of folks that are going to use and love this when it's finally ready for primetime and I am extremely grateful for all the work invested by several of you, especially Philippe. Please keep the process moving forward.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,965
    Quote Originally Posted by scintilla View Post
    I just tried to use the stable OSX plugin and had 16/44.1 playing at half speed. TIDAL worked just fine. Would not play hirez files. I had the codecs set initially for a slew and reduced them to flc, mp3 still with no luck. I am going back to the executable for awhile until this is more sorted. There are a lot of folks that are going to use and love this when it's finally ready for primetime and I am extremely grateful for all the work invested by several of you, especially Philippe. Please keep the process moving forward.
    ah ... few questions then, because the executable is in fact still used in the plugin, it's just a newer version

    1- Which version of the executable works for you ?
    2- Not playing hirez files: what is hirez ? 24 bits ? Sampling rate > 96 KHz ?
    3- 16/44.1 playing half speed: I guess you mean pitch is obviously reduced by half ?

    Any chance you can take a few logs ? I've no open issue on 2.3.0 (the executable used with the plugin) so if I re-introduced bugs compared to a previous version, any help is welcome to try to remove them

    [edit]: I was looking at out latest exchanges. You had issues with "next track" not working properly as well. I suggested un-checking "Player handles next track" ? Also, if "hirez" files means 24 bits files, then it means that the OPPO (which I think is your player) might not be able handle 24 bits files. There is now a workaround for that : enable 'pcm' in your codecs and set '16 bits convert' in section "24 bits PCM"

    [edit2]: I checked on all my machines: LMS 7.7.2 does not handle rates above 96k. A file with a rate of 176k is sent to squ2 with an apparent sampling rate of 44.1k in the header (but no downsampling is made), which I pass to the player, hence what you hear (I think). Using the same files (24bits/176k and 24/192k), LMS 7.9.x sends to sq2u a proper header indicating 176k (or 192k), so I pass this to the player and it works fine. What version do you use on your Mac ? Seems 7.7.2 which explains the high sampling rate problem.

    [edit3]: I'm really willing to help, but without log I'm shooting in the dark, unfortunately. With the plugin, it is now much easier to take a log. For full logging, click the 'Enable logging" and set "debug logging" to all. Then run a playlist and once it has failed to move to next track, copy the log file (it should be, for a MAC, /Users/<your name>/Library/Logs/Squeezebox/upnpbridge.log - if you use Finder, enable the 'show library folder' in the 'view' options). Rename it "upnpbridge.txt" so that it is accepted by this forum as an attachement. Add also your configuration file, that can be copy/pasted directly from safari after you've opened it using the "view" link on the "configuration file" line (Settings). With that, I should really be able to tell you why the "next track" does not work. I've been able to make it work for all other players, so it should be feasible with the OPPO as well, but I just need to see what's going on

    [edit4]: Did you have a look at http://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-b...-Firmware.aspx. It seems that there was some formware updates to correct various gapless issues as well as some hires playback problems
    Last edited by philippe_44; 2015-06-06 at 23:53.
    LMS 7.7, 7.8 and 7.9 - 5xRadio, 3xBoom, 4xDuet, 1xTouch, 1 SB2. Sonos PLAY:3, PLAY:5, Marantz NR1603, JBL OnBeat, XBoxOne, XBMC, Foobar2000, ShairPortW, JRiver 21, 2xChromecast Audio, Chromecast v1 and v2, , Pi B3, B2, Pi B+, 2xPi A+, Odroid-C1, Odroid-C2, Cubie2, Yamaha WX-010, AppleTV 4, Airport Express

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,468
    Quote Originally Posted by philippe_44 View Post
    If I remember well, I already had a hard time with such a problem. Just to confirm, can you tell me if it does the same thing with a local file vs tidal ? You can also try to check "LMS seeks on resume" option. I have to look back earlier in this thread for the details, but if I remember this is due to the fact that, some players, when they pause a stream, they close the connection and when un-pausing, they re-open the connection but do no ask to "seek" to the paused position. They treat it as if it was a live, non-seekable stream (although I've set the parameters to say that it is a seekable stream). If you can also take a log, that would help me confirm. I'll dig into the "archives", but I think one of the solution was to force flac transcoding in LMS. PasTim might also remember all that better than I do

    [edit]: if you use the "HTTP streaming option" at "chuncked", try "no size" or "fixed large size". If it still does not work, then go back to 'chunked' and tryp "LMS seeks on resume"
    I had what may be the same problem. I had to add a custom-convert file. The extract from the user guide is as follows:

    Some renderers do not support re-positioning of flac well. If you have this problem you need to create a custom transcoding rule. You first need to find the convert.conf file on your system (on linux this is in /etc/squeezeboxserver). This file contains the rules LMS uses to transcode from one format to another. To add a new rule, create a new file called 'custom-convert.conf' in the same directory and
    restart LMS. This file should contain (if you copy-paste below,be careful with the indentation):
    Code:
    flc flc * *
        # IR
        [flac] -cs - -
    This tells LMS to create a complete new flac file when a flac starts playing or is re-positioned. The LMS File Type for flac should now show flac transcoded to 'flac' rather than 'native'.

    philippe - is the user guide copied to anywhere on the system when the plugin is used? I also see a few cross-references have errors in them (Erreur ! Source du renvoi introuvable.)
    LMS 7.9.1 on VortexBox Midi box, Xubuntu 17.04, FLACs 16->24 bit, 44.1->192kbps. Touch & EDO. 2nd Touch standard.
    LMS plugin UPnP/DLNA Bridge to MF M1 CLiC (to A308CR amp & ESLs) & Marantz CR603 UPnP renderers.
    Alternatively Minimserver & Upplay to same & to upmpdcli/mpd PC renderers.
    Squeezelite to Meridian USB Explorer DAC to PC speakers/headphones.
    Wireless Xubuntu 17.04 laptop firefox/upplay or Android 'phone with Squeeze-Commander/BubbleUPnP controls LMS/Minimserver.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •