Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 3 of 66 FirstFirst 123451353 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 658
  1. #21
    Senior Member ralphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,681
    Quote Originally Posted by Dean_Bayliss View Post
    Hi

    I have had exactly the same problem. Happy to provide whatever diagnostics feedback that would help. I can't find the syslog or error files. I have tried with every version of of PiCore with jivelight enabled, blowing a new card each time. I have tried and currently the set up is:

    PiCore Version: 1.19l
    LMS Version: 7.8.0 Running on RPI Model B
    Hardware: RPI Model B & RPI Model 2B - 3A PSU
    Skin: Joggler & HD
    Audio : RPi analogue
    Options: None selected apart from Jivelite
    wifi: None
    Display : Sony KDL-40W4500

    The symptoms are:
    Works fine, on some MP3s (ebedded artwork), but say choose BBC Radio 6 Music on triodes BBCiPlayer - the logo will come up as squashed in the horizonal direction and repeated twice. Try of the stored logos such as "/plugins/RadioTime/html/images/podcasts_25x25.png" displays fine. The frozen image happens when you are using joggler and the art work changes to what I suspect is something it does not support and the display freezes. Squeezelite just carries on. The HDSkin crashes as soon as you select in the menu.

    I assume this has to be the interaction with the display as I've tried on 2x Pis and different versions of the release and other people get it to work. The spec says Display Resolution 1920x1080 HDMI does 1080/24p, 1080p, 1080i, 720p, 576p, 480p, 480i. One thought I've had is the display tries to switch between modes, when the "special" art work comes up, and it then holds the frame and won't reset - I'm not convinced that the frame buffer/process has crashed. The TV has no way to fix the mode.

    Actually jivelite is running at 3% when on the menu but as soon as the artwork triggers the problem it drops to zero cpu, but the process exists

    fbset
    mode "1824x984-0"
    #D: 0.000MHz, H: 0.000kHz, V:0.000 Hz
    geometry 1824 984 1824 984 16
    timings 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
    accel false
    rgba 5/11,6/5,5/0,0/16
    endmode

    Does any of that help?
    Thank you for the detailed report.

    There are no logs available from jivelite on picoreplayer.

    There are two events that change the fb video mode during jivelite operation.

    1. Displaying the JiveLite Splash screen.
    2. At initialization of the selected skin.

    Jivelite does not change the screen resolution when displaying artwork, LMS resizes the image to fit the display area of the skin.

    I have reproduced the crash when selecting a skin with a resolution larger than my screen supports. ie. selecting the 1920x1080 HD skin when my monitor only does 1280x1024. After the crash I had to reboot before the framebuffer works again. Even the consoles are toast.

    I've fixed the crash on selection of a skin which tries to use an unavailable or not supported video mode of the display.

    Jivelite now exits without saving the new configuration with an error. On picoreplayer jivelite restarts automatically and you won't see the error message.

    I'm unable to reproduce the image resizing crash in the joggler skin.

    To update jivelite.

    1. Navigate to the picoreplayer tweaks page, disable jivelite, save, reboot.
    2. Navigate to the picoreplayer tweaks page, enable jivelite, save, reboot.
    3. Reconfigure jivelite from the console.
    4. After reconfigure Quit jivelite for the changes to be applied. Jivelite will restart with the new settings or ask to reconfigure if the last config failed.
    Ralphy

    1-Touch, 5-Classics, 3-Booms, 1-UE Radio
    Squeezebox client builds donations always appreciated.

  2. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    34
    Ralphy

    Thanks. I did just try something, which was to make disable_overscan=1 in (boot) config.txt. fbset shows 1920x1080 and allows me to select the HD skin. However at some point either skins crash, but without any logs I'm not sure how to trouble shoot. I don't think this is piCore or your integration? Perhaps i'd be best off building it for raspian and fixing from the logs there and feedback. My time being spent on building the AV room at present, so I will be a little slow on feedback (different screen to be ordered - might be the quickest way to fix!).

    If you can think of anything I can do to help let me know - is the Raspian thing a useful thing to do?

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    2,398
    Had a play with this yesterday. Nice work.
    Only issue was that I couldn't switch to the 1920x1080 HD Skin for some reason but it operates on 1280x1024 sort of OK.
    Is there a recommended remote control solution as yet ? Not 100% sure it needs one after set up but ..
    Vortexbox LMS 7.9 music on QNAP TS419p via NFS iThingys/iPeng/Tablets
    Living Room - SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 - > Celestion Ditton F20s - Zone 2 -> Sony TA FE 320 -> Sennheiser RS 130 & B&W P7
    Office - RPi -> Sony TA FE320 -> Celestion F10s / SB3 -> Onkyo CRN 755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - SB Touch -> Topping TP21 -> AKG Headphones Bedroom (TV) - Amazon Fire TV (SB Player) -> Topping TP20 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes

  4. #24
    Senior Member ralphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,681
    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    Had a play with this yesterday. Nice work.
    Only issue was that I couldn't switch to the 1920x1080 HD Skin for some reason but it operates on 1280x1024 sort of OK.
    Is there a recommended remote control solution as yet ? Not 100% sure it needs one after set up but ..
    The SDL framework used by jivelite can't set the resolution to 1920x1080. That's why it was crashing when you selected the skin originally.
    From fbset you resolution is 1824x984.

    I use a flirc usb dongle. See the README.md on github for details. If you don't have a slimdevices remote, you can program the flirc to use any remote.

    The URL is in post #1 of this thread.
    Ralphy

    1-Touch, 5-Classics, 3-Booms, 1-UE Radio
    Squeezebox client builds donations always appreciated.

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    2,398
    Quote Originally Posted by ralphy View Post
    The SDL framework used by jivelite can't set the resolution to 1920x1080. That's why it was crashing when you selected the skin originally.
    From fbset you resolution is 1824x984.

    I use a flirc usb dongle. See the README.md on github for details. If you don't have a slimdevices remote, you can program the flirc to use any remote.

    The URL is in post #1 of this thread.
    Thanks Ralphy. I think pCP with Jivelite is going to do exactly what I want in one (or perhaps two) location(s). I have ordered a Flirc USB and see that you provide a sample config file. Is that all that is required ? And where do I put it ?
    Vortexbox LMS 7.9 music on QNAP TS419p via NFS iThingys/iPeng/Tablets
    Living Room - SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 - > Celestion Ditton F20s - Zone 2 -> Sony TA FE 320 -> Sennheiser RS 130 & B&W P7
    Office - RPi -> Sony TA FE320 -> Celestion F10s / SB3 -> Onkyo CRN 755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - SB Touch -> Topping TP21 -> AKG Headphones Bedroom (TV) - Amazon Fire TV (SB Player) -> Topping TP20 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes

  6. #26
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    34
    Fixed *Crash* skin working fine, but freezes on certain artwork and terminal locked

    Ralphy
    Something you said caused me to look in LMS. Under ADVANCED > PERFORMANCE > ARTWORK RESIZING - my option was set to squeezebox.com.... changed to LMS to re-size artwork and the double logos and crashing are all gone! Thanks.

    PiaM
    This is almost certainly the fix for your problem too

    (The other problem as the overscan modification made in the piCore config file fixed the resolution issue fbset reports 1920x1080 once set and I can select HD Skin too)

  7. #27
    Senior Member ralphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,681
    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    Thanks Ralphy. I think pCP with Jivelite is going to do exactly what I want in one (or perhaps two) location(s). I have ordered a Flirc USB and see that you provide a sample config file. Is that all that is required ? And where do I put it ?
    You load the flirc config file on the dongle using the flirc utility. Note that my config files only works with the slimdevices remotes.
    Ralphy

    1-Touch, 5-Classics, 3-Booms, 1-UE Radio
    Squeezebox client builds donations always appreciated.

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    2,398
    Quote Originally Posted by ralphy View Post
    You load the flirc config file on the dongle using the flirc utility. Note that my config files only works with the slimdevices remotes.

    Brilliant. Thanks.

    I do have quite a few Slimdevice remotes :-)
    Vortexbox LMS 7.9 music on QNAP TS419p via NFS iThingys/iPeng/Tablets
    Living Room - SB3 -> Onkyo TS606 - > Celestion Ditton F20s - Zone 2 -> Sony TA FE 320 -> Sennheiser RS 130 & B&W P7
    Office - RPi -> Sony TA FE320 -> Celestion F10s / SB3 -> Onkyo CRN 755 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes
    Dining Room -> SB Boom Kitchen -> UE Radio (upgraded to SB Radio)
    Bedroom (Bedside) - SB Touch -> Topping TP21 -> AKG Headphones Bedroom (TV) - Amazon Fire TV (SB Player) -> Topping TP20 -> Wharfedale Modus Cubes

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    2,398
    Flirc all up and running but need to ask another question.

    If I change the screensaver delay to 10 secs it doesn't seem to apply and still kicks in on the default 30 secs. Where is the Jivelite config file ? I'd like to see if the change is being properly written. The onscreen display remembers it as 10 seconds Ok but is that being read in from a different place ?

    EDIT Scratch that. Just read elsewhere that there is a bug in the screensaver code that gives this effect on the top level menu.
    Last edited by d6jg; 2015-08-11 at 13:58.

  10. #30
    Senior Member ralphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,681
    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    If I change the screensaver delay to 10 secs it doesn't seem to apply and still kicks in on the default 30 secs. Where is the Jivelite config file ? I'd like to see if the change is being properly written. The onscreen display remembers it as 10 seconds Ok but is that being read in from a different place ?
    For future reference the jivelite config files are in /home/tc/.jivelite/userpath on picoreplayer and are saved in the picoreplayer config file.

    Quote Originally Posted by d6jg View Post
    EDIT Scratch that. Just read elsewhere that there is a bug in the screensaver code that gives this effect on the top level menu.
    I tested the updated Now Playing applet from pssc's squeezeplay github repo with jivelite on raspbian and the screen saver kicks in after 10 seconds with it. I'll test it on picoreplayer this weekend and if it works, I'll create a new jivelite.tcz package for picoreplayer.
    Ralphy

    1-Touch, 5-Classics, 3-Booms, 1-UE Radio
    Squeezebox client builds donations always appreciated.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •