Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 51
  1. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by paf View Post
    The technical side
    A SqueezeBox Radio just next to the Touch works perfectly with the same remotes ==> it is definitively a problem in the Touch.
    Yes, IR sensors are usually very reliable, but the failure can be anywhere in the chain between the photodiode/transistor and the digital signal, so there are some possibilities. And it seems that the IR sensors of the SB Touch do fail (see the other messages in this thread).

    ==> the only chance I see of solving the problem without schematics is if the SB Touch used an integrated IR receiver module (i.e. an IR diode, amplifier, filter with digital output all in a package) which I could replace. Anybody knows if it is the case?

    The commercial side
    I asked the local Logitech office (here in Switzerland) and got the answer, that

    • they don't repair or replace devices which are out of warrany
    • they don't give any technical information (e.g. schematics) which would allow a third party to repair such a device
    • but I could try to ask a repair service (but how would they know how to repair without any documentation?)

    For the last 20 years I believed that Logitech had great hardware and an excellent service but now I realise that I was wrong.

    So... bye bye Logitech

    If anybody knows an alternative to the SB Touch (network player and radio with big display, no amplifier and more reliable software than the Logitech Media Server), please let me know!

    Regards
    Patrick
    Do you actually need to use the remote? I find the LMS WebUI or the apps for iOS and Android to be superior.
    An alternative to the SB Touch with a big display would be an iPad with iPeng or SqueezePad, with the in-app purchase of playback. No IR, of course, but you can use the iOS or Android apps to control it.

    Robert
    Home: Raspberry Pi 3/piCoreplayer/LMS7.9 with files on QNAP TS-239
    Touch > DacMagic 100 > Naim Audio Nait 3 > Mission 752 (plus Rega Planar 3 and Naim CD3)
    PiCorePlayer(Pi2) with touchscreen and IQAudIO DAC+>Sennheisers
    2 x Squeezebox Radios, 1 X Squeezebox 3 (retired)
    Office: LMS7.9 running on WiFi MyPassport drive > piCorePlayer(PiB)/HiFiBerryDAC > Amptastic Amplifier
    SqueezePad, iPeng as controllers

    last.fm/user/GrumpyBob

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    224
    Quote Originally Posted by paf View Post
    The technical side
    A SqueezeBox Radio just next to the Touch works perfectly with the same remotes ==> it is definitively a problem in the Touch.
    Yes, IR sensors are usually very reliable, but the failure can be anywhere in the chain between the photodiode/transistor and the digital signal, so there are some possibilities. And it seems that the IR sensors of the SB Touch do fail (see the other messages in this thread).

    ==> the only chance I see of solving the problem without schematics is if the SB Touch used an integrated IR receiver module (i.e. an IR diode, amplifier, filter with digital output all in a package) which I could replace. Anybody knows if it is the case?
    These are the only pictures I've ever found of the inner life of the Touch: http://diyparadise.com/blogs/2010/05...eezebox-touch/
    There you'll also find instructions for how to open it up.

    I have no Touch, but the IR sensor is probably the little module at approximately top left on the first and second picture. Perhaps you could verify this by looking for a suitable hole on the front panel.

    I have no idea what the kind/make/model of the module is, though. You'll probably have to open the Touch up and see for yourself, but obviously there's no guarantee of finding a comprehensible marking anyway.

    Good luck!
    Best Regards,
    Gandhi

    Not often enough well recorded and mastered CDs | dBPowerAMP with AccurateRip | FLAC | fanless ASRock Z77E-ITX Intel i5-3570T | Ubuntu 12.04.1 LTS 32-bit | LMS 7.8.0 | BruteFirDRC 3.0 (REWv5) | Transporter (balanced out) | Thule IA252B | Audio Physic Scorpio | no fancy cables. + Also some Booms. + Harmony 525s for them all, including waking the server from S3.

  3. #13
    Slim Devices Developer fcm4711's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    886
    Hi guys

    I can confirm that the IR sensor is at the top left corner of SB Touch as Gandhi already suspected. From what I can tell it's the same / similar little module that was used in SliMP3, Squeezebox 1 and 2, SB Classic, SB Boom, Transporter, SB Radio and Smart Radio too. The module itself only filters out the IR carrier which is around 38kHz.

    If you have ruled out other sources that might interfere with IR like neon lights, TV sets, etc. I probably would take SB Touch apart and try IR without the front cover to see if maybe the front cover somehow is diminishing the IR signal. (Some dust maybe or some other deposit on the plastic.)

    After that I would try to replace the IR module with a similar one. They all seem to have the same pinout.
    Pin 1 = IR out
    Pin 2 = VCC
    Pin 3 = GND

    Felix
    Programming is the art of cleverly arranging bits and bytes. - (c) Felix Mueller

  4. #14
    Senior Member Ikabob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,446

    Battery?

    No one has asked, have you changed the battery on the remote? I know it's a simple question that , no doubt, you have done. Just thought I'd ask the simple question. ��
    I also have had other wifi devices interfere with my television remote. After somehow hiding or blocking from view those devices, the remote worked fine.
    Last edited by Ikabob; 2015-02-27 at 08:13.
    Ikabob


    Squeezebox Touch w/LMS V7.9; Benchmark DAC1 USB;Marantz Pre-amp; SAE Amplifier;ESS Heil Speakers(main listening speakers plus various additional speakers).
    Multiple players: SqueezeBooms,SqueezeRadios; SB3;
    Services:Rhapsody;Slacker;RadioTunes;Spotify (+Triode's Plugin);CalmRadio,Napster,
    Ipeng remote controller.

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    134
    I also have a Touch with failed IR sensing. If you complete a successful repair, please post what you did,

    thanks

    Doug

  6. #16
    Senior Member Tony T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    828
    Quote Originally Posted by paf View Post
    If anybody knows an alternative to the SB Touch (network player and radio with big display, no amplifier and more reliable software than the Logitech Media Server), please let me know!
    The Olive One looks interesting. (but at that price, I would look for a new Touch on eBay)
    Last edited by Tony T; 2015-03-06 at 20:29.
    Tony
     SBTouch ♪ SBRadio ♬

  7. #17
    I know it's not ideal, but a work-around is to use the Squeezebox smart app.

  8. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Berne, Switzerland
    Posts
    56

    First tests and measurements inside the Touch...

    Quote Originally Posted by fcm4711 View Post
    ... it's the same / similar little module that was used in SliMP3, Squeezebox 1 and 2, SB Classic, SB Boom, Transporter, SB Radio and Smart Radio too. The module itself only filters out the IR carrier which is around 38kHz.
    If you have ruled out other sources that might interfere with IR like neon lights, TV sets, etc.
    ...
    After that I would try to replace the IR module with a similar one. They all seem to have the same pinout.
    Pin 1 = IR out
    Pin 2 = VCC
    Pin 3 = GND
    I have opened my Touch and measured the signals on the IR module. Results:
    • the VCC is AWFUL, terrible ripple at high frequency. Maybe because the wifi antenna is just next to the IR module?
    • the IR out reacts correctly when the remote is sending, even at distances where the Touch doesn't react to commands
    • the IR outs is "active" all the time, i.e. it modulates even when the remote is not sending (even when I switch off all lights in the room)
    • the remote works better when the oscilloscope is connected between GND and IR out


    I have noticed that the IR module ist imprisoned in an impressive metalic armour. Probably against EMC?

    Well, I see two possible causes:
    1. the IR module is somehow half-dead and sends all the time scrap to the decoding chip, which has problems with that. Solvable by replacing the IR module (i have alread some replacements modules, but they have the wrong pinning... GND and VCC inverted)
    2. some decoupling capacitors are dead and there is too much ripple everywhere in my Touch - hopeless


    Does anybody know the exact type of the IR module?

    Any clues?

    Regards
    Patrick
    Last edited by paf; 2015-03-11 at 00:26.

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    134
    Quote Originally Posted by paf View Post
    I have opened my Touch and measured the signals on the IR module. Results:
    • the VCC is AWFUL, terrible ripple at high frequency. Maybe because the wifi antenna is just next to the IR module?
    • the IR out reacts correctly when the remote is sending, even at distances where the Touch doesn't react to commands
    • the IR outs is "active" all the time, i.e. it modulates even when the remote is not sending (even when I switch off all lights in the room)
    • the remote works better when the oscilloscope is connected between GND and IR out


    I have noticed that the IR module ist imprisoned in an impressive metalic armour. Probably against EMC?

    Well, I see two possible causes:
    1. the IR module is somehow half-dead and sends all the time scrap to the decoding chip, which has problems with that. Solvable by replacing the IR module (i have alread some replacements modules, but they have the wrong pinning... GND and VCC inverted)
    2. some decoupling capacitors are dead and there is too much ripple everywhere in my Touch - hopeless


    Does anybody know the exact type of the IR module?

    Any clues?

    Regards
    Patrick
    Very interesting. Can't help with sourcing the correct replacement. Do you use Wi-Fi with the Touch? I'm curious if the IR would work better if a wired LAN connection was used.

    Doug

  10. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Berne, Switzerland
    Posts
    56

    Switch off WLAN?

    Quote Originally Posted by TechHome View Post
    Very interesting. Can't help with sourcing the correct replacement. Do you use Wi-Fi with the Touch? I'm curious if the IR would work better if a wired LAN connection was used.

    Doug
    If only I knew how to switch off the Wi-Fi!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •