PDA

View Full Version : iTunes and Linux: where to put the XML data?



martin Hall
2004-09-09, 09:50
> the server does try to correct the basepath wherever possible.

[Thinks, "Nah..." and tries it]

That's pretty bloody clever... I'm impressed.

I saw the root directory bug in the Developers list, so I managed to avoid
that one.

Great stuff, fellas! And thanks for the help.

Martin

-----Original Message-----
From: discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com
[mailto:discuss-bounces (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com] On Behalf Of kdf
Sent: 08 September 2004 17:20
To: Slim Devices Discussion
Subject: [slim] iTunes and Linux: where to put the XML data?

Quoting martin Hall <mhall (AT) dial (DOT) pipex.com>:

>
> kdf,
>
> Thanks for the response; it was very helpful.
>
> > If you go into server settings, additional [...]
>
> Yes - I hadn't found that menu tree - oops!
>
> It's working now, but I do have one remaining issue: I had to edit the
> XML file so that the paths to the MP3 tracks were correct from the
> Linux point of view. This isn't too much of a problem, but I'd rather
avoid it if poss.
> I'll get back if I still need help on this.

you shoudln't have to edit. the server does try to correct the basepath
wherever possible. It does, however, require either the audiodir to be set,
or the corect entries in the server settings, additional, itunes when you
set for "find manually".

There is one bug, if you happen to map your audiodir as a samba share direct
to a windows drive letter, you will get duplicate entries if you have both
an audiodir and "use itunes" chosen in the main server settings. This will
be fixed in the soon-to-be-released v5.3.

-kdf

kdf
2004-09-09, 09:57
Quoting martin Hall <mhall (AT) dial (DOT) pipex.com>:

>
> > the server does try to correct the basepath wherever possible.
>
> [Thinks, "Nah..." and tries it]
>
> That's pretty bloody clever... I'm impressed.
>
> I saw the root directory bug in the Developers list, so I managed to avoid
> that one.

That should be fixed now, btw.

> Great stuff, fellas! And thanks for the help.

no problem. enjoy :)

If you want to have a more 'live' connection to the library, you can use the
manual settings in server settings->itunes. Tell the server where to find the
xml file, and do some fancy mapping to get iTunes to have its native file on
your linux system. In my case, I have "my Documents" in windows registry
changed to use a mapped drive from samba. TweakUI makes this easy. Then
iTunes will write to My Documents/My Music/iTunes and I can then create a link
to that for the server to use.

-kdf

Kevin O. Lepard
2004-09-24, 16:35
Hi all

I'm wondering if there's any good way to do this.

I have a 700 MHz iMac G3 in my AV closet whose sole purpose in life
is to run Slimserver. This machine is not very accessible, so when I
add music to the library what I typically do is rip and encode on my
primary computer, then sync the music folder on the main computer to
the iMac in the closet.

What I then do is access the iMac in the closet, log in, and drag the
music folder onto the iTunes icon, let iTunes update itself, and then
log out.

Is there any way to do this remotely without having to go into the
closet? I've tried specifying a pathname to the music folder to
avoid using iTunes altogether, but Slimserver always rejects my
entries for whatever reason.

Running 5.3.0 with a Squeezebox (wired) and SLIMP3, both with the
latest official release firmware (i.e., not from a nightly).

Thanks.

Kevin
--
Kevin O. Lepard
kolepard (AT) charter (DOT) net

Happiness is being 100% Microsoft free.

John Gorst
2004-09-25, 09:52
Is there a mac version of VNC server which will let you 'control the
screen' of the mac? I know there is for linux and windows


Kevin O. Lepard wrote:
> Hi all
>
> I'm wondering if there's any good way to do this.
>
> I have a 700 MHz iMac G3 in my AV closet whose sole purpose in life is
> to run Slimserver. This machine is not very accessible, so when I add
> music to the library what I typically do is rip and encode on my primary
> computer, then sync the music folder on the main computer to the iMac in
> the closet.
>
> What I then do is access the iMac in the closet, log in, and drag the
> music folder onto the iTunes icon, let iTunes update itself, and then
> log out.
>
> Is there any way to do this remotely without having to go into the
> closet? I've tried specifying a pathname to the music folder to avoid
> using iTunes altogether, but Slimserver always rejects my entries for
> whatever reason.
>
> Running 5.3.0 with a Squeezebox (wired) and SLIMP3, both with the latest
> official release firmware (i.e., not from a nightly).
>
> Thanks.
>
> Kevin

Avi Schwartz
2004-09-25, 11:25
John Gorst wrote:

>
> Is there a mac version of VNC server which will let you 'control the
> screen' of the mac? I know there is for linux and windows
>
>
> Kevin O. Lepard wrote:
>
>> Hi all
>>
>> I'm wondering if there's any good way to do this.
>>
>> I have a 700 MHz iMac G3 in my AV closet whose sole purpose in life
>> is to run Slimserver. This machine is not very accessible, so when I
>> add music to the library what I typically do is rip and encode on my
>> primary computer, then sync the music folder on the main computer to
>> the iMac in the closet.
>>
>> What I then do is access the iMac in the closet, log in, and drag the
>> music folder onto the iTunes icon, let iTunes update itself, and then
>> log out.
>>
>> Is there any way to do this remotely without having to go into the
>> closet? I've tried specifying a pathname to the music folder to
>> avoid using iTunes altogether, but Slimserver always rejects my
>> entries for whatever reason.
>>
>> Running 5.3.0 with a Squeezebox (wired) and SLIMP3, both with the
>> latest official release firmware (i.e., not from a nightly).
>
If he is running OS X:

Server: osxvnc - http://www.redstonesoftware.com/vnc.html
Client: few, I use Chicken of the VNC:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/cotvnc/
Use version 1.3.6 as the 2.0b2 has some problems.

Avi

seanadams
2004-09-25, 12:24
Yes - OSXvnc - I am using it to type this message (from a linux
client), and it works great.

However, disabling iTunes (unless you really need it) is probably the
best thing to do, as then SlimServer can pick up the changes itself.
I'm not sure why it would reject your music folder path - what were you
entering?




On Sep 25, 2004, at 9:52 AM, John Gorst wrote:

>
> Is there a mac version of VNC server which will let you 'control the
> screen' of the mac? I know there is for linux and windows
>
>
> Kevin O. Lepard wrote:
>> Hi all
>> I'm wondering if there's any good way to do this.
>> I have a 700 MHz iMac G3 in my AV closet whose sole purpose in life
>> is to run Slimserver. This machine is not very accessible, so when I
>> add music to the library what I typically do is rip and encode on my
>> primary computer, then sync the music folder on the main computer to
>> the iMac in the closet.
>> What I then do is access the iMac in the closet, log in, and drag the
>> music folder onto the iTunes icon, let iTunes update itself, and then
>> log out.
>> Is there any way to do this remotely without having to go into the
>> closet? I've tried specifying a pathname to the music folder to
>> avoid using iTunes altogether, but Slimserver always rejects my
>> entries for whatever reason.
>> Running 5.3.0 with a Squeezebox (wired) and SLIMP3, both with the
>> latest official release firmware (i.e., not from a nightly).
>> Thanks.
>> Kevin
>
>

Kevin O. Lepard
2004-09-25, 22:17
>Yes - OSXvnc - I am using it to type this message (from a linux
>client), and it works great.
>
>However, disabling iTunes (unless you really need it) is probably
>the best thing to do, as then SlimServer can pick up the changes
>itself. I'm not sure why it would reject your music folder path -
>what were you entering?

I'm not sure either anymore. I just disabled iTunes in SlimServer
and put in the pathname for the music and the playlists and it took
them just fine.

That's weird because that has failed in the past whenever I've tried
it. I've even copied and pasted the pathname from the Terminal
(where it worked) without success until now.

Maybe it was that dead chicken I waved over the computer this time.....

Thanks for the help with everything folks.

Kevin
--
Kevin O. Lepard
kolepard (AT) charter (DOT) net

Happiness is being 100% Microsoft free.