Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

2015 NAS for LMS

Greetings,

I finally decided to move on from a dedicated PC to a NAS device for running LMS.
    From past history is seems that SBS/LMS has been running on Netgear, Qnap and Synology gear.
    The simple question is which NAS device still has a working package today ( 2015 ) to run LMS.
    All I need is the basic capability streaming FLAC files to Duet/Squeezebox classic receivers from the NAS device.
    Other internet streaming services are not required.
    From looking at the NAS mfg. sites it is not clear who is still supporting LMS as a simple package.

PS. Not interested in Vortex/Linux/Raspberry Pi or manually engineered NAS solutions, just want it KSS ( Keep it simple and Stupid ).

Thanks in advance for any advice in this regard.

Some QNAP info...

I've been using a QNAP TS-119 or TS-219P+ or for many years now, they have given solid service but the recent discovery that SSOTS uses a version of bash that has the 'Shellshock' vulnerability caused me some concern.

What concerned me even further was the guy who discovered this obviously had spent some time trying to find the 'owner' of SSOTS/LMS on QNAP's, he was given short shrift from QNAP community forums and headed off to talk to QNAP, who's public response has been to remove the software from their App store. (you can still get it elsewhere though).

I couldn't find any reference to the issue here and tried to raise it myself but hit verification issues that were stopping me from posting. Finally Michael Herger posted here: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showth...xposedby-SSOxS but there hasn't been a positive public response on that thread, so at this stage I've no idea if anyone is working on SSOxS to resolve the bash vulnerability, I sure hope someone does, it's a pretty cool community continuing support for the Squeeze eco system it would be a shame if SSOxS was left behind.