PDA

View Full Version : Can I modify the server.prefs file?

ralbrux
2010-07-25, 02:42
Hi,

I'm new to squeezebox. I recently installed a duet and am running sqeezebox server 7.5.1 on a file & print server running under Debian Lenny to which a number of work stations are connected. Things are working ok, but when installing squeezebox server the settings menu would not would not allow me to define my music and playlists folders as they are on the Debian file server (which never functions as a work station). For security & backup reasons I put data in /opt/data on the Debian server.

Settings via the browser refuses to see any data files there at all, let alone my mp3 and m3u files. I assume this is because the authors of squeezebox server and/or maintainers of the Debian package are following some strict rules for Linux file systems since /opt is supposedly for non essential packages and not for data. So to get to my music I had to copy everything to /home in order that squeezebox server see my music and lets me play it via my received & controller.

Since mousing around on the wiki I learned of the server.prefs file which I see has 2 interesting (to me anyway) lines:

autodir: /home/<my user name>/Music
playlistdir: /home/<my user name>/Music/Playlist

These are, of course, the 2 folders I created and copied my music to in order to be able to access it.

Does anyone know if I can safely modify these 2 lines to refer to my original music folder in /opt and then restart squeezebox server to get things the way I would like?

Thanks for any assistance or ideas on this

Richard

Mnyb
2010-07-25, 02:46
But are not the problem really that the squeezeboxserver user does not have the rights to see those directories ?

If you change the permission settings on /opt it should work .

So it a linux feature sbs has no problem reading any dir if it got the rights to do so.

ralbrux
2010-07-25, 06:02
Thanks for you input Mnyb.

But no I don't think it is not a permissions issue.