Home of the Squeezebox™ & Transporter® network music players.
Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 83
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Berlin, DE
    Posts
    1,901

    Replace VFD Display

    So I have two booms. One of them has a badly fading display from years of use. I was thinking about replacing the VFD panel.

    Does this look like the correct display?

    http://uk.farnell.com/noritake-itron...vdc/dp/1684355

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    2,109
    Ebay has this: Logitech SqueezeBox Boom WiFi Radio - DISPLAY SCREEN ONLY - OEM BRAND NEW http://r.ebay.com/wK21VN

    Some time ago I bought a new old stock IR remote from this seller, that was the genuine article.

    HTH, and please don't sue me
    3 SB 3 • Libratone Loop, Zipp Mini • iPeng (iPhone + iPad) • LMS 7.9 (linux) with plugins: CD Player, WaveInput, Triode's BBC iPlayer by bpa • IRBlaster by Gwendesign (Felix) • Server Power Control by Gordon Harris • Smart Mix, Music Walk With Me, What Was That Tune? by Michael Herger • PowerSave by Jason Holtzapple • Song Info, Song Lyrics by Erland Isaksson • AirPlay Bridge by philippe_44 • WeatherTime by Martin Rehfeld • Auto Dim Display, SaverSwitcher, ContextMenu by Peter Watkins.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Berlin, DE
    Posts
    1,901
    Interesting, It's even a reasonable price compared to similar display units I've seen.

  4. #4
    Member GRC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Algarve, Portugal
    Posts
    96

    Shame about the postage

    Quote Originally Posted by SuperQ View Post
    Interesting, It's even a reasonable price compared to similar display units I've seen.
    My Boom display is getting tired as well. The price of the eBay item is reasonable but the postage to UK almost doubles the cost. Did you make any progress about the NORITAKE ITRON display from Farnell? It works out about the same price and no worries about import duty delays etc. but still a lot for a display. You can buy a complete Boom for the same again!
    Seen it all, done it all, can't remember most of it ...
    Server = iMac Sierra -> Bootcamp 6.0 -> W10 (dBpoweramp ripping / MediaMonkey management)
    Router = Huawei B593 4G + repeaters
    Lounge = SBT -> Devialet D200 -> Dynaudio Contour 1.8 MkII
    Covered terrace = SBT -> AudioEngine A5+
    Study = SBT -> NAD D3020 -> Epos K1
    Kitchen + bedroom = SB Radio
    Garage = SB2 -> Rotel RA820BX2 -> MA252
    Storage = SB Boom + SB3 + SlimP3
    iOS control = iPeng / SqueezePad; Android = SqueezeCommander;

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    8
    isn't this the same company that used to manufacture the VFDs of the SB3?!

  6. #6
    Member GRC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Algarve, Portugal
    Posts
    96

    Que?

    Quote Originally Posted by TheSeeker View Post
    isn't this the same company that used to manufacture the VFDs of the SB3?!
    Dunno. What makes you think so? Please share thoughts.

    GRC
    Seen it all, done it all, can't remember most of it ...
    Server = iMac Sierra -> Bootcamp 6.0 -> W10 (dBpoweramp ripping / MediaMonkey management)
    Router = Huawei B593 4G + repeaters
    Lounge = SBT -> Devialet D200 -> Dynaudio Contour 1.8 MkII
    Covered terrace = SBT -> AudioEngine A5+
    Study = SBT -> NAD D3020 -> Epos K1
    Kitchen + bedroom = SB Radio
    Garage = SB2 -> Rotel RA820BX2 -> MA252
    Storage = SB Boom + SB3 + SlimP3
    iOS control = iPeng / SqueezePad; Android = SqueezeCommander;

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    224
    Last edited by Gandhi; 2013-11-13 at 02:49.
    Best Regards,
    Gandhi

    Not often enough well recorded and mastered CDs | dBPowerAMP with AccurateRip | FLAC | fanless ASRock Z77E-ITX Intel i5-3570T | Ubuntu 12.04.1 LTS 32-bit | LMS 7.8.0 | BruteFirDRC 3.0 (REWv5) | Transporter (balanced out) | Thule IA252B | Audio Physic Scorpio | no fancy cables. + Also some Booms. + Harmony 525s for them all, including waking the server from S3.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    28
    I believe it is the same VFD, but this product includes a driver board on the back that you talk to by paralell or serial interface. It looks to me that the SB boom doesn't need such a driver, it must be incorporated into the main board.

    It looks like the GU160X32D-K610A8 also contains the same VFD display. However I agree it looks quite expensive even as a one-off! Also it looks like farnell have a 2-3 month lead time on the part.

    I'm looking at replacing 4x boom displays! Anyone that may be interested in a group buy if I can arrange it?

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    10

    Replace VFD Display

    Someone should make a Boom compatible. Logitech was stupid enough to
    abandon the product rather than build a custom integrated circuit when the
    one they used went away.

    They had the best units around.

    David


  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by tin View Post
    Anyone that may be interested in a group buy if I can arrange it?
    I assume the lack of replies means "no", but I thought it worth bumping the topic in case it was missed

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •